We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourbon Trail with Neighborhood Friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mint Julep Tours

Mint Julep Tours
140 N. 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202
502-583-1433
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour service and destination management company that offers entertaining and unique experience. Our goal is to host exciting outings that will make your visit to the Bluegrass state a memorable one.Our tours have been created with our inspiration and commitment to sharing Kentucky. We’ve arranged quality itineraries packed with interesting history, fun facts, and picturesque locations resulting in one-of-a-kind experiences you won’t forget.The purpose of fun is to have some...So come join us!
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bourbon Trail with Neighborhood Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great time - great experience - great booking agent - great guide!!!! We had an amazing time - so much fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    25
    4
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS Bachelorette Party Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked Mint Julep Tours for a bachelorette party I planned for one of my Bourbon loving best friends and I couldn't have had a better experience. We had an AMAZING time. Josh and Rob (Our driver and tour guide) were fabulous. We were running a bit late (my fault!) and so we were a little concerned about if we were going to get to a second destination and Josh and Rob called around and got us into Heaven Hill, which was so great.

Makers was perfect for our group...lots of hands on stuff for us Bourbon Novices. Everyone loved dipping their own bottle into wax and the tour guide, Lindsey was a doll.

Heaven Hill was really cool. Their warehouse was neat and the tour guide, Billy Joe, really could not have been better. He really beared with 16 girls who'd been boozing for a few hours :)

We grabbed lunch at Toll Gate, outside of Makers Mark and the food was awesome--nothing but rave reviews and they were really fast which was helpful in our predicament.

I wish I could give you some constructive criticism, but it was honestly an all around great experience. I really can't think of anywhere to improve, so bravo! I'm already trying to get another tour going with my parents, and I know some other girls are recommending you guys for events!

Thanks again, for EVERYTHING! You guys MADE this bachelorette weekend!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shotguns & Bourbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

While in Louisville for a Bachelor Party, we planned a full day excursion with Mint Julep Tours. Our group of 7 was provided a minibus big enough for 12, along with a cooler and a tour guide to show us around. We started out shotgun shooting at the Jefferson Gun Club, and after two hours there, we continued on to Maker's Mark and Kentucky Bourbon Distilleries in Loretto. The bus ride was quick and comfortable, and a much better idea than trying to drive ourselves out into the country (which we had considered). Mint Julep was even able to get Kentucky Bourbon to stay open late just for our group, and we were able to get a tour from the master distiller himself. Then, we were taken back to Louisville and sent off with a cigar for each of us. Overall, a great day! Definitely recommended for ease and convenience on your next trip to Louisville.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Illinois
1 review
“Northern Girls loved the Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

15 Girlfriends and from Illinois rolled into Louisville, KY in mid July. After checking into the fabulous Inn at Woodhaven, we headed to Lynn's Paradise Cafe' for a truly unique and totally fun dining experince. You gotta try the Hot Brown! Our second day consisted of a customized tour of Louisville with the help of Michelle at Mint Julep Tours. Chuck, our tour guide, was a wealth of knowledge when it came to Louisville. We toured Churchill Downs and Louisville Slugger. We did a drive by of Main St with Chuck providing facts and history about Whiskey Row, a stop by Louisville Stoneware, ending up with a Boutique Shop & Hop at Work the Metal in Butchertown Market. The end to a perfect day was dinner and Ladies Night at Valare Italian Restaurant. What a great experience! We will be back!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Value Added”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

While in Louisville for a convention, we signed on to a distillery tour with Mint Julep Tours. The (30 passenger??) coaches were clean, and in good repair with comfortable seats, but were spaced so close together that there was NO room for my knees (I'm 5' 11" and 200lb.): Think econlmy class, then reduce space by 25%. The coach must have had super duty suspensions as it made a spine-jarring BANG!! over expansion joints on bridges. The guide, Chuck, was a nice enough guy, but didn't have a lot to say. What this whole thing boiled down to was a $70.00, each person, ride to the distillery. As regular distillery tours don't have a lot of substance (look for one that has a "hard hat tour" that actually takes you into the distillery) I would have expected some additional educational/tasting/informational sessions from Mint Julep. Do yourself a favor; rent a car as it will be cheaper and more comfortable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Julep Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mint Julep Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mint Julep Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.