We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Zipping Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Mega Cavern

Louisville Mega Cavern
1841 Taylor Avenue, Louisville, KY 40213
+1 877-614-6342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 Attractions in Louisville
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While visiting Louisville, Kentucky, you won't want to miss MEGA ZIPS; "The World's ONLY FULLY Underground Zip Lines & Adventure Tour" featuring 6 Ziplines and 2 challenge bridges up to 2 hours of adrenaline or MEGA QUEST the ONLY FULLY underground ropes challenge course in the world! Mega QUEST is one of only twenty courses of its kind in the USA. Aerial challenge and ropes courses are the hottest new extreme sport in Europe where thousands of courses are located. For those wanting a lesser thrill, be sure to check out the MEGA TRAM a Historic Tour: Ride and never walk through a part of 17 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville. Learn about the geology, history, mining techniques, recycling, and green business technology. See where 50,000 people would have been invited to stay during the Cold War Era. The historic tram tour operates mid-January through October. If you are visiting us during the holiday season, be sure to check out Lights Under Louisville: The World's Only FULLY Underground Holiday Light Show. Drive through 1.2 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville, Kentucky as you see and hear the sights and sounds of the holiday season. Offered seasonally mid-November through December. The cavern is transformed into an underground holiday light show with more than 750 lit characters.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent Zipping Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Megacavern was a lot of fun. The numerous ziplines offered at the site are sure to keep those who crave excitement wanting more. In addition, the guides were very personable and knowledgeable, and really helped enhance the experience. I would definitely come back for seconds!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,806
    320
    69
    19
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Had a blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guides Max and Lucas were adventurous but made us feel safe the entire time! They were full of interesting facts about the caves and Louisville in general. They were super personable and even sang happy birthday to my girlfriend during the tour! :)

The zip lines were amazing. Especially the last zip race!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Mega Zip - An Incredible Adventure!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Amazing adventure! Absolutely thrilling! We were led by certified tour guides, Dylan and Jordan. They kept us entertained with their knowledge of the geology and history of this incredible attraction. I was amazed how huge it was and learned the ceilings were 79-90 feet tall that we would be ziplining through. The underground zip lines and the challenge bridges definitely got the adrenaline pumping as promised! I did this solo and quickly made friends. It was my 60th birthday and wanted to do something I wouldn't forget! Thanks Mega Zip and to Dylan and Jordan for keeping us entertained, safe and secure in our gear! I will definitely be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fun but dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was fun but more lighting would be great.
If heights are a concern, worry not. It's very safe. Our guides were top notch.
Warning: the 55 lb min. weight is serious. There was a young man on our tour that got stuck on his last trip because of his weight.
The only problems that I had was the shameless self promotion that they do and the the near begging that you post to Facebook and TripAdvisor.
Look for the Zombie.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Zipping Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The zip line experience was very cool! Our guides Jordan & Dylan made the experience that much better! I would do it again in a heart beat! Zippin!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Mega Cavern also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Mega Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Mega Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.