We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Mega Cavern

Louisville Mega Cavern
1841 Taylor Avenue, Louisville, KY 40213
+1 877-614-6342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 Attractions in Louisville
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While visiting Louisville, Kentucky, you won't want to miss MEGA ZIPS; "The World's ONLY FULLY Underground Zip Lines & Adventure Tour" featuring 6 Ziplines and 2 challenge bridges up to 2 hours of adrenaline or MEGA QUEST the ONLY FULLY underground ropes challenge course in the world! Mega QUEST is one of only twenty courses of its kind in the USA. Aerial challenge and ropes courses are the hottest new extreme sport in Europe where thousands of courses are located. For those wanting a lesser thrill, be sure to check out the MEGA TRAM a Historic Tour: Ride and never walk through a part of 17 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville. Learn about the geology, history, mining techniques, recycling, and green business technology. See where 50,000 people would have been invited to stay during the Cold War Era. The historic tram tour operates mid-January through October. If you are visiting us during the holiday season, be sure to check out Lights Under Louisville: The World's Only FULLY Underground Holiday Light Show. Drive through 1.2 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville, Kentucky as you see and hear the sights and sounds of the holiday season. Offered seasonally mid-November through December. The cavern is transformed into an underground holiday light show with more than 750 lit characters.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Exactly what I needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was such a great experience! Not only were the zips exciting but the scenery is so interesting. Our guides, Zack and JJ, knew their stuff! Not once was our safety in question. They explained things to us, they shared some facts and history and told witty jokes to keep it lively.
For me this was about checking something off my Bucket List but it did so much more. The suspension bridges were just the right amount of thrill for me to pull up my big girl panties and tackle a fear I have.
Between the thrill, the scenery, the history and the zips I would have to say this is definitely one of the top...if not THE TOP...thing I have ever done in Kentucky!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,820
    323
    69
    19
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Underground Zip Lines!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The zipe line tour was nothing shy of amazing.

They start you off on a small 80ft line to give you an idea of what it feels like. Admittedly, it does not do the rest of the tour justice as the other lines are well over 500ft long.

There are also bridges that must be walked across to get from one zip line to another. They are well supported, but still move when you walk. It might take a moment for some to get used to, but otherwise, they are easy to cross. You are also 100% clipped in at all times for safety.

The longest zip line is just over 900ft long which gives an amazing view of the cavern. Throughout the whole course you travel on 5 or 6 zip lines and walk on a total of three bridges. The last line brings you back to ground level and ends the tour.

Tour time varies depending on party size. There were only two of us in our group, but you can do as many as 12. For 12 people, you can expect to be there for 2 to 3 hours.

This is the most unique experience I have had in Louisville and I will definitely do it again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No where else can you zip under ground.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wife and kids loved the adventure. The underground zip was fun. The zip team informative and cared that we enjoyed everything.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Ziplining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had an excellent time zip lining in the mine. Guides did a great job. They were very informative and made the tour as fun as possible. Go to their website and reserve early. We reserved ours 2 weeks in advance.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crothersville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Meh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a man-made system of tunnels and large rooms underground. We went for Lights Under Louisville and were very grateful that we had a coupon and didn't have to pay full price for the drive thru. It's no different from finding a neighborhood that goes all out in their exterior decorating for the holidays.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Mega Cavern also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Mega Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Mega Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.