We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2227 Bashford Manor Lane, Louisville, KY 40218 (East Louisville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Living History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I love to stay in B&B's, but when I can stay in one with such history it is a real treat. The Bashford Manor is just such a place. There are so many little nooks and crannies to wander around, the grounds are lovely and I mean if it was good enough for Abe Lincoln, well that works for me.

I liked the location, because one of the coolest streets in Louisville is less then 5 minutes up the road. Bardstown Road is great for fun little restaurants, micro breweries and interesting local flavor.

Mostly I enjoyed Bashford Manor because it's a real place that reflects it's history. It's not some theme park B&B, so yes the floors do creak a bit, but so would you if you were build in 1756.

All and all a wonderful place to stay and the owner is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review of this unique historic landmark and for pointing out its great historic context and convenient location. We are pleased you enjoyed the West Suite and noted your plans and request recently to stay in the West Suite again next month for a weekend! Your continued patronage is an honor. It's guests like you that make this award winning renovation and additional amenities worth it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
32
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in August while attending the PGA Championship. We stayed in the West suite. We have stayed in quite a few B & B's over the years and looked forward to staying in another during our stay in Louisville. Unfortunately what we experienced was not what most of the reviewers for TripAdvisor have experienced. The house is beautiful with its old charm and furnishings. Location was great for our purposes. That's pretty much where the positive aspects end.
The room needed a good cleaning, the queen size mattress was old and saggy. The extra pillow in the closet was on the dusty floor with its ripped pillowcase.
Compared to all the other B&Bs we've stayed in, breakfast was far from stellar. There was buffet-style offerings of yogurt, blueberries, cereal, some sort of pre-fabbed egg on toast. Nothing was offered in the way of cooked to order. That is a big minus for a B&BREAKFAST.
We enjoyed our stay in Louisville with its lively downtown. The PGA venue was wonderful, but we won't be staying at the Bashford Manor if we return. It's a shame since we do like to support locally owned businesses like this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We wish you would have let us know about your experience while you were here. We strive to meet everyone's expectations for a beautiful experience in this award winning national historic landmark with new modern amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the PGA Golf championship. What a beautiful, historical oasis in Louisville. The grounds and gardens of Bashford Manor are so nice and the white horses (not real of course!) are a fun addition. We stayed in the Jane Austen library suite. It is very large and comfortable. Catherine is a wonderful, knowledgeable hostess and the breakfast was great. The B&B is convenient to all the major attractions. We truly enjoyed our stay and recommend Bashford Manor to all!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
I really appreciate your comments and thoroughly enjoyed having you here!
We strive to create this historic monument to the area a haven for guests to relax into the classic comfort of this Old Kentucky Home with modern amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in June on vacation to visit numerous local attractions, hit the bourbon trail, and visit Churchill Downs.

The location couldn't have been better, 15 minutes to downtown, 5 minutes to shops and food, quiet neighborhood.

The building is charming, and considering how old it really is, it is in great condition. Most rooms available are excellent.

We stayed in the travelers suite (cheapest room) but that is the only room with a caveat: the bathroom (toilet and shower) is in the bedroom... think of a loft type room. There are curtains that separate it from the bed area, but some people may find that an issue. My wife and I did not, but we also had no problem "taking turns" in the room. All other rooms have a separate bathroom, with appropriate cost.

All being said, the house, and room, were perfect for our desire for a quiet, comfortable home-base to explore Louisville and Kentucky.

The Breakfast was amazing. 5 star service, full spread with multiple items every day (yogurt, coffee tea, fruit, nuts, juice) along with rotating hot items (pancakes, eggs, omelets, ham, bacon, ect.). In fact, it was so amazing, the one day we were going to skip it, we rescheduled our day in order to have it.

The Staff: both Cynthia and Drew were awesome and very hospitable.

Amenities: WiFi, AC (thank god), nice grounds to walk around, an awesome porch for relaxing

Pros: Location, Price, Amenities, Comfort, Mini Fridge

Cons: if the place is busy, I can see breakfast being a bit hectic, and nights possibly being noisy. There was 2-3 other couples there while we were there and we didn't hear them, and breakfast was usually just my wife and I (early risers). But the place can hold many more than 6 people.

Tips: 8am is earliest for breakfast, plan around that.

Verdict: Worth the price, would recommend.

Room Tip: travelers suite: right price if you don't mind the quirky bathroom. Also, it's the only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this B&B on a weekend in June, 2014. It was our first trip to Louisville and we were debating staying downtown or a little further away when we found this B&B's website. This was the perfect choice. It is just a short drive to Main Street and the museums, to Churchill Downs or to the University of Louisville. We would recommend a drive up Bardstown Road to the downtown area as there are plenty of good local restaurants and shops along the way. The B&B itself was a nice quiet retreat after a busy day of sightseeing. The breakfast was made fresh each morning and featured wonderfully delicious fruit and local items like honey. Plus you cannot beat the history that the B&B offers with interesting connections to US history (no spoilers here - check it out for yourself)! Cynthia was friendly and helpful and really made us feel at home. We highly recommend this B&B and are already planning another long weekend stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last weekend and it was a great experience. The Jane Austen suite was a very large room with a queen bed and two twin beds. There was a very interesting selection of old books to peruse in the room, with chairs and desk areas to sit at. There was also a wet bar area with a sink, mini-fridge, and microwave. The room was on the first floor of the main house toward the front door. The bathroom in this particular suite was a bit interesting, as it was a sunken bath under a slanted ceiling. It required a bit of bending over in order to bathe , but this wasn't really a big problem.

We had no problems with noise while we were there, which was nice because we mostly just used the room to sleep at night after returning from a busy day out doing things around Louisville. The neighborhood and grounds seemed quite quiet and peaceful. The building itself is old but well-maintained.

The highlight of the whole stay was definitely the innkeeper, Cynthia. She was very welcoming and hospitable, and always asked the day before when we thought we'd want breakfast. The cooking was great, and varied day to day (french toast, eggs + spinach, biscuits, sausage, etc). When we forgot a couple of our possessions in the room after checking out, she neatly put them on the kitchen counter for us to retrieve later.

Overall I definitely recommend this B&B, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at Bashford Manor. We stayed in the East room which was large with a queen bedroom and another single bed. The building and rooms are beautiful and the food and hospitality were great. Cynthia made us feel very welcome and she was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2227 Bashford Manor Lane, Louisville, KY 40218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National historic landmark with modern amenities, park setting, convenient and centrally located! Comfortable and classic. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.