We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2227 Bashford Manor Lane, Louisville, KY 40218 (East Louisville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Louisville B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this B&B on a weekend in June, 2014. It was our first trip to Louisville and we were debating staying downtown or a little further away when we found this B&B's website. This was the perfect choice. It is just a short drive to Main Street and the museums, to Churchill Downs or to the University of Louisville. We would recommend a drive up Bardstown Road to the downtown area as there are plenty of good local restaurants and shops along the way. The B&B itself was a nice quiet retreat after a busy day of sightseeing. The breakfast was made fresh each morning and featured wonderfully delicious fruit and local items like honey. Plus you cannot beat the history that the B&B offers with interesting connections to US history (no spoilers here - check it out for yourself)! Cynthia was friendly and helpful and really made us feel at home. We highly recommend this B&B and are already planning another long weekend stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
31
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last weekend and it was a great experience. The Jane Austen suite was a very large room with a queen bed and two twin beds. There was a very interesting selection of old books to peruse in the room, with chairs and desk areas to sit at. There was also a wet bar area with a sink, mini-fridge, and microwave. The room was on the first floor of the main house toward the front door. The bathroom in this particular suite was a bit interesting, as it was a sunken bath under a slanted ceiling. It required a bit of bending over in order to bathe , but this wasn't really a big problem.

We had no problems with noise while we were there, which was nice because we mostly just used the room to sleep at night after returning from a busy day out doing things around Louisville. The neighborhood and grounds seemed quite quiet and peaceful. The building itself is old but well-maintained.

The highlight of the whole stay was definitely the innkeeper, Cynthia. She was very welcoming and hospitable, and always asked the day before when we thought we'd want breakfast. The cooking was great, and varied day to day (french toast, eggs + spinach, biscuits, sausage, etc). When we forgot a couple of our possessions in the room after checking out, she neatly put them on the kitchen counter for us to retrieve later.

Overall I definitely recommend this B&B, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at Bashford Manor. We stayed in the East room which was large with a queen bedroom and another single bed. The building and rooms are beautiful and the food and hospitality were great. Cynthia made us feel very welcome and she was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful historic home during the week of the Kentucky Derby, and totally loved it. Our parents had the Library suite downstairs, which was very spacious and gave us a relaxing place for our evening chats. Our suite was on the upper level, a quaint room with a queen bed. We loved coming down to a tasty breakfast every morning in the dining room, it felt like being at home. Cynthia was very gracious host, and accommodating to anything we needed. She provided us with useful information for our dining and shopping experiences. We found the location to be easily accessible to the Derby, shopping, and restaurants. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great historic Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

First, understand what you will be getting when you stay here: this is obviously a work in progress. Cynthia is clearly a woman of ambition and vision, and as such work on this stately and historic home is continuing. We stayed in the Garden Suite, not the main house. The seclusion was wonderful, but the effort and the ambiance thus far are clearly in the main house. On our next stay, we will opt for the main house. I would also caution potential guests, the Garden Suite would be very difficult for a person of much "girth" to navigate. Breakfast is STELLAR, do not skip it! For those wanting to see the real gems of Louisville, the location couldn't be better. The property is just a 3 or 4 minute drive from the truly delightful "Weird Louisville" that everyone should experience up and down Bardstown Road.

Cynthia and staff were very accommodating, which I understand is not always the case with B&Bs. We were given a very gracious schedule with check-in, breakfast, and checkout My wife looked at me on the way out the door and informed me that we'd be back when everything was in full bloom. Still being polished, but oh what a gem the Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast will be when completed!

Room Tip: Garden Suite or Carriage House for privacy, main house for the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janesville, WI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked 4 rooms for 2 nights. West, Travelers, one lower Carriage House suite and the Carriage House Loft suite. The price here can't be beat for such great accommodations!

My husband and I stayed in Carriage House Loft suite. it was nice and roomy to play games with the family, though Cynthia had graciously offered us the dining table. I heard there was a cake there. Should have used the table! Thank you Cynthia! Couch was very comfy and great for napping. We asked for an extra blanket and it was happily provided. There's a huge soaking tub. Choose one of the rooms inside the house if you prefer the feeling of historical luxury. Personally we were very happy with this suite.
Cynthia is so pleasant to work with and VERY understanding when we had to change a reservation night earlier in the month. At another B and B I feel like this could have been a stressful situation but she was amazingly accommodating. I LOVED her passion for history and her love for this rescued beautiful old house. All 6 of us agreed that she is a wealth of knowledge and has a way of putting her guests totally at ease. Personally she's one of our favorite Inn Keepers ever! The Bashford Manor is centrally located to anywhere we wanted to go in Louisville. We appreciated having off street parking. I loved the beautiful Dining room set up with a table for 6 and several tables for 2. She let us choose the breakfast time which was so thoughtful . Overall we were very pleased and would love to return in the summer to enjoy that inviting porch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were lucky to find the Jane Austen Library Suite available for our two night stay in Louisville. The room was perfect for three sisters to share - a queen bed and two very comfortable twin beds in a very spacious and elegant room. The bathroom is unique, with a whirlpool tub tucked in a space under the stairs. You need to climb down into it, but if this is a problem, there is a beautiful bathroom with a marble shower just down the hall. The inn is in a great location near Churchill Downs, fun restaurants on Bardstown Road and convenient to the highway. The owner was friendly and very informative about the history of this home, which was a great introduction on my first visit to Kentucky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2227 Bashford Manor Lane, Louisville, KY 40218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National historic landmark with modern amenities, park setting, convenient and centrally located! Comfortable and classic. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.