We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price can't be beat for such great accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2227 Bashford Manor Lane, Louisville, KY 40218 (East Louisville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Louisville B&B and Inns
janesville, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Price can't be beat for such great accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked 4 rooms for 2 nights. West, Travelers, one lower Carriage House suite and the Carriage House Loft suite. The price here can't be beat for such great accommodations!

My husband and I stayed in Carriage House Loft suite. it was nice and roomy to play games with the family, though Cynthia had graciously offered us the dining table. I heard there was a cake there. Should have used the table! Thank you Cynthia! Couch was very comfy and great for napping. We asked for an extra blanket and it was happily provided. There's a huge soaking tub. Choose one of the rooms inside the house if you prefer the feeling of historical luxury. Personally we were very happy with this suite.
Cynthia is so pleasant to work with and VERY understanding when we had to change a reservation night earlier in the month. At another B and B I feel like this could have been a stressful situation but she was amazingly accommodating. I LOVED her passion for history and her love for this rescued beautiful old house. All 6 of us agreed that she is a wealth of knowledge and has a way of putting her guests totally at ease. Personally she's one of our favorite Inn Keepers ever! The Bashford Manor is centrally located to anywhere we wanted to go in Louisville. We appreciated having off street parking. I loved the beautiful Dining room set up with a table for 6 and several tables for 2. She let us choose the breakfast time which was so thoughtful . Overall we were very pleased and would love to return in the summer to enjoy that inviting porch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
30
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were lucky to find the Jane Austen Library Suite available for our two night stay in Louisville. The room was perfect for three sisters to share - a queen bed and two very comfortable twin beds in a very spacious and elegant room. The bathroom is unique, with a whirlpool tub tucked in a space under the stairs. You need to climb down into it, but if this is a problem, there is a beautiful bathroom with a marble shower just down the hall. The inn is in a great location near Churchill Downs, fun restaurants on Bardstown Road and convenient to the highway. The owner was friendly and very informative about the history of this home, which was a great introduction on my first visit to Kentucky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bashford Manor while visiting our daughter for the weekend. From the very beginning when we were booking our stay, the owner, Cynthia Cooke was very friendly and was more than accommodating. Upon arriving at Bashford Manor, we were very impressed with the characteristics of the property. Cynthia has done a great job of renovating this historic home to be a cozy and welcoming bed and breakfast. Each room is attractively decorated and has an in-suite bathroom. Cynthia’s attention to detail is very noticeable everywhere you look. We found the facilities to be very clean and well kept.

As for breakfast each morning, it was unbelievably AMAZING. The dining room is small, which provides a very intimate and quiet setting to start your day. The food that Cynthia prepared was something you would expect at a 5 star hotel. Everything was delicious and had such great flavor.

The uniqueness and historical aspects of this property makes it truly special. Partner that with the wonderful hospitality expressed and displayed by the owner, makes this a place I will definitely stay at when in Louisville and would highly recommend to others visiting Louisville.

Thank you, Cynthia, for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Last weekend my wife and I were in Louisville. An historic house, the Bashford Manor B&B has been updated and was very comfortable. We particularly liked sitting on the big porch at the back of the house with a glass of wine in the late afternoon and having those quiet, focused conversations our busy lives so often interrupt. Our hostess, Cynthia Cooke, was both helpful and extremely pleasant. The breakfasts were sumptuous. The location was great, a few minutes drive from the great array of restaurants closer to downtown on Bardstown Road. We recommend the Bashford Manor and will stay there again when we're in town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We certainly enjoyed having you all here! And enjoyed learning about your research. Also glad that our convenient location and quiet country park ambience were useful. Hope you visit again with another opportunity to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Whenever business or pleasure brings my husband and I to Louisville, we always book our stay at Bashford Manor B&B. This is a special place where one can relax amid natural beauty in an historically significant setting, yet enjoy modern conveniences. Whether staying in the main house, carriage house suite, or garden suite, each room provides its special charming ambience through planner and preservationist Cynthia Cooke's carefully chosen furnishings and considerate extra touches. Cynthia is a wealth of information about Louisville's exciting neighborhoods and lovely parks, places to bike, green energy, and healthy dining opportunities. The breakfasts at Bashford feature foods that are local and seasonal. The 3-acres include gardens, a walnut grove, a rainwater harvesting system, a pond with bridge, and many lovely spots to sit and read or write your novel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
It is one of the great pleasures of this National Historic Landmark to welcome our dear repeat guests... You help keep the doors open for 'time' travelers as we offer both past and present amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the carriage house suites overlooking the gardens. A spacious and nicely decorated suite with a relaxing feel, a comfortable bed and a plate of cookies waiting for us when we arrived! Each morning we walked to the main house to the lovely dining room for a wonderfully prepared breakfast. Each breakfast consisted of yogurt parfait with fruit and nuts, Canadian ham and a warm dish. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the house, Louisville and Kentucky from Cynthia. She is a warm, courteous hostess! We enjoyed our trip to Kentucky and our stay at Bashford Manor. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return someday! ENJOY!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband, myself, and our two adult children shared the wonderfully spacious West Suite for three nights. The house is a pleasure to stay in. It’s historically significant, beautiful, and comfortable. Cynthia Cooke is a fine host and makes everything work. The excellent breakfast is served graciously, in a truly lovely room. The inn is located on a quiet street, just off Bardstown Road (excellent restaurants just a few minutes away) and near the Watterson Expressway, which gets you wherever you need to go. I grew up in Louisville but hadn’t been there in many years. Staying at the Bashford Manor B&B made my return visit even better. This is a great alternative to a conventional hotel or motel, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2227 Bashford Manor Lane, Louisville, KY 40218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National historic landmark with modern amenities, park setting, convenient and centrally located! Comfortable and classic. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.