We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2715 Fern Valley Road, Louisville, KY 40213   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked for the Derby 8 months out. In the meantime they had a flood (a month ago) and closed the restaurant, pools, and other amenities with no guest warning or notice. Refused to refund us even though they could not offer ANYTHING that was advertised or promised when booking. STAY AWAY! Horrible customer service. We offered to pay the first night in order to cancel the next two nights.They refused.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    10
    40
See reviews for
16
6
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our basketball team was assigned this hotel for a tournament in Louisville this past weekend. I can not stress enough on how NASTY and DIRTY and GROSS that this hotel was. No hot water, no wi-fi, TVs that barely worked, stained carpets, dirty bathrooms, stained towels, filthy elevators and hallways, expired elevator inspection certificates, hotel grounds were unkept, overgrown bushes and i could list a million more issues. We tried to move to another hotel but all were booked in the area. The staff wears street clothes - asked for towels to be brought to room and never saw them and the hotel has an awful stench to it. Even if you are desperate, do not stay at this hotel. It needs to be condemned!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for an event at the Expo Center and looked forward to using the indoor pool and hot tub -- neither were open/working. The rest of the hotel was in significant disrepair and the breakfast was a disappointment. The non-smoking room filled with a smoky smell as soon as we turned on the a/c (which did not cool the room at all). The beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom was not very clean. The noise from the airport kept me up from 3am-4:45am. If I could give this place zero stars, I would.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel by two nights and it was one of the worst experiences ever. It seems like an old place in a communist country... the place is so big that you will need a map to find your room, sometimes even crossing fire security corridors. The fire alarm was ringing at 4:00 in the morning probably because a stupid joke but no one in the frint desk came to explain what was happening. Internet was not working in my room. The sink was not working fine as well. Tip: breakfast is not good there, crossing the street you will find the White Castle which is much better and cheaper.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed there before and even held an event at the conference center last year that tuned out great. This year was very disappointing. It took an hour to check in. We reserved several rooms in our company name. One of our guests arrived before we did and they changed the reservations to his name...therefore had no record of us when we arrived. The staff entered two of our staffs rooms in the middle of the night without knocking...apparently confused that the rooms were booked for 2 more days. Upon checkout we wanted all room charges converted to the company card as the original holds were put on an individual's personal card awaiting the owners arrival...they assured us that the charges were holds only... 3 days later we found that both cards were charged...we paid double for this dive! Tried contacting them for 2 days..no answer..entered dispute with credit card company to remove the charges....Rooms weren't cleaned daily, cable off...received "pay now" message...hot breakfast for $10....Horrible...no business center...could not print travel confirmations, staff in street clothes in desperate need of customer service training. Fire alarm set off every night...this place needs to close for major renovations....if not permanently!

Room Tip: Want a good room.....book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

stayed for two days, housekeeping never showed up. didnt have any towels second day called two times for towels no show had to leave no shower drains were pluged . lamp shade missing. BLACK MOLD ON WALLS IN BATHROOM Very Nasty! building inspector should close this one down!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haubstadt, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This is by far the very worst hotel experience I have had! Period! Checking in on the evening of Mar. 26, 2015 & staying through Mar. 27 checking out on the morning of Mar. 28. First off, the place is a "DUMP" Next off the rate of $145.09 per night including taxes is ridiculous. We were out during the day attending a show at the State Fairgounds there & upon returning to our room on the night of the 26th the bathroom part (shower) was not clean. Being tired we went almost immediately to bed. At 4 a.m. we were awaken with an alarm & a loud siren saying, "There has been a report of an emergency! Please evacuate the motel immediately!" After getting up from a dead sleep & getting dressed, leaving the room, we find out that someone has tripped an alarm. By that time the fire trucks & emergency equipment were in front of the motel. We later find out that this has happened the last 3 nights in a row. Upon returning to our room on Fri. night (27th) our room had not been cleaned during the day although we had left the "Service Please" banner hanging on the room door. I said to the other party, "This doesn't look good!" Sure enough, upon opening the door our room was still just like we had left it that morning. Upon contacting the front desk, we were told that they were sorry but that they could not do anything about it. Our towels were dirty, no fresh soap, beds had not been changed or made! Needless to say we were totally aggravated! Upon checking out this morning (28th) we were once again told by the manager on duty that there was nothing she could do to change things. I told her that I could & that I would be writing a review on Trip Advisor! You DO NOT want to stay at this motel! Period! If you have to, sleep in your car but DO NOT waste your money at this establishment! It is "worn out, rundown, & poorly maintained."

Room Tip: I do not think that there are any good rooms at this establishment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2715 Fern Valley Road, Louisville, KY 40213
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Valley Hotel & Conference Center in beautiful Louisville, Kentucky--where southern hospitality and modern facilities combine to create an atmosphere of comfort and luxury. Conveniently located off Interstate 65 near Louisville International Airport, The Kentucky Exposition Center/Kentucky Kingdom and Churchill Downs, and within close proximity to downtown's business district/convention facilities, the Fern Valley Hotel is one of Louisville's larger hotel and meeting spaces. Whether working or relaxing, you'll find our 406 guest rooms, 22,000 square-feet of flexible meeting space, on-site dining/lounge, indoor pool/whirlpool, and other recreational amenities provide all the amenities that matter most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Valley Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Valley Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.