We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downs After Dark is a blast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs
700 Central Avenue, Louisville, KY 40208-1200 (South Side)
502 636 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 161 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful racetrack has been the home of the Kentucky Derby since 1875.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Downs After Dark is a blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A group of us had tickets to millionaires row at Downs After Dark 11/16/13. Have never been to Churchill Downs, nor have I seen live horse racing. This was a real treat! We had dinner on millionaires row, which was a very nice buffet. Our server, Rebecca, took great care of us and delivered our cocktails. We were able to eat, drink, place bets, and walk right outside to watch each race live. The facility is absolutely beautiful with such tradition! We got lucky for November...the weather was just perfect, around 62 degrees. We definitely want to return to another Downs After Dark event next year.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    256
    59
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A day at the races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We participated in the Kentucky Colonel's Day at the races. How exciting!! We were able to view the races from the millionaires row (not a place we could have afforded with out the Kentucky Colonel's Day). They have tours into the paddock area that anyone can sign up to take. The museum there is very good and the races are exciting. Plan on making this one of your stops when traveling through Louisville.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Entertaining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Never having gone to a live horse race this was a wonderful experience. We reserved seat in millionaire row which includes all u can eat dinner n fourth floor viewing of racing. Had a great day without losing money. We bet only between ourselves.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOLTEWAH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A day at the races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were in town with some friends for their first time at a horse track. They loved it - it is reasonably priced to get in and if you park off Longview - parking is free. They were surprised how the people in the betting windows were so helpful on how to bet. They obviously cannot give specifics on what you should do or which horses to bet on, but on how to place the bet. The food was very good for concession style.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“So much history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A must see if in the Louisville area! Even if not a huge race fan still take the tour or stop by KY derby museum. Admission to track is only a couple dollars and it's a very relaxing place to spend an afternoon. The quality of the facility is great and the employees are nice. Great selection of food and drinks at reasonable enough prices. Huge parking lot in front with FREE parking. Not far at all off highway 264 near the airport. If you like horse racing or just watch the Kentucky Derby it's a must see for all the history on display. This place is huge and it's fun walking around seeing all of the different areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Churchill Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchill Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.