We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally lived up to recommendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basa Restaurant

Basa Restaurant
2244 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY 40206-2468 (Clifton)
502-896-1016
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Basa Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,440 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Clifton
Cross street: Clifton Ave / Jane St
Fremont, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Totally lived up to recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friends told us about Basa. They were absolutely correct. Our party ordered the special--pork cheeks-- and it was phenomenal. Others order the beet salad--so fresh and flavorful; the scallops--large and cooked to a perfect golden color; the tempura shrimp with greens -- so light and tangy; and a strip steak--who would have thought that would be so good at a Vietnamese Restaurant? We had other magnificent appetizers but I will leave you something to explore yourself. DO NOT FORGET to order a drink. The bartender has great knowledge of a vast array of drinks that will quench and tease your taste buds. A must see stop in Louisville!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The regular menu items are always good, but the specials are often exceptional. I would recommend Basa to anyone. The noise level adds energy, but can also be annoying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

small and cozy, beautifully decorated, best food in town, though reviewers seem to forget this place when ranking...the food is fresh and delicious, with really interesting menu choices that change frequently.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion done with panache”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Saw a review for this restaurant in Louisville magazine so while visiting decided to give it a try. It is located in a very 'restaurant rich' area of Frankfort Ave just 10 minutes from downtown. There is a small car park at the rear which is convenient. Pleasant greeting by the hostess and was to a well designed, intimate, interior. Service was prompt and attentive. I choose the hot and sour tamarind and mussel soup to start. It was delicious with a great depth of flavour. My main course was Salt and pepper gulf-coast prawns, with roasted garlic, scallion oil, & jasmine rice. Again great flavor and a really enjoyable dish. I finished with a trio of sorbets which although not extraordinary were good and were a good contrast to the earlier courses.

A great place in Lousiviile that i can strongly recommend. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Four of us recently had a fantastic dinner at Basa. Service was excellent, and the Asian/Fusion cuisine was delicious. We'd all ordered the evening specials; nothing off the menu. I'd started with a spicy soup with mussels, which reminded me of a Manhattan-Style clam chowder, and followed it up with a Szechuan-marinaded beef dish. it was great.

I would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Basa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.