We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 S. Hurstbourne Parkway, Louisville, KY 40222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a king bed non-smoking room less than a week before the National Farm Machinery Show. I was a little leery after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, however I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and everything was in working order, though we did have a very squeaky furnace fan. The first night we were given 2 full size towels for 2 adults, but the intuitive housekeeping staff left us 3 full size towels for the second night of our stay. I didn't have to call the front desk and request it at all.

The hotel bar was clean, well stocked and our bar tender was friendly. The hotel restaurant was our choice for breakfast one morning and the food was well portioned and the staff was courteous and let us know in advance that they were out of regular maple syrup. My pancakes were not completely cooked but we were there very close to closing time before the lunch hour. The hotel chef had an emergency and had to close the kitchen early the night prior. The hotel staff put a notice in the elevators and let patrons know as they were coming and going through the lobby.

The hotel was close to the interstate and had several restaurants close by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in Louisville or nearby. We were approximately 15 minutes from the Kentucky Exposition Center which was nice to not have to deal with an abundance to traffic to get the hotel, just get on the interstate and go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you "Jackie H" for taking the time and effort to provide a very solid and detailed review of our staff and the hotel. It is always important to look at a large sampling of TripAdvisor reviews when using them to make a decision where to stay, and we're glad that our hotel exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate the constructive comments, as well as recogizing us for our location, cleanliness, and overall quality. Thank you again! David Hirsch - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    32
    18
    21
See reviews for
27
14
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Super staff and superb accomodations. I felt as if I were being treated "SPECIAL," although I knew that the staff treated all visitors the same. When ever I'm in Lousiville, I stay at this particular hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you "Elvin G" for sharing a short but sweet analysis of our hotel. Our staff puts great pride into making the guests feel like they have arrived at their home away from home in Louisville. The staff are our number 1 asset and your comments will be shared with them. Sincerely, David Hirsch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were exhausted from being on the road for over ten hours and just needed a place to stay. I called about an hour ahead thinking that it being a Holiday Inn that it must be a decent place to stay, but I was horribly wrong.
Upon our arrival, we were directed to behind the elevators. As soon as the elevator doors opened for us to get out, we were immediately appalled. We walked down a dingy lit hall, with worn wood doors. After a bit of struggle opening our door, we were greeted with dust bunnies in the corners, worn carpet, stained walls and curtains and a smell that consisted of old fried food and smoke. We should have ran, but were just too exhausted.
My son was just getting over bronchitis at this time, but after staying here his symptoms got severely worse. He coughed all night, due to the rotten old cigarette smoke. There were also a group of young people that left a trail of pot smoke through the whole hall.
Upon leaving this room, which ended up being very early in the morning due to our family just wanting to get as far away as possible, our whole family ended up with respiratory issues for our 10 hour drive home. I truly hope that Holiday Inn corporate finds out about this place and they with the city condemn it. It is truly a health hazard! Don't let the online pictures and lobby fool you either. Spend ten bucks more and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I have reach out to the guest personally to find out what room her family stayed in. We have never had a review like this and I will definitely investigate these concerns to make sure our hotel is never percieved in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My organization used the Holiday Inn East for a Board Meeting and as host hotel for a workshop at UL Shelby Campus. The Board Members were very happy with the meeting room and food package. The staff that we worked with were very professional and courteous. This hotel was selected after touring other hotels in the area. The location was great, just off of I-64 with many restaurants and stores in the area. It was also convenient to the UL Shelby Campus with less than a five minute drive.

Our rooms were in the tower and were very nice. My room was clean and contained a refrigerator and microwave. The WIFI was fast and was free for guest. My room was very spacious and had a nice sitting area. The lobby area was large with many nice sitting areas. They had a nice free coffee area just off the restaurant. All of the sitting places made it nice for a large group to enjoy social time. We are looking forward to holding our meeting there again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Tower are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the great comments. We always like hearing great comments as it lifts the spirits of our staff to continue to make all guest happy and they will get great comments in return. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was a decent hotel. But the front desk is really slow and they make customers to wait for sometime before checkin.
Also, for Priority Club members, they won't give the priority packet unless we ask for. People at front desk needs to be improved a lot when comes to serving the customers.
I like the Winners resturant at this hotel. They are friendly and also facst in their service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear shri s,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the restaurant.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the poor customer service provided by our staff. We will address this point. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When I made my reservation, I looked on line at the rooms. On line the rooms looked very nice. However, when I checked in the room was not as nice at it looked on the internet. I was disappointed. I am not sure if I would ever stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while attending the National Quartet Convention. The location was great, the price was quite reasonable, the facility was very clean, the staff was wonderful, and the breakfast was not just cereal, juice, and coffee. It was a "sit-down" feast with "real" plates and silverware, and a fantastic selection of eggs, bacon, sausage, gravy, biscuits, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit, and pastries. (I could go on and on!) If you are planning a trip to Louisville this hotel can't be beat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Wayne,

Thank you for noticing we are a REAL hotel in both our service and amenities.
Please stay again next time you're in the area.

Regards,

Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600
srobinson@hihurstbourne.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne

Address: 1325 S. Hurstbourne Parkway, Louisville, KY 40222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently undergoing a MAJOR updating/renovation so please excuse any inconvenience with construction that may occur. The Holiday Inn Hurstbourne I-64 East is located in the heart of Louisville's East End, just blocks away from shopping, several restaurants as well as business & industrial parks. Our hotel is 10 miles northeast of Louisville International Airport, the Churchill Downs/KY Derby Museum. The Holiday Inn Hurstbourne, I-64 East, offers full conference facilities for up to 800 people with 13 function rooms available. Catering and audio/visual offices are onsite to help with your function. Enjoy our Winner's Circle Restaurant & Lounge, featuring a menu laced with Kentucky fare. Special rates for RVIA, National Farm Machinery Show, Mid-America Truck Show, KY Derby, the Abbey Road Music Fest & National Street Rods! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.