We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely B and B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2406 Tucker Station Road, Louisville, KY 40299   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Louisville B&B and Inns
Washington DC
1 review
“Very lovely B and B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hi stayed at the Tucker House for three nights, for a business trip. I had a wonderful visit. The place is very clean. I had a beautiful large room, which was very, very quiet. Had three very good night sleeps. I most enjoyed sitting out on the deck on the second floor in the evening. I even took a dip on the very beautiful pool in the back yard. And Steve and Devona were great. Breakfast was devine and Loved Sophie the dog.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
64
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is such a charming place. There is an abundance of period antiques gracing every room. Devona and Steve were exceptional hosts and the breakfast was divine. We didn't get to use the large pool because it was raining but it looked very inviting and the surrounding grounds were beautiful. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights while in Louisville traveled from CA.
IS a great B and B, nice location, grounds were beautiful.
The rooms were nicely decorated circa 1840.
The only negative thing is the wood floors are so creaky and loud.
But everything else was wonderful
Devona and Steve Porter, the Innkeepers were lovely.
The breakfasts we had were gourmet, and delicious.
Would recommend it highly.
Is inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It is just beautifully furnished. Great care and thought has been taken to make it an indulgent and intimate experience. I loved the combination of the 'useable' old. Fine old pieces were used to eat breakfast, in the sitting room, etc. The kitchen area is out of a magazine.

In the morning I was delighted by the chorus of birds (April Visit). I went out on the side porch with a cup of coffee in a quaint sitting room/morning room/ visiting room.

Our hosts were wonderful and thoughtful. I enjoyed conversations with them.

Room Tip: There is no Fitness Center or Room Service. I traveled in April 2012, right around the fireworks di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was a rather spontaneous trip to get away from winter and spend time in Louisville during the NCAA tournament. We stayed for three nights and found the B&B to be very convenient to the freeway system with easy access to the Lexington area, the Bourbon trail and greater Louisville. The breakfasts were excellent and our hosts were very helpful. Their home has been lovingly restored and decorated with period antiques. If going through Louisville in the future, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi and we would certainly use this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are picky about cleanliness. This place is very clean. Nice big rooms. We would hace prefered a little closer to louisville to avoid the expensive cab fare for dinner and DUI avoidance, but it worked out fine. We went to the makers mark race in lexington so the location put us closer to the track. The folks that run the B&B are very personable and breakfast was more than all of us could eat and very good. We originally wanted to stay at 21C, but a convention I louisville made this our only option. We were extemely pleased that we ended up here and would stay agian.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

OK...so, where to begin?! Well, let me first start off by saying that Mrs.Divona & Mr. Steve were the most loving,caring, innkeepers I've ever met. They welcome you at the door, & make sure that your ok & have everything you need. The room was cozy, yet spacious, the bed was comfortable,& it was VERY peaceful. We're a very, very clean family.(meaning that the least amount of dirt would've kept me up all night, because I wouldn't have been able to sleep.) But that DEFINITELY was NOT an issue at The Tucker House! The place was SPOTLESS!! It smelled fresh, the floors, the bedding, everything! The bathroom was clean, from the walls, the toilet,& the floor. We slept very comfortably, & was NOT disturbed, only to wake up to a DELICIOUS breakfast! Fresh fruit, the famous "Tucker House" eggs, your choice of spicy or maple bacon, (cooked to perfection i must say,) & a whole wheat maple pecan waffle, topped with blueberries & raspberries. DELISH!! Not to mention i haven't eaten a waffle in over 10 years, because I've never cared for them much) but trying out a piece of Mrs Divonas waffle was so good, I ended up finishing up the WHOLE thing!!:) Oh, also i forgot to mention the fresh, delicious cheese tray & champagne that I ordered in the room was fantastic. Overall, from us it get a 10!!!! We WILL BE RETURNING! WHOOHOOO!!! I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2406 Tucker Station Road, Louisville, KY 40299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast is located on the east side of Louisville, Kentucky. Experience 1840 rural Kentucky while staying within Louisville Metro. This National Register federal-style home is faithfully restored to its simple beauty and authentically furnished with period antiques. On five acres, enjoy the serenity of woods and lake, the history of the stone springhouse and dry-laid masonry wall, our refreshing pool and an on-site fitness room. Each morning brings a Kentucky gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840 Tucker House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.