We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I found this hotel during my researsch for hotels in Louisville downtown. The reviews of this hotel forced me to make a reservation here and I am glad that I was at econo lodge. Here is the comperison of econo lodge to big hotels in downtown.
1) location is as good as all other hotels in downtown - safe downtown - only two blocks from 4th st Live
2) only $5.00 for parking as others hotels starts at $9.00 (or their rates are sky high)
3) cleanliness is best compering other hotels reviews
4) staff is just great - staff do know what is customer service!!
5) price is half or less than other hotels in downtown
6) Free wi-fi where most hotels Charge for internet
7) Bathroom is small but accepted compering stars & price of hotel and clean
8) they have a security in weekend as management is aware of some drunk guests who don't respect other guests in house.

What else you look for your stay in hotel?

Go for it! Save money & get great service!

Thanks a lot staff for memorable stay. Will see you soon!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Tushar,

Thank you so much for the great review and letting the world know how well we are doing. Our focus is clean and comfortable rooms with best price and downtown with great customer service and I am glad that you were happy with everything. Once again thank you so much and looking forward to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
17
42
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Clean hotel, nice staff, no water pressure and no hot water. Overall, got what we paid for which was within our price point for a conference. Conveniently located within walking distance to everything. Would recommend if you aren't looking for a lot of amenities and just need a place to crash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had for hot water. I took a note and please be aware that problem has been fixed. I am glad that you liked our room cleanliness and service of my staff. If your travel plan ever brings you to Louisville, please stay with us again..

Sincerely,

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Came up to go hunting and needed a place to stay. Didn't make reservations, but found this hotel on Google. I loved it! Everyone was helpful and nice. Rooms were clean and up to date. If your in town, stay here. Good rates and rooms!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We the Econo Lodge team thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are glad that you found clean, comfortable room with reasonable price. Please visit us again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is as good as it gets for this category of motel. Personnel are accommadating and pleasant. Rooms are clean and exterior is well kept. Restaurants and entertainment areas is only a short walk. I visit Louisville at least twice a year and I will be returning here for all my future stays!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that everything worked out for you including location of the hotel. Looking forward to your next trip to Louisville.

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third stay at econolodge downtown. It is pretty much the perfect spot to base yourself for Louisville. It's two blocks from 4th street live entertainment precinct and the visitors centre. Also within walking distance, (cab, bus or free trolley) to so many great bars and restaurants. It is motel style accommodations but it is clean and spacious. We had a king size bed, with a small bathroom, fridge, cupboard and a table. Totally recommend this hotel for those on a budget who still want to stay in downtown Louisville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks a ton for the great review and we the Econo Lodge Team appreciate your business all the time. I am glad that you find simple, comfortable and clean and inexpensive room in Louisville Downtown. Looking forward to see you again!...

Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Everything exceeded my expectations. Service was excellent. Pete was extremely helpful. Room was very clean. Only the internet was kind of slow and sometimes cuts you off. Excellent value. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay with us and I would like to personally thank you for choosing Econo Lodge Downtown during your stay in Louisville, KY! I was very pleased to know that your overall experience exceeded your expectations, and that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. Please come see us again when you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in Louisville as a stop over and not really knowing what this city had to offer. Were we surprised! This hotel is two blocks from 4th street. This is a must for night life. There are many places to eat and drink, very safe with a great atmosphere. The hotel is clean and looks as if they had done some renovations to the place. A couple of blocks to the north of the hotel is a visitors centre and they have everything you need to know about this fantastic city. After staying in Louisville I read in a magazine that it is one of the top places in the US to visit, so true. I would stay here again and it is priced right.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room, you can park right out side your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us! I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and clean and comfortable room. Please come see us again when you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Pete Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.