We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As soon as Springsteen announced he was playing Louisville, I booked a room at the Econo Lodge. We wanted somehere close enough to walk to the KFC Yum Center and inexpensive. I was able to get an AARP rate under $70, so it was definitely inexpensive! We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The staff was wonderful. The parking lot was full when we arrived, but they have additional space across the street. Rather than make us park there, Tim (the desk clerk on duty) moved his car so we could have his spot in the motel lot. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor (room 303) and had no noise issues at all. Room was large; clean; had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker; lots of stations on cable and an iron and ironing board. Wifi was an issue. Could not connect hto their's at all, however the Fairfield Inn's signal was strong enough I was able to use it. The Econo Lodge is 2 blocks from 4th Street Live and about 5 to the KFC Yum Center. If Bruce and the band comes back to Louisville, I will definitely stay here again. It's not fancy, but it is clean, safe, inexpensive and convenient.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
17
42
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The whole city was sold out..we were lucky to get a room here, and we book a room here 12 year in advance annually. It is a great value, the staff is freindly, as safe as you can get in downtown of a city....nothing management can do about that, and the breakfast was good for a cheap rate motel. If you want to save some $$$ stay here!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger. But your downtown, its all the same noise wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just stayed for a night passing through. Excellent location, 3 blocks to the entertainment district, right behind the Marriot. It's a basic hotel, but pretty clean and the staff was great. Can't beat the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The room was clean, microwave and fridge (the other two hotels we stayed at in Louisville didn't offer these amenities) parking was only $5 (that's a steal for the area), breakfast was included (nothing great but sufficient and again the other two hotels didn't offer it), it sits on the edge of what I would call a bad part of town. Made me a little uncomfortable after dark. The outside makes you a little nervous about what the room is going to look like. In my experience don't be alarmed the rooms are definitely sufficient and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed at the Econo Lodge on Second Street from July 4th - July 7th.

This hotel is a very basic hotel. The location is very convenient to everything downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. We were there when temperatures were 108 degrees and the air conditioner worked perfectly keeping up the the heat and keeping our room cool.

Pros
Location - walking distance to pretty much anything in the city, especially 4th street.
Clean
Felt Safe
Comfortable Beds
Watched the fireworks from outside our room.

Cons
No Pool
Extension Cords everywhere and all outlets didn't work.

This hotel is great for the no frills traveler who just needs as place to sleep. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We picked this hotel because of it's downtown location and car parking. It does not sell itself as anything more than it is. The rooms were adequate for our needs with good beds and excellent servicing, the breakfast got us started, but best of all we were just five minutes from 4th Street Live and close to all the other downtown Louisville attractions Capable A/C..

Room Tip: We had a first floor room not troubled by noise from traffic or other residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We enjoyed a long weekend in the Kentucky area and this Econo Lodge was our hotel of choice. Located in downtown Louisville, it is very conveniently located to many attractions (Slugger Field and the Louisville Slugger Museum, among others!)

Even though he outside seemed very dated, the room was clean and tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. A microwave, fridge, blow dryer, coffee make and iron were available in the room.

The free breakfast was perfectly acceptable...cereal, boiled eggs, toast, danishes, bagels, apples, juice and coffee. For afternoon, evening or for a late night snack, there is a Papa Johns is located on the same lot and they were very friendly!

The only downside was the parking. At one point, we had to park across the street in the overflow area, but moved our vehicle back into the lot when space became available.

This is an economy hotel, so do not expect to be pampered or have access to many "extras". But for a clean and comfortable place to sleep between excursions, it's great. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 401 South 2nd Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown, 1 block away from Kentucky Intl Convention center, Fourth Street Live, Papa John's Stadium, Slugger Museum and many downtown business and attractions. Kentucky Fair Expo and Derby is just 4 miles away. I-65, I-64 and I-71 are just 2 blocks away making it highly accessible to not only business travelers but also leisure travelers. Offering the best rates in downtown with business amenities. Hotel offers free wireless high speed access. Microwave, refrigerator, spacious work desk, free copy-fax services and on-site exercise room. Please note 1 parking slot per guest room. Parking Charge: 5.00 per 24hours with in/out priveleges. Parking expires promptly upon check-out, for additional parking, please contact hotel. No oversized parking avail. Please do not request rollaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.