We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Downtown Louisville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Downtown Louisville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Although the hotel is a little old and had some visible wear and tear, it was very clean and very comfortable. You cannot beat the location, which is just down the road from great nightlife and many local attractions. I had a great view of the Ohio River. Our conference rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff was bend over backwards helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    681
    390
    184
    101
See reviews for
372
426
90
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Staye at the Galt House after the Eagles concert and had a wonderful time...ate in the hotel "Casaul dining" room , excellant food and moderate prices. Staff provided excellant services and were extemely polite. Wonderful time !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I have stayed here many times, usually for business travel. The staff is friendly, knowledgable about the area, and very helpful. The rooms are great, the beds are comfortable and this hotel offers some of the best views in Louisville. The food is of high quality. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Louisville.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
658 helpful votes 658 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We are natives, yet chose to stay here following the Eagles concert to avoid a drive home. The hotel was definitely prepared for the crowds. There were several people at the registartion counter and we were checked in with no wait. I had heard of slow elevators, but we did not experience that. Our room was on the 23 floor in the Rivue tower. We had a spacious, clean room with a beautiful view over the Ohio River. The room was quiet as well. We didn't have time for a full dinner, but enjoyed appetizers in the bar area of Rivue. We dined here once before, the place is gorgeous, service is friendly and efficient and the food is delicious. The shrimp appetizer was fantastic and the shrimp were huge. Parking was reasonable for the location and the event. I am certainly glad I finally got to stay here and give an honest review. This hotel has some real perks....views, great bar, nice boutiques, a first rate restaurant and excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Galt House in September of 2010. We had a great stay. The location was perfect. Hotel was clean. Parking was easy. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hadn't been back since the renovations. My first experience previously was not good at all, in fact I'd left and checked in to a different hotel. This time however, it was a pleasant surprise. Huge investment in renovations. The lobby is awash in aromatherapy - smelled great as soon as the automatic doors open. I stayed in the suite tower and my suite was spacious, modern and nicely appointed. The only complaint was a big wad of blonde hair nestled near the drapes that blended in with the golden carpet; apparently someone cleaned out their hairbrush and dropped it on the floor. Who knows how long it'd been there??? It was there for the entire 3 nights that I stayed there! Never vacuumed up. Made me very leery about walking barefoot on the carpet. The room was otherwise nice. I travel with my own sheets and pillowcases, but theirs looked alright - that's just my pet peeve. The location is good, walking distance to restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Louisville is a great place to visit and the Galt House makes it even better. The location is fabulous and the grounds and outdoor pool are very, very nice .I recommend Louisville for families and the nightlife downtown appeared to be hopping too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.