We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel for a spring break getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful hotel for a spring break getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My 21 yr old daughter & I came to Louisville for a few days during her spring break just to get away. Had never been here before. I did a lot of searching before deciding on the Galt hotel. Most of the reviews seemed good, a couple negative. But we had a magnificant time. The hotel is chic and modern, yet still has historical aspects. It is one of the oldest hotels in the city and is right on the river. I booked through expedia and got a good price compared to the hotels website....$133.00 compared to $185.00.(taxes included) We had two double beds and I asked to be water view and upper floor. We had a perfect view of the river and the city and we were on the 23rd floor! The room had two double beds and was very roomy and nicely furnished. Very clean and super comfortable beds. The bathroom was small but there was two separate sink areas, which was nice for two women!! No complaints at all.
There are a lot of lovely sitting areas and restaurants in the hotel. One of our favorite times was sitting in the conservatory bar, which is all glass with great views of the river and the city. We wanted to have a bourbon since that is one of the things Kentucky is known for. We are not real heavy drinkers so we weren't sure what to order, but the young lady bartender was so helpful. She suggested a Four Roses bourbon since Ky. and NY are the only places you can get it. She gave it to us with a little ice and our pepsi on the side, indicating that this is how Kentuckians drink this particular brand because it is supposed to be smooth, so you sip the bourbon followed with a sip of pepsi. It was very smooth and was a fun thing to do.(we only had one)The drink and pepsi were about $8.00 a piece. The bar is a fish tank so your drinks set on top of the glass with the fish swimming underneath! Really cool! Never seen anything like it . Really pretty at night.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we come to Louisville.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    571
    319
    143
    85
See reviews for
295
333
83
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I was here for a conference, and I must say, this hotel is amazing. First of all, it's HUGE and perfect for the kind of conference I was attending. Also, the rooms were very nice and clean. We had a lot of down time during the conference and were happy to find that you could really just walk to all the night life!

It was fun, safe, secure, and clean! 5 stars!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

You can expect a nice room, very spacious, clean, quiet, and the staff was excellent. I'm a people person, so I really enjoy being greeted by friendly staff. The room had excellent amenities. Very clean. An excellent location in a very safe part of town. I would reccomend others to stay here. The price and quality were both excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I got a lot of advice from co-workers before staying here and assumed that the hotel wasn't appreciated for being unique. Maybe if the rooms were cordoned off and put into a museum, I would like it more than having to actually sleep in them. Dingy, dark, and strange. Like something out of a low-budget movie.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Fairly large room, right in the heart of downtown. Nice facilities. Attentive staff.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed here several times as a kid and thought it was great so I was very excited to stay here with my fiance for a Valentines weekend, what a wreck!
At check in I was greeted by a straight faced man who would be better suited working in a morgue. I asked him about the shuttle service to the casino and he instructed me to look at the poster in the lobby instead of answering me , I guess he was to busy with planning a funeral.
The Cafe Mahgnoliea or whatever it's called was laughable. Our server greeted us, after several minutes of waiting , with a story of how she had just got there and we were her first table and she wasn't ready. As the meal progressed I came to think we were her first table ever. No knowledge of the menu or specials. I ordered the Porterhouse that I had to ask her about, when it came out I saw that maybe there was a reason she hadn't told me about it. This "Porterhouse" looked similar to the steak I had had years ago at a Waffle House but the quality wasn't near as good and my baked potato was nice and cool. Are conversation during dinner was interrupted by another server changing out our table condiments while explaining he has to do it once a week. A manager came by to see how things were but I realized she didn't really care as she was walking away as she said it. What a horrible dining experience.
Our room was as noisy as could be. Every time anyone in our vicinity flushed we heard it. The noises from the outside street were as if the window was open.
The cherry on top was at check out when we were greeted by another morgue worker told us our total with a straight face and held out her hand for payment. No thank you's or how was your stay. Oh and not to mention I was charged .75 for a phone call made to an in house restaurant.
I went to there web site to write them a complaint but there was no place to do it.
A couple of weeks ago I stayed at the La Quinta in Cleveland and had a quieter room, friendlier staff and a free continental breakfast that shamed the poor excuse of dining at Cafe Mangie at half the price of the Galt House.
What a let down!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Beautiful river view. Lovely. Nice location, access to ped way. Good restaurants, several museums within walking distance.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Louisville
#23 Business Hotel in Louisville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.