We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reedsport
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed for a week while working at a conference held in the hotel. The suite was great. Only downside was it only had a shower, no tub. The location on the river is unique and it is within walking distance of 4th Street Live--where all the major restaurants are located and we had live music on one evening. Deli called Thelmas in the hotel was excellent and very affordable. Trolley (which only costs 50 cents) stops in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    848
    471
    237
    127
See reviews for
467
532
107
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Don't over pay for this hotel, for the $85 I paid, I had a nice clean room with excellent beds. The hotel is older and somewhat remodeld, but the rooms are very large and all have great views. The parking is not that bad and was included in the room rate. It take about 15 minutes to get out of the garage one morning, but this was not usual. The maids did not restock or clean very well on one of the 4 days i stayed there. The higher price rooms in the East Tower are the newer ones but the west tower was fine.The wireless service is free and very good. The food is expensive but many fine places at more reasonable prices can be found withint a few blocks. Try Cunninghams on 4th street.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal OAk, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I stayed 2 nights at the Galt House and had a lovely room with a view of the Ohio River on the 15th floor. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Be careful of the bathroom floor, it is extremely slippery when wet and I fell getting out of the shower. The only drawback was the parking. You had to go through an ordeal getting your parking ticket validated and each time you enter the garage. Signage in the garage is very minimal and it is hard to determine where you need to go and how to exit. Overall I would definately stay again. Wel worht the $50 per night I paid on Price Line. If I had paid $140 a night I would not have been disappointed. I have gotten a lot less room for $140 in other hotels at different destinations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

The Galt House staff was very helpful and friendly. A quick-stop food bar is on the third floor between the two towers and it provided quick service at fairly reasonable prices. It's great when you do not have a lot of time. Rooms in the newer of the two towers are quieter than the older Rivue tower. All day and night in the Rivue you can hear the highway, so select the new tower if you are a very light sleeper. The hotel is by the river where there are many parks and easy walking/running trails. One down side was that they charged $5 to receive my Fedex package.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

I liked the Galt House. It was not cheap, even using hotwire, I paid 143/night, but there were several conventions.
Pros: LOCATION is great, view, clean, friendly, quiet, bed very comfortable with clean sheets every night, coffee maker.
Cons: Fitness center charged $5/day, bar was pretty expensive
Not a pro or a con- the bathroom seemed a little old but very clean.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We booked a last minute weekend online at the Galt House over Labor Day for a very reasonable price and really enjoyed our time there. We stayed in the building across the street and though the rooms didn't look very recently updated, they were nice and very comfortable. We had pretty views of the river and could walk to a festival nearby as well as the restaurants/entertainment at 4th Street Live. The staff was very helpful, providing us with a crib for our daughter. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband and I were really nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews. However, we had a perfectly lovely stay. Our room was very clean, the staff (especially the concierge) was helpful, and we had a river view.
The beds were comfortable, and it felt nice to be somewhere besides a Marriot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#6 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#24 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#27 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#23 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.