We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Ray822
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The rooms are noise machines; the walls are thin and you can hear most conversations in adjoining suites. You can hear people flushing their toilets all night. The Internet was down for almost an entire afternoon my first day. Housekeeping sometimes doesn't show up until 6 pm. They charge you about $5 a day to use their gym. AND they charge you $12 extra to park your car!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    696
    399
    188
    105
See reviews for
386
435
93
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple Terrace, Florida
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed at the Galt House (along with our thirty dearest friends) during the weekend of our son's wedding. The rooms were excellent and the suites were a great value for the difference in cost. The staff of the hotel were friendly and helpful; planning a rehearsal dinner and brunch at the hotel were easily done. The brunch at Rivue was amazing; our guests are still talking about it. The amenities were first-rate; our guests enjoyed the views and equipment at the health club and the third floor Conservatory was a natural gathering spot. We could walk to all the downtown tourist spots with ease. Even the valet parking was quick and efficient. The only negative was the slowness of the elevators in the Rivue Tower (those in the Suite Tower were fine).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

This isdefinately the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The room was small and cold. It smelled of smoke even though it was a no smoking room (sign on the inside of the door). It looked as if the room had not been cleaned in several years! The staff were rude and unhelpfu and just didn't care.I stayed one night and then moved to a better hotel. Whatever you do, don't stay in this hotel. it is a shocking waste of space. i guess, sometimes you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocolicious32
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

When I reserved the room , I was told that I would have a roll out bed, late check out for both days, I could take some of my wedding pictures at the Rivue Restaurant, my room for Sunday night would be the romance on the river package (The Honeymoon Suite). These are the things that sold me on The Galt House. And none of the above happened not to mention before I checked in no one told me that there would be a Beatles Festival going on and there would be music all hours of the night. I think I talked to guest services longer that I slept in those two days. On Sunday, myself and my bridesmaid where supposed to be able to take our pictures in the restaurant. We ended up having to talk to the manager Thad (I believe that's his name) because he had no idea we were told we could do so. We ended up having to rush through the pictures because we were on limited time and it took some time for Thad to be able to ok it situation. After my wedding I wanted to surprise my husband with a very nice room, like the website shows, and we just got a regular old room. No champagne, no roses, no breakfast, no free parking...nothing. I was sooooooo upset, the day before my biggest day of my life I am supposed to be relaxed and stress free. But The Galt House pretty much made my honeymoon night and the night before my wedding a stressful disaster.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

OK, so the construction is not their fault. However, they could have advised me that my window would be facing a huge project underway next door. Cranes and bulldozers started at 6:00AM.

As for the hotel, my room was supposedly nonsmoking but there was a very stale, damp odor to it the whole time. I was in the suite tower and my room was huge, but it also made me wonder how a housekeeper could possibly do a thorough job of cleaning it, especially the shower, which was gigantic. I swear it was the biggest one I've ever seen in my life. Would have been great except that the water didn't drain well and there was very little shower pressure. I also kept wondering how clean the whole thing was.

Other than that, the bar is really cool overlooking the river, but THE SERVICE STUNK! One evening we sat down at a table and were acknowledged with a "head bob" from the waiter, but then he proceeding to organize all of his days receipts and never came to take our order. We got drinks from the bar and consumed them and he still never came to our table.

All in all, this was a very mediocre hotel but it is huge. I'm sure many people stay there because of a convention (hotel has tons of meeting space!), but I would find somewhere newer to stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Some updates have been made recently but only about another $100 million can make a big enough difference. Definately not a hotel for business travel by anyone who regularly travels other major cities on business. Leisure travelers may find it passable, even O.K. You can see the signs of lots of hard partying. Wear and tear everywhere. The entire place smells of mold covered up with tons of air fresheners. My suite was large but very odd, much like the hotel in general. It's locally owned so the staff haven't received the standard corporate hospitality training.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

This has been home base for myself and others during the Derby Half Marathon/Marathon weekend for the past couple of years. The rooms are average and clean, customer service is great (they moved us the night before a race after we realized our room was next to a prom party with DJ) and the size of the hotel handles large crowds well. One year they even had water bottles out for runners checking in. Perfect location as the race's host hotel, as it's walking distance to the expo and packet pickup as well as the starting line shuttle stops. A plus when it's early race day. A short drive from restaurants on Bardstown Road, but close to some downtown eateries and the riverfront.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#20 Business Hotel in Louisville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.