We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galt House stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Galt House stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Visit was 3-nights for business event. Location was good. I did not use all the services but there seemed to be a full spectrum. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room and common areas were clean. I did not eat at the restaurants. Only negatives were the hotel seems a bit in need of a facelift as age shows in rooms and some areas, directions to/from the parking garages was poor and a major inconvenience was a nearly unusable internet. Problem was reported to their service provider 1st day and not resolved. I heard others with issues as well. My overall grade is more accurately (in my opinion) a 3.5.

Room Tip: Not sure about suites but rooms do not have mini-fridge or microwave and the internet. A room that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We've taken note of the issues you encountered and we're always striving for improvement. We apologize for the poor internet connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    843
    466
    234
    127
See reviews for
464
524
106
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Hotel is old, has 2 towers. Tower I was in rooms were quite old and in need of updating but were very clean and functional. I would have no hesitation to staying there again. Bar/lounge on 3 floor is very good. Food in all restaurants is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel shows some signs of age that would normally encourage me to reserve somewhere else but I was staying there for a conference and I'm glad I did. We had a suite, which had huge rooms that you wouldn't find in a modern northeastern hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. This property is more like a campus; multiple huge buildings spanned out across a few blocks. I can't imagine maintaining the property, which appears to have had a few years of neglect but it is clear that the owner is now making incremental improvements to bring it up to date. It's been a long time since I stayed in Louisville so I don't know what else is available but I'd come back to the Galt House.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very large hotel on two sides of the street and the highway runs behind the building and the river which if you have an upper room offers a good view of all the bridges in the area and the water traffic. Belle of Louisville is moored behind the building which is nice if you want a river cruise. An entertainment district is about 6 blocks away which has many bars and restaurants. I liked this hotel as it was expansive and had higher quality furniture than a more modern hotel. Cool shops like a barber shop and jockey silks bourbon bar added to the uniqueness of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take a lot of pride in the uniqueness of our hotel and shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Dried blood on bedding, TV not working, hallway carpets stained and rolled up, bathtub drain VERY slow, splintering wood panel in front of A/C unit, previous guest's used napkin/Kleenex behind nightstand for entire stay (3 nights).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We've taken note of the issues you encountered and we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed at the Galt House for a Pampered Chef conference in July 2014. Location was good..withi walking distance to the conference center. The room was clean, beautiful view. But the temp in the halls and the elevator was stifling. It was frustrating to shower and get all freshened up and then by the time you got on the elevator and downstairs, you needed another shower. The parking garage was confusing, imho. We did not use the walkway to the conference center as we heard that was even more humid. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we've noted the improvements we need to make and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The good:
The location is great, right downtown.
Service was good.
Food in the restaurants was also very good.

The bad;
Housekeeping left a lot to be desired. The carpets in the room were very dirty. I couldn't tell if it was just housekeeping or they were just badly stained and soiled from use.


I have stayed here before and had much nicer rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We've taken note of the issues you encountered and we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#6 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#24 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#11 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#27 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.