We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed in the suite tower. The room was clean and spacious, very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to most downtown restaurants and attractions. I would stay here again if I am ever in the Louisville area.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Tower suites. It is the newer section of the hotel and the rooms are very large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    617
    352
    158
    87
See reviews for
328
370
87
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a great time at our event. Every thing needed is there or close by. This is great for a big city state. Many of the conveniences needed were on site, A short walk to downtown eateries made eating a variety of different meals.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and the great review! We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odell, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very unique and visually appealing as far as the building and lobby...the rooms were dated but clean. Lacked basic amenities (fridge &/ microwave) for a conference center you assume that you would have such items. Shower had great water pressure, beds were very firm but had enough pillows...the higher the floor the better the view...location location location! Booked thru 3rd party wouldn't pay full asking price...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your review! We've taken note of the issues you encountered and we are always striving for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July for business. Room was comfortable. LOVED the Jockey Silks Bourbon tasting bar! Well located within walking distance of lots of restaurants and bars. Would stay here again if I travel to Louisville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for the review and staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed Jockey Silks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I attended a conference for a weekend. Excellent facilities, clean and well kept, and friendly staff in all areas. I would recommend for any type of stay. The staff is very professional and the rooms are roomy and clean. The only thing was there wasn't a micro wave in the room but they made one available when I ask.

Room Tip: Loved the room. Nice and roomy, beds comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we've noted the improvements we need to make and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The location is great being right in town, but the lack of refrigerator and microwave in the rooms was extremely disappointing. I was there for a 3 day conference and that would've come in very handy, and planned to make much use of the fridge and microwave. The lack of complimentary breakfast was also very disappointing, even if this is a "ritzy" establishment. I don't care if it is "low class" to serve a free basic breakfast, if I am going to pay that much to stay somewhere I want a fridge, microwave, and free breakfast.

Room Tip: Get basic amenities like fridge, microwave, and free continental breakfast and I would have enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Our best customers are the ones who offer us feedback that we can improve upon. Thank you for taking time to share about your stay at the Galt House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Worst hotel in Louisville, and I will make sure everyone knows that. Old deteriorating building, wood work looks dated to the 60s. Smells like smoke, Suite tower has apartments in it where people can cook food and stink the whole floor.

Room Tip: Don't ask for river view, you just hear the highway traffic all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We appreciate your review and have noted the criticism. As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#21 Business Hotel in Louisville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.