We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great overall hotel facility. Amazing workout room. Decent hotel room with a terrific view. I would definitely stay here again. The location is one of the better options and the service at the hotel was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    686
    395
    185
    102
See reviews for
378
429
90
751
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hueysville, Ky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First off...The Galt House is located in a very good location. Close to attractions, restaurants, etc. Being attached to the KFC Yum Center is a plus, especially if you enjoy going to concerts and events(Billy Joel in our case). Staff were friendly and room service was great. Would definitely stay here again...Black Keys in September...Maybe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We look forward to hosting you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Galt House is an absolutely wonderful hotel in downtown Louisville, Kentucky. It is clean, nicely situated near the Ohio River, and perfectly located in downtown Louisville near all the touristy locations. They have wonderful service, have all the necessary amenities, and is a perfect site for out-of-town guests for weddings, family reunions, or to take in many of the local attractions and near sites of performing artists. While it is a good hotel for your private functions, it is equally suited for business affairs as well. Your money will be well spent at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed for the KY Derby Mini-Marathon, and had a suite. For the race, it's less than 1 mile from the start.

I thought the room was very inexpensive (less than $180/night, including taxes), especially for the size of the room and location of the hotel. Maybe it's because I live in another part of the country where things are pricier...

Room was clean, comfortable, and staff was friendly and helpful.

It's also a great location, within walking distance of a lot of what you'd go to downtown Lousiville for. It's near the KFC Yum! Center and Lousiville Slugger field, Fourth Street Live! (restaurants and shops, with bands in evenings outdoors, but covered), the Louisville Slugger Museum. It's also only a few miles from Churchill Downs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our location is great for the Derby Marathon. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've stayed at the Galt Hotel three times as part of a Convention. All three times were excellent. The hotel has two towers one with suites and one with regular rooms. The suites are huge with a large sitting room and frig. There are numerous restaurants, bars and stores in the hotel. Jockey Silks Bourbon Bar is part of the Louisville Urban Bourbon Tour. The front desk is very helpful and the service is great. The hotel is connected to the Yum Center and Convention Center by the covered walkway. It is right next to the river and just a few block from 4th Street Live. If you are traveling to Louisville, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, KY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel on a Saturday night in hopes of having a relaxing, romantic weekend on a hotel overlooking the Ohio river. We got neither. In fact, the very opposite. We returned to the Galt House after dinner to discover that about 250 yards from our room, a concert was taking place. A loud concert. A concert that literally shook our windows. At first I thought, "No big deal. It's Saturday night in downtown Louisville. I'm sure it'll be over by 10 and we'll be able to enjoy ourselves and get sleep."

Wishful thinking.

Once 10:00 rolled around, and the concert was still going full swing, I called the front desk. The girl up there told me it would be over by 11:00. I grudgingly said "Ok" and waited patiently for 11:00. Again, this music was shaking the walls of our room. We couldn't even watch television properly because it was so loud. 11:00 came and guess what? The concert was still going full blast. I called again, and this time was transferred to security. They said, "They're probably just winding down. I'm sure it'll be over definitely by 12:00, it's supposed to be 11:00." At this point, I was angry. But again, we waited. At 11:45 I called and asked for the manager on duty. I told her that we would be requesting a refund. I said that we were told this concert was supposed to be over by 11:00. She said "I don't know who told you that, but it's actually midnight."

You can imagine my sentiments toward that. I understand that the Galt House can't control what goes on outside their facility; however, they market this place as a relaxing, accommodating place. Nothing could be further from the truth. My wife ended up with a headache (which came from a combination of the music, horrible pillows, and back-aching beds) that made her just want to go home. There should have been some sort of notification that that we literally wouldn't be able to think straight until midnight.

The only reasons that it doesn't get a 1-star is that the rooms are relatively clean, and the staff seemed friendly. That's their only salvation.

In other words, we will never stay at the Galt House again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
We're sorry to hear that. While we can't control the public park located next door, we can inform our guest better and we will address this with our staff. We apologize and hope that you'll give us another chance someday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here in conjunction with a convention also held on the property - and it was an excellent experience. The check-in process went smoothly, as they had sufficient staff at the desk. The room I had was awesome and not what I was expecting - it was actually a suite and the equivalent of an "Embassy Suites-type" suite with separate bedroom, bathroom and spaces, nice-sized living room area and kitchenette. For a week's stay, and sharing with a roommate, it was absolutely awesome to have the extra rooms, space, and refrigerator, etc. I would definitely stay here again! The room was on 12th floor with an Ohio River view (side view - but still very nice view). The hotel property is actually two towers, with a road between, but with a glass conservatory/lobby space tying the two building together and a walk-through; the property sits directly on the shores of the Ohio River with a patio access to the river, and also conveniently downtown no more than about 6 blocks in any direction to practically everything downtown Louisville. Loved the convenience of location. The beds were wonderful! This is a historic hotel with a classical ambience but totally undated with latest conveniences. The elevator lobby on each floor is more spacious than entire hotel lobbies in some hotels - and there was always an elevator waiting [bank of 6 elevators!]

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room (if there is a difference) and a river view is nice, near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! We hope we get the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#20 Business Hotel in Louisville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.