We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galt House Louisville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Galt House Louisville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Galt House this last weekend for a business conference. Right downtown and a 10 min walk via an enclosed walkway/bridge to 4th Street Live. Our room was in the towers that has regular rooms. Room was large with 2 queens, bright and sunny facing the other tower. Clean & comfortable but a bit dated. There was no fan (i like white noise) but the hotel hallways weren't loud. The skybridge on the 3rd floor connecting both towers was great and easy access as the hotel is very large. There was breakfast there in the morning at Thelma's (not overly friendly staff but they are busy!), a bar lounge area as well. it was quite busy as there was free wifi. I was told it was $5.99 a day for wifi so we used the lounge area.Parking was easy but a a very long walk to our room due to the the size of this place. All in all a nice place to stay at the conference rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    697
    400
    189
    105
See reviews for
386
438
93
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently stayed here for a weekend away. This hotel is nice, but definitely has its cons. By the time we found a place to park in the parking garage ($12 a night), found the elevator, and checked in, we had wasted nearly an hour. The lady at the front desk was nice and informed us that our room was in the other tower. It took us a little while to figure out how to get over there. Our room was clean, but could definitely use some updating/tlc. The carpet in the room didn't look particularly clean and the furniture was worn. The double vanities were nice in the bathroom area and the beds were comfy. We all agreed that this was one of the first hotels were have stayed at where we felt the linens were actually clean. The best part of this hotel was that it was only a few blocks from Fourth Street. The walls are thin, so we listened to the neighbors dog bark all night long. The only complaint I had was the next morning when it was time to check out. We left our room 20 minutes prior to check out time and literally waited for an elevator for 25 minutes because every one that would stock was completely full. When we finally made it down to the lobby, we had to wait another 30 minutes just to check out. Then we waited 20 more minutes to get out of the parking garage. I have never spent so much time trying to leave a hotel in my life. Luckily we didn't have to be anywhere at a certain time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I worked at the Galt House in the 80's it was dark and dated. I was happy to see they have renovated, everything was nice and bright. Can't wait to come up to see friends and stay again. Our view was of a roof and parking garage, next time I will ask for a room with a view of the river.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at the Galt House in L'ville for a conference in October 2013. The hotel is extremely large and housed in multiple buildings. It had several conferences running simultaneously while I was there, and clearly the hotel has adequate capacity for large numbers of people. Our room was in the tower that contained regular rooms, not the suites. There was a sky bridge between the two buildings which made movement between them easy and convenient during the chilly days I was there. There was also an inside path through numerous sky bridges and buildings that led from the Galt to 4th Street Live (the restaurant/shopping/entertainment area a few blocks away). Our room was a king, reasonably comfortable and clean, but dated and without many amenities. No in room safe, no fridge. Bed was cozy and clean. Other room furniture was older but in adequate repair. We ordered room service which was prompt, but the food was very so-so. We ordered cookies and milk and one cookie was nearly burnt black and the other was gooey and under cooked. Internet access was free, but horrible. Wi-fi signal in the room was inconsistent and dropped frequently. It was tough to get work done between conference meetings. Room rate was reasonable, but based on a conference rate. Tough to recommend this hotel for a purpose other than a conference- but fine for that purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a student conference here; it was a beautiful location, perfectly nestled down town, lots of room for the conference. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and the staff was very attentive, responsive and friendly! The only complaints that I have are that there is no free internet except in the lobby; our conference was supposed to have complimentary internet, but the password/login combo didn't work the whole weekend. Also, the fitness center charged $5/day to be used, and so even though I am an avid early morning work out person, I didn't feel like $5 for less than an hour would be worth it. Finally, the restaurant looked excellent, but was very expensive on a grad student budget--$30/plate. It was a little inconvenient that we had to walk downtown with the cold weather, but other than those small complaints it was a good stay in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
809 reviews 809 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
615 helpful votes 615 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had never stayed at the Galt House before and booked six rooms for our group based on the hotel's location in downtown Louisville adjacent to the Ohio River. I had originally booked the "deluxe two queen" room ($135/night on a Friday night) but when we went to our rooms we founds ourselves in an Executive Suite with a large bedroom with two queen beds, a very large bathroom and an even larger separate living room. It was one of the largest rooms I've every stayed in! (We stayed in room 698 of the Suite Tower.)

This was the best part of our stay. The hotel and the rooms did feel a little dated (though were quite clean) and the service somewhat lacking (there was an enormous lineup at checkin and the staff at Thelma's were downright surly).

If you can get an upgrade then this is a greta place to stay.

Room Tip: An Executive Suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is not the first time that we have stayed @ the Galt House. I can honestly say that it may be a little pricier than some places but you cannot find a better Staff for ANY price! they are very courteous & professional w/o being "stuffy". Their location on the Riverfront makes for easy access to many Downtown venues as well as SPECTACULAR views from the upper floors. We'll definitely stay here again. The only complaint we can find is the high fee for in-room wireless access.

Room Tip: Corner suites on the north side upper floors of the Rivue Tower are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
#21 Business Hotel in Louisville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.