We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could of been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could of been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

stayed for four nights during a convention, had to call down for more towels, registered for 4 in a room supplies were for 3 people, ice machine on floor was broke called 3 times before was repaired and it was the night before we left. Think we just had a bad house keeper because for being there for 4 nights we noticed things were not cleaned very well. Didn't appreciated the excuse of their was a convention in town, Louiseville holds many conventions so they should be prepared for this. Had to have a package sent to me at the hotel and I was charged for picking up the package, don't know if that was a hotel policy. But on the good side this is a great location and I would like to stay there again, thinking maybe just a bad week for the staff. When speaking to the main desk they were very helpful and friendly.,

Room Tip: Ask for water view if possible, nice to look at in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    617
    352
    158
    87
See reviews for
329
370
87
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here at this hotel for the Ironman competition. The service was professional and very nice. The hotel was booked solid and they managed the crowds and service with a smile. We did not eat at the hotel. The room we reserved was a suite and it was large and clean. Beds were comfortable. The location is great as it is on the water and easy to reach the main attractions by walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Galt while attending the Louisville/Ohio Football game. The location is great - close to restaurants and shopping on 4th St. We had a 11th floor room that overlooked the Ohio river - view was great - beds comfortable, AC cool. The hotel is a little older but well maintained. Walk along river and lots of activities going on. Had breakfast in Cafe Magnolia - buffet. Cooked to order omelet was great. Nice overall stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors have great view of Ohio River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at this hotel! Rooms were very clean and it was in a great location. However, if you didn't want to leave the hotel you wouldn't have to because they had a few nice places inside the hotel to eat and drink. If I had to complain about one thing... It would be the parking and checking in. It was a bit confusing but we figured it out! Also, the parking is $12 a night which wasn't a shock to us but might be to some people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked two suites for a Bachelorette Party was told one price but at check in, we were surprised to find the rate quite a bit cheaper then what was quoted! The two suites were adjoining which was great. There were sixteen of us and believe it or not with that many there was still plenty of room. Rooms were clean and staff was very friendly. I have stayed here before in the past and will continues to keep coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in a Triple Crown Suite for a conference.

The room (and the hotel in general) was very clean and well-kept. Amenities were top-notch. I particularly liked the Al J's bar on the bridge and their staff - very helpful and friendly and fast.

I have two small nits to pick. First, the air conditioning in the suite was rather loud, but quite effective. Second, the room service menu was a bit hit-or-miss and it seems that the copy in my room was out of date.

I intend to stay here with my wife when we return to Louisville to visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a great experience! The hotel is HUGE and just steps away from 4th street(save money and book this hotel instead of the ones that are right next door to 4th street) Galt House is literally steps away and cheaper. Its located near restaurants and nightlife so if you are able to walk a few blocks here and there, you'll live. The staff was great. Room was clean and updated. Bathroom was large and clean. I honestly have no complaints. A lot of negative reviews I read are just picky people looking for SOMETHING to complain about. No hotel is perfect. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#21 Business Hotel in Louisville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel And Suites
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.