We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Customer Service, Bourbon and Location with Average Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galt House Hotel to your Saves list
Galt House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above Average Customer Service, Bourbon and Location with Average Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were at the Galt house this summer for a convention with our family. I never expect too much from a large-operation hotel, but this hotel gives out a warm vibe. I'll get the negative out of the way first. We were placed in the tower that didn't have the outdoor swimming pool (which was a downer for our 7 year old) and a floor that smelled strongly of smoke when we got off the elevator. I wasn't super excited. I went downstairs to confirm their "no-smoking" policy, and here is where the positive starts, the woman who helped us not only immediately changed us to a different room, but took one look at our 7 year old and promptly switched us to a room closer to the pool, AND THEN, upgraded us to a top floor suite with a spectacular view of the river and downtown area! Granted, the suite room wasn't an updated room, but the view and extra room was absolutely worth it. I should mention that most rooms at the Galt House are updated and they also indeed do not allow smoking. Now, on to the other positive...the bourbon. Louisville is more than just the Kentucky Derby. It boasts a fantastic "Urban-Bourbon Trail" that we highly recommend for those who enjoy bourbon (and even fun for those like me who find it just "ok"). The Galt House is part of this trail with the in-house bourbon bar "Jockey Silks" and has the most impressive bourbon selection! The bartender gave my husband a taste of a rare and no-longer-available bourbon that even made a skeptic (me) a believer. Again, the customer service was over-the-top. If you are in Louisville, this historic hotel delivers.

(As a side note, the outdoor pool area was fun for our daughter because she is a fish, but it didn't have the ambiance that a Florida-girl is used to. In fact, the freeway noise was our background music. It doesn't change my rating or review, but thought it was worth mentioning.)

Room Tip: Families interested in swimming should choose the tower w/ the outdoor swimming pool. You can reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that we were able to address the issue with your original room and make your family's stay in Louisville a positive one. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    844
    466
    234
    127
See reviews for
465
525
106
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Galt house, while visiting family over Christmas. We wanted a night away on my birthday and man did we get a great night!! We arrived late, around 9pm, so a lot of the restaurants inside the hotel were closed but there was a cute café open late with food and the bar was open as well. We got an amazing room, overlooking the Ohio river, which is BEAUTIFUL at night!! And we had the most comfortable king size bed as well as a huge bathroom. The ONLY downside was that you have to pay extra for wifi and parking but since we were only there for 1 night, it didn't bother us. The staff was very friendly and helped us out when we were trying to figure out what bars to go to that night in Louisville. We would stay there again in a heartbeat ... everything was amazing, clean, and everyone was so friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy to have been a part of your birthday celebration. Happy Birthday! Next time you're in Louisville, stop by and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during the AVCA convention. Love how the hotel is connected to the convention center and KFC arena by the Louie Walk system which keeps you indoors as you go from building to building. Good service. Clean rooms. Large bathrooms. 4 elevators. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed your conference and will have the opportunity to come back and visit Louisville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

At Christmas the Galt House is transformed. Bellhops created a dance which they do with great gusto at 5. Some come in on their day off to perform. And the second floor is transformed by Chinese artists into the most incredible display I've ever seen. Colorful silk, lights, imagination, and sheer size make the Kaleidoscope worth the trip to Kentucky if there were nothing else. The staff at the Galt is friendly and helpful and proud of their special Christmas transformation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for making us part of your holiday experience! We are so glad to hear you had a fantastic time. Please come back and see us again next year for Christmas at the Galt House Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Old rooms. Very great service. Everyone was very polite and helped us out a great deal. The rooms could've used a little bit of a touch up, they're kind of old, old appliances too. Old alarm clock, old tv etc.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Galt House because of Priceline deal of the day. Really was no deal. I would expect an upscale hotel to include parking and Internet. Not warned ahead of hidden charges. Maid wanted to clean room at 8:45 am. If I sound crabby it's because I only got 4 hours of sleep. Between the noise of flushing toilets and highway noise, spent most of my night sleeping with a pillow over my head. Shower drain was clogged and showered in an inch of water... yuck. Beautiful building with great decorations for Christmas, but not great sleeping accommodations. Disappointing. Do it again? Probably not. Overnight stay started at $57.00 and ended up over $100.00. I think I could have done better. Not sure if I'd use Priceline again. Always unexpected gotchas that I hate. I have never had that problem with Hotwire. Guess lesson learned. This is a two and a half star hotel accommodation with a five star lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are sorry your stay did not meet expectations. We value your feedback and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#6 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#24 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#27 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galt House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.