We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for Louisville” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breckinridge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Breckinridge Inn to your Saves list
Breckinridge Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Breckinridge Lane, Louisville, KY 40220 (East Louisville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good value for Louisville”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were going to Church nearby, so the location was excellent for us. The room was fine - but the live band in the lounge played pretty late into the night - It seems like most of the guests liked it. It worked out fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    48
    28
    29
See reviews for
89
48
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

At first glance Breckinridge inn looks OK; but from the moment I checked inn it went downhill.
The person at the front desk acted as if I was interrupting something important when I checked in, a performance that was repeated throughout my stay (if you could find someone at the desk).
Next the room, for a person over 6ft tall it was easy to see they never dusted the tops of anything, and worse there was dried flem in the bathroom sink! The room felt crowded and uncomfortable, worse the internet did not work forcing me to go to a coffee shop to to send and recieve important e-mails.
I spent 2 days there then went to another hotel I stayed at previously that was cheaper with better sevice just no pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a tight budget for our trip to Kentucky, so we wanted to spend less than $60 a night, but we were not sure what to expect for that price. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, we had a King bed. I found the mattress a bit stiff, but I also like my mattresses softer than most people, and my husband did not have a problem with it. They have a flat screen tv with a good selection of cable channels, plus two HBO channels. They also have free wi-fi which seems rare these days. The only downside is that the walls seemed a bit thin, because we could hear everything going on in the hall and the room next door. It is possible we just had especially noisy neighbors, though, and the hallway noise could probably be avoided by asking for a room on the second floor.

My husband and I like to go lap swimming several times a week, so we were really glad that they have an indoor pool with lap lanes. It is just short of 25 meters, maybe 22? Half of the pool is for lap swimming and half is for leisure. The pool was quite warm, which is probably really nice if you are just floating and relaxing, but was a bit warm for lap swimming. We still appreciated having lap lanes, though. Be aware that people in the area can buy memberships, and so the pool can get a bit busy. If you come around 5pm, be prepared to wait for a lane, especially since it seems like some people reserve lanes for people who do not appear to be waiting, so it is hard to know when you will be able to use a lane. If you go in the middle of the day, though, you will probably not have to wait long if at all. They also have a nice hot tub there, and it is a good place to talk to people that live nearby to learn about the area.

The breakfast is okay, it is mainly cold items like bagels and cereal, but they do have hot biscuits with gravy, which my husband thought were good. Plus it is free so it is hard to complain.

The hotel is located about 15 minutes from downtown, but it is right off the freeway so it is easy to get there. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby, especially if you go into St. Matthews. You will find a good combination of chains and independent restaurants there, and a lot of ethnic food. There is also a bar in the hotel, which was nice. The bartenders were friendly and they had a good selection at a reasonable price. We were there on a weekday, but apparently if you go on weekend there is a cover and a 2 drink minimum, because they have live entertainment, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The stay at Breckinridge Inn was fraught with many difficulties that made for an unpleasant stay (having to make both beds after finding hairs in the sheets and duvet covers because housekeeping had gone for the day, and other things). After emailing the General Manager concerning my displeasure, she immediately replied and did the best she could to make the situation better. Quite grateful that she did make an effort, because I really did not want to post the pics I took of everything that was wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel room to be far from the live band, if you're looking to sleep at night. Band s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is located convenient to Interstate 65. It is well very kept up and an incredible value. A spacious room with two double beds was $62 plus tax. The free breakfast was average, nothing special. I was traveling with my dog and the hotel is very pet friendly. The only problem we encountered was that the water level on the commode was too high.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My family and I were very pleased when we found this hotel. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast was included, cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, bagels, biscuits with gravy, apple juice, orange juice, it was a great start to the day.

Then there was the pool with a lifeguard on duty: it has lanes for those doing laps, my family stuck to the 3foot area which was great for my 5-year-old. The pool was warmer than most hotel pools I've been in. There was a hot tub which was very nice. There was also a steam room and a gym, but we didn't take advantage of those.

We were impressed with this hotel, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breckinridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckinridge Inn

Address: 2800 Breckinridge Lane, Louisville, KY 40220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breckinridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Breckinridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckinridge Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breckinridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.