We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #75 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This motel needs a renovation. It's clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. That's the good part of this review. Here's the not so good.
1. The elevator was very slow and seemed to take forever to get anywhere.
2. The a/c in our room was off when we arrived. It was very hot and we were very tired...not a good combination. We turned it on high cool and constant fan immediately and our room never got really comfortable. When we closed the door to the bedroom, we had to turn on a fan in the wall to get cool air into the sitting area. It didn't do a very good job. And even though we had it on constant fan, the a/c would still turn off.
3. They had just installed new televisions in the rooms and empty boxes greeted us as we got off the elevator on our floor. It was difficult to maneuver the luggage cart around the boxes. I don't know what kind of cable or satellite system this motel uses, but the channel numbers were totally weird. The station guide didn't match anything and when we called for assistance, the staff person that came didn't know the channel numbers either!
4. The breakfast area was clean, but breakfast was nothing special or inviting to tired people on a long trip.
5. The heated pool was not heated. It used to be an outdoor pool and they have enclosed it to make it an indoor pool. It could also use some renovations. Parts of the bottom and sides were flaking off. The door to the pool couldn't be closed or you'd be stuck in there. They have a half brick there to prop open the door.
We stayed here on our return trip because it was clean. I didn't bother with the pool and we didn't stay for breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you found our hotel was clean and the employees friendly. I do regret though, that your stay was less than satisfactory.
I sincerly appologize that the TV boxes were in the way of getting to your room. We did try to keep them out of the way. I do hope you give us another chance to gain your confidence. We hope to accommodate you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    23
    9
    20
See reviews for
14
16
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This property would do well to undergo a facelift. The outside looks nice enough, the lobby and breakfast area is nice. But the hallways and rooms could use some serious maintenance: painting, cleaning, carpet refreshed. The rooms were clean but the disrepair of the walls, carpet and such detract from the cleanliness.
The pull out beds were scarey at best and there is no bedding in the rooms for them. One bed had a metal piece sticking out from it and one of our kids got cut by it.
The plus: the staff was very friendly and tried to be accommodating. However, this property does not speak well for Comfort Inn and Suites, typically a nicer Choice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at Comfort Inn and Suites. I do sincerly appologize for the bad experience. The bed has been taken care of. I'm so sorry for the accident.
It is good to hear that the staff was accommodating and friendly. We appreciate you taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. Please know all responses are taken seriously, and every effort to take care of these types of problems.
Again, thank you for your time. It Is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for one night while attending events at the fairground. After reading the reviews we were creeped out and did not want to stay there. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. There is some deferred maintenance and carpet could be replaced but it is much cleaner and nicer than we expected. We saw no sign of bugs or anything. It is one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time. Sausage, gravy and bisquit, eggs, waffles, yogurt, Danish, coffee, juices milk etc. Very clean dining room, clean looking kitchen area, (I check it after the terrible reviews) and friendly staff. We had no problem and would stay here again. It's not a resort but is very reasonable priced and cleaner than some people's homes I have visited...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello. Thank you so much for the kind response. We appreciate you taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. It's good to know someone is checking our work. It lets us know if there is need of improvement, or we are doing a good job.
It's always welcoming to know we are doing satisfactory work. Look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here one night. We chose the hotel because it was close to the fairgrounds since we were showing at a horse show. We were worried that it was going to be really bad after looking at the reviews. It did have stains on the carpet and it does need updating. Some areas could be cleaner, but overall it was fine. The breakfast was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback as to what we can do to improve our guests stay. Glad to know you had a pleasant experience. Please be assured the comments are taken seriously. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I don't understand all the bad reviews. Stayed here June 22 on way to Chicago area. Found suite to be comfortable and clean and at a very good price. Maybe I got the one room in all of the hotel that was not worn and or dirty, but I don't think so. Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at Comfort Inn and Suites. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. It's always good to hear we are doing a good job. Look forward to you coming back through town soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My friend booked this hotel, we just needed a one night stay close to the Expo. First, do not believe any excellent reviews, they must have been referring to the other Comfort Inn in Louisville which is probably very nice. Based on the pictures of bedbugs here, we checked thoroughly in our room. No sign of them, just stains and cigarette burns. This is nonsmoking, but onlyin the past fewyears..it did not smell like smoke just evidence of burn holes on covers. The sofabed is really uninhabitable, I asked for extra blankets to help the girls get rest before a big day of competition, the bed was broken somehow and they were troopers...our option was to leave our friends here and stay at Springhill Suites acoss the way, (much nicer and a bit cheaper!) but we really did not want to leave our friends here alone.
Signs posted park atyour own risk, saw more than a few miscreants around the hotel that made me fear for the safety of our car..the owner, very nice, was missing in action atleast three times...he was the only one working! He also doubled as the shuttle driver, so when he would take the oundtrip to the airport no one was there to check guests in...I was able to hear the complaints of those waiting...A/C not working, no linens for sofabed, toilet stopped up. When we checked in our toilet would not flush, I went to the front desk, the owner had to retrieve his solitary plunger from another guest and expected me to plunge it and said I needed to return it quickly.
My friend noticed a workout room and knew I loved to workout, hoping o find something redeeming. The one treadmill was over 20 years old, buttons did not work...really? The weight machine's cables were broken. I told the owner about the broken units, he just smiled and said, "everything is regularly maintained." This hotel should be looked into by the state hotel licensing board...to leave a hotel unattended with no workers while he drives o the airport should beillegal. Do not stay here. Oh, and each time I saw him fulfill a request for blankets he was apparently running to unoccupied rooms to get them..only two cars in parking lot when we pulled up at 6 pm...all other hotels had full parking lots...save your money and sleep well elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I want to sincerly appologize for your bad experience. The problems have been addressed. I do hope the next time you come back through town you will give us another chance.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It will keep us on our toes. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The check in person was pleasant but this place had a run-down look and feel. Our beds were comfortable but the carpet and furniture were worn and dingy. We couldn't find any way to shower in the accessible bathroom without flooding the whole room. The breakfast was scanty with the coffee pot empty by 8:00 am. We expect better from a hotel in this chain.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicap accessible one if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna F, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for responding on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback. I truly appologize your stay was less than perfect. I do hope you will be coming back through town soon and give us another chance to make your next stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo

Address: 653 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Airport & Expo
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.