We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What A Difference!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow! What A Difference!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

I had stayed here several times when this hotel was the Executive West, and I can hardly believe the transformation. The lobby, meeting rooms, guest rooms, and restaurant--everything was tastefully decorated and immaculate. A colleague and I attended a conference in October 2009, and we were more than pleased with facilities. The beds were really comfortable, and the amenities were more than adequate. I am usually unimpressed with the banquet/luncheon food at hotels, but everything was a delicious, beautiful, and very elegant. If you stay here and eat at the Blue Horse Cafe, be sure and order the Blue Horse Salad--it was one of the best salads I've ever eaten. Don't hesitate to stay Crown Plaza near the airport in Louisville or to book it for your next event. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    123
    60
    33
    19
See reviews for
82
49
16
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
INDIANA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel 2 years ago....when it was..EXECUTIVE INN WEST....But what a change..I'm talking about a complete change....EVERYTHING new....beautiful lobby, VERY friendly bar and great friendly staff everywhere you turned., and most importantly comfortable beds..

Hotel was dark and old before....but when you walk into the lobby and the guestrooms....WOW. Very stylish

For the money....BEST DEAL IN LOUISVILLE.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years when it was Executive West as part of the National Fishing Lure Collectors Club and always found it accomodating. NOT THIS TIME! It started at check -in when the front desk clerk couldn't seem to find our reservation for adjoining rooms on the floor that we had requested almost a year in advance. In fact she couldn't even commit to adjoining rooms at all. Even after I showed her my printed confirmation. She said the problem was because I had made the reservations through the reservation line and not the front desk. ??? I explained someone from the hotel had called me a week prior to our arrival to confirm the spelling of the last name for the colleague we wanted to be placed near so I knew that someone must have been trying to place us then. She just kept clicking away on the keyboard and making excuses for why she couldn't help us. Needless to say after a 12 hour drive to get there I was on my last nerve and demanded to speak to a manager. The manager was apologetic but only slightly more helpful. She did manage to find us an adjoining room on the 6th floor (we had requested 1st floor near our friends). It only got worse from there. Had to wait 30 minutes for a bell cart to unload all our tackle because they only had one guy on duty even though the hotel was completely sold out. There was no refrigerator in the room as requested, they sent one up but it didn't work. Finally replaced it and again the manager apologized and offered to comp it for us. One elevator did not work for the first two days we were there so that forced everyone to wait and squeeze in to the remaining two - one of which was a very long walk from the area of hotel we were in. Then they decided to work on the elevator during the middle of the night which kept everyone awake. One evening we attempted to eat at the buffet for dinner and discovered that unless you were there when they first started serving you were out of luck because they did not replenish the food - oh, they kept saying they were but after 30 minutes we gave up, had we known this at the beginning we would have ordered from the menu - that is if a server had ever come to wait on us. Next morning breakfast buffet same thing - we were seated and after 30 minutes no one had come to take our drink orders. Manager comped our breakfast. Our last night there we decided to give it one more try - the hostess seated us and took our order, we all three ordered salads thinking it would be fast. Well we were wrong again. After 30 minutes still no salads but to make matters worse the couple that sat down beside us and ordered the exact same thing we did and received their salads and a server had still never even stopped at our table. We stormed out with the hostess apologizing. I stopped at the front desk to register a complaint and once again found the same manager who again apologized and offered to comp us a meal. I explained to her that we did not want our meals comped we just wanted some service. I also suggested that she must get very tired of apologizing for the poor service throughout the hotel. Many of our friends complained about the same poor service even citing that one night the buffet had bar b que short ribs and after waiting quite awhile for someone to replace them discovered that they were McRiblets!! I will ad that I asked several times to speak to the general manager John Shake and no one could ever find him for me. Maybe he will show up at some point and realize that his customer service is totally lacking and that everyone is too busy trying to blame someone else instead of taking care of the guests. I hope that by the time our club plans a convention at this hotel again either management, personnel or customer service skills improve!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed at the Executive Inn West for many years while attending the National Quartet Convention in September. With a $50.00 pet fee our small Boston Terrier was always a welcome guest. Now that this is a Crowne Plaza property the pet fee has increased to $250.00! We will be staying at a truly pet-friendly property from now on. Can only recommend Crowne Plaza Louisville for non-pet travelers.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel was obviously designed for convention business and not the casual traveler. It is extremely spread out and was loud even late at night. The staff was very pleasant. The room was a normal Crowne Plaza room but did not include the amenities they are known for such as the sleeping mask, ear plugs, etc. when in truth this was the only CP I have stayed at in which they would have been useful. Overall the hotel is very convenient to the airport and expo center and would be a great place to have a meeting or stay before flying out but I would not use it for leisure travel or stay if you are looking for personal service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, KY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Long-time visitors to the Crowne Plaza-Louisville may remember it as the Executive Inn West , located almost a stone's throw from Louisville International Airport. While the exterior facade looks virtually unchanged from the old Exec Inn West, it is estimated that the new owners have invested about $26 million to transforming this property into the Crowne Plaza -- and it shows. Most of the 1970's look is gone (though you can still see a hint of it here and there)...rooms have been noticably updated and upgraded, with comfortable beds, HDTV', WiFi and comfortable work areas. The bathrooms appear to remain small, but very functional. The conference facilities have been spruced-up, along with an updated restaurant and lounge ("Blue Horse Cafe"). The food was very good, though not remarkable, but the staff service at all levels was professional and friendly.

Things have definitely improved at the new Crowne Plaza-Louisville....give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We just returned from Louisville and a stay at the Crowne Plaza. We didn't check in till around 8pm and I truly wish we would have arrived earlier to take advantage of all the amenities the hotel offered. We were on the first floor and walked right out into the courtyard leading to the pool area. The pool was exceptionally large and they even had a lifeguard on duty. The grounds, courtyard, and pool area were exceptionally clean, well maintained and landscaped nicely. Because we all were starving, the kids swam briefly and we headed for dinner at the Blue Horse Cafe (the hotel restaurant.) It was around 9:30, we were the only customers, and the dining area closed at 10pm. They didn't rush us, wait staff took very good care of us and the food was excellent, although a bit pricy, but for the convenience of eating right there, rather than searching for a restaurant, it was worth it. The hotel room was large, nicely furnished, very clean, great beds and pillows...everything was exceptional. We even had a roll-away bed for our youngest and still had enough space for all of us. I noticed the people in the room beside of us leaving the next morning and realized I heard absolutely no noise from above or beside us during our stay. The staff was exceptionally helpful with directions, questions, requests of a roll-away, etc. I would return to the Crowne Plaza anytime and I'm just sorry we weren't able to stay longer and take advantage of the great pool and accomodations for a few more days.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Address: 830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.