We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a Problem at Crowne Plaza Louisville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Corydon, IN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Never a Problem at Crowne Plaza Louisville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have stayed here many times when taking an early flight out of Louisville airport. Was even able to leave my car there while on trip, which really saves on the parking at airport.
Hot coffee in the lobby very early and shuttle ride to airport is greatly appreciated.
This is the closest hotel to the airport, so no potential for traffic jam getting there. I am glad to see the hotel is continually upgrading the facility. Bed was comfortable, room quiet.
The only difficulty this time around was the room was handicap accessible and the water from the roll/walk in shower floods the entire bathroom floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you are able to take advantage of our Park and Fly promotion, we do hope that you will take advantage whenever flying out of Louisville. We look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    112
    54
    31
    17
See reviews for
75
45
15
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union, Ohio
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Point A to point B can be a very long walk here. When we checked in we did not get the room we had reserved with a pre pay on line. When we called the desk they had no note of us asking for a handicap room. I went to the front desk with a copy of my reservation and the front desk took care of the matter right away. They had to upgrade us to a suite which we did not mind. The food in this hotel is very very good and at decent price for a hotel. If we would be in the area again we would not think twice about staying here,

Room Tip: Double check your room on check in to make sure you got what you reserved
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review, we are so sorry for the reservation error that you encountered during your recent stay and we thank you for being so understanding about the error, we do hope that you will return again and are able to enjoy another great meal in the Blue Horse Restaurant.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was just at the Crowne Plaza in Louisville for PokeCon from July 19th-21st.. first let me start off with the rate.. I know the usual nightly rate is somewhere around $130 but for the con it was $89 + tax per night which was incredible.. Now the hotel itself is gorgeous, the staff is so friendly and helpful, the hotel is quite spacious even with over 2,000 people at the Con I didn't feel crowded.. I know the hotel is next to the airport but I only ever heard one plane fly over head. It was there and then it wasn't. Not annoying or anything.. it's to be expected being next to an airport but i was surprised with how quiet it was. The beds are nothing too fancy but they are clean and extremely comfortable.. you will just melt into the pillows. I did notice a couple cosmetic blemishes with my room but all in all it wasn't big enough to cause a fuss over. The Blue Horse Bar is delicious and the staff there is quite friendly as well. it was a very enjoyable trip and I hope that Sukoshicon returns there next summer. i know if they do I will be reserving a room again. (also I never used any spa so that's why I'm not giving it a rating.. I'm not rating something I never used)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as much as you enjoyed your stay, the staff LOVED having you, this is the first time we hosted your group and we are still talking about all the great people and what looked like a good time had by all, we do hope that your group deciides to stay with us again next year. Thank you again, we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and comfortable, but not spectacular. Still, a comfortable, safe, helpful place for people passing through town with kids. Extra points for the friendliest front desk staff I've ever met.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank YOU! for your great review, we are so pleased you found us to be clean and comfortable.. and thank you for your kind words regarding out Front Desk Team.. i have passed your comments on them so that they know they are doing a great job.. we do hope that you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Horrible experience. Room was big but that's about it. Old furniture, very dirty , sleeper sofa not for use but if you like to sleep on springs...it's perfect . Very loud at night .Someone was trying to get to our room in the middle of the night using the rooms connecting doors. Asked for extra bath towels..got it one hour later ..hand towels !!!! Bartender at the lobby bar very unpleasent..asked for glass of white wine , he said that he's not going to open one for me because they closing in 10 minutes.. fine.. Hotel restaurant served mediocre food; served only strawberries cream cheese , no jam at all .Over priced ! People at front desk realy didn't care if you are IHG Rewards Club Member...just "live me alone" attitude .. well, weather was nice for a change..we got some sunshine outside because inside was really cloudy and unpleasant .. . Thank you ..will not be back .

Room Tip: There is a small fridge in the room . Hotel is close to airport and highway ...24 hrs. of notori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airport. On Behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the problems encountered in your room during your recent stay in our hotel. It is the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airports’ goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us, the feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airport, we appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in a comfortable, well- appointed king room with a quality mattress,linens, pillows, and an inviting duvet covered comforter. I had a very good night sleep! I felt very comfortable. The bathroom in the king room offered a separate sink in a dressing area with a
hairdryer, and magnifying mirror. The bath towels were soft and plush. The water pressure was good and the water was appropriately hot and cold as needed. The hotel lotion , shampoo and conditioner were of a good quality.
The floors, carpets were sparkling clean and well maintained as well the hotel common areas including the sparkling floors in the well appointed lobby. In the Blue Horse Cafe, I enjoyed a delicious Sunday Brunch that offered a wide variety of well prepared brunch items including delicous fresh fruit and berries. The wait staff were courteous and accommodating. My contact with the rest of the staff was pleasant as they offered southern hospitality and went out of their way to be helpful with a smile.
There was a convenient , free shuttle to a nearby restaurant after I returned my rental car and the next morning they supplied a pleasant, quick ride to the airport . I was on my way feeling content after enjoying the staff at Crowne Plaza 's good service and refreshed after enjoying a good night's sleep .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel.. we do so hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is on Baptist East Hospital website as an arranged partner for out of town family members of patients. First on check in we had to educate the front staff on their management’s arrangements and agreement on price with Baptist East via the website. Only one elevator at the rear of the hotel will operate for all floors. Other elevators only go half way up the facility floors so if staying get ready to be a mouse in a maze. For Louisville, it’s the better of where to stay but really is just an oversized Comfort Inn with employees wearing suits. We arranged a late checkout for Sunday as we are from Chicago and needed to spend as much time @ Baptist East Hospital with my sister who was a patient and when we returned before noon(although the front desk said we had a 1pm checkout time) we found out the crown plaza had cut our room cards off. My wife calls the front desk as we stand outside our room (crown plaza was still charging our credit card for the room) and they sent security up to our 7th floor location we were waiting at. Then he proceeds to ask us to describe various items in our room before he will open our door. After playing family feud or "Crown Plaza Games" and answering all the questions correct we were allowed access to our personal items and room. It’s about 1215pm at this time, again we were guaranteed a 1pm checkout. As a side note I and my spouse are both in healthcare and don’t feel that this level of service provided by this hotel should be affiliated with Baptist East Hospital or patients families that are dealing with life and death issues. So I have contacted the administration to also explain why the Crown plaza is a subpar hotel that hides behind a well known name. Only stay if you have a need to punish yourself!

Room Tip: Stay on first floor as the elevators are slow, old, and work half the time.
See more room tips
Green Features: just a bunch of drunk guest wandering around and riding up and down on the elevators so no eco friendly really.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your open comments and candor while writing your review, on Belhaf of the Crowne Plaza we apologize that the hotel was not up to standards during your recent stay, your comments and experience are being addressed with our management team. Again thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Address: 830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Louisville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#29 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.