We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Louisville!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Louisville!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I frequent Louisville, KY most of the year for business. I choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza because it's minutes from the airport(SDF), University, and downtown. I have heard complaints about airplane noise but that doesn't bother me. With the amenities that are available you can keep yourself distracted enough not to be bothered by the airplanes flying over head. One bit of criticism I would offer the hotel, have more options on the room service menu. I believe I have had every course on the menu at least once. As I stated before, the Crowne is minutes from about everywhere in Louisville so when you have exhausted the room service menu there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: To avoid the plane noise try the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, The Crowne Plaza is always happy and excited to host Wonderfest! we are so happy that your room was to your staisfaction and you found the bed and pillows to your liking, we can't wait until your group returns and we look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    100
    47
    28
    15
See reviews for
67
40
14
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here May 5th to the 10th, 2013.for business reasons.Sunday night was fine.Monday through Thursday was horrible.This is the hub for UPS.That means they have a LARGE number of flights roaring out of the airport from approx. 2:30 in the morning until 5;00 am.Unfortunately this Hotel is right across the highway from airport.This is unlike most airport hotels where there isn't a middle of the night launch of a fleet of aircraft.It is a shame because this Hotel is very nice.I recommend only staying here if you can adjust your schedule to waking up at 3 am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your review, i am so sorry that the airport noise disturbed you during your recent stay, We are so glad that you found the hotel to be nice and hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a three day stay here for WonderFest 2013. Everythig went a planned. We reserved our room 5 months in advance. So when we arrived, they checked us in, it was fast and the staff was very helpful. The room was nice and had lots of extras. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were excellent. I usually take my own pillows but forgot them this trip. It was not an issue. They had several pillows on the bed. Some were firm and others very squishy. The hotel was easy to get around. The pool area was very nice. We had breakfast at the BlueHorse restaraunt inside the hotel two mornings and also a drink one of the evenings. Even though the breakfast was busy our waitress was very friendly and efficient.
It was very easy to get around Louisville from the hotel. We are already planning next years trip to WonderFest, and we already know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your Lousiville stays, we are alway happy to hear that our guest return for our ammenities and convenience to the airport and downtown area. Your comments regarding our room service menu has been addressed with our team and we are happy to say that new menus will be coming out soon. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

If you need quick access to Louisville's airport, I can't imagine a better scenario than they Crowne Plaza. John Elway could probably hit the hotel with a football if he were standing on the edge of the airport property, yet while you're actually in the building it does not feel like you are such a short distance from jets landing and departing.

Check-in was a breeze, and the front desk staff were accomodating and patient.

The room we stayed in was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioning was more than capable of keeping the room cool (trust me).

One pesky little problem: the switch in the bath tub that activates the shower did not want to work. I really don't think laying in the filth you are trying to remove from your body is ideal, so this was a little problematic for me. After about five minutes of fidgeting with two different times (once for me, once for my wife) I was able to get it to work, however.

Once again, airport noise bleeding through the windows was not a problem. I did not hear a single plane all night.

The benefit that really seals the deal is the shuttle service that runs from the hotel lobby to the airport terminal. My wife and I walked into the lobby at 5:40 am, and the shuttle driver had us unloaded at the drop-off point by 5:45. Not bad!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, we are so glad your stay was a pleasant one and you were able to make use of our shuttle service. we hope your travels will bring you our way again.
thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBILE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was a guest on Thur, May 9th 2013. This property is the nicest and largest of several properties across from the airport(SDF) and convention center. I was a tour bus driver. Professional full hotel staff, and property had a great pool, restaurants, shuttle service (3 mile range) and parking. I had no issues sleeping. Room had up to date decor...looked great! Not a lot of food outlets close, but dntn Louisville is a straight shot on I-65. Churchill Downs and U of L stadiums are close close as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel! I am so pleased that we met your expectations and hopefully was a bit above what you expected. We do look forward to being your choice hotel when you travel through louisville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I accompanied my husband while he traveled for business. We chose this hotel because it was in the south end of Louisville, close to where my husband needed to be while working out of town for the week. This is a nice hotel, but since it's just across the highway from the airport there is a lot of plane noise. Unfortunately, freight planes leave Louisville's airport all throughout the night. In our room, the "Fan" mode of the central a/c didn't seem to work so there was no way to create constant white noise. So I would advise you to only book this hotel if you need to be very close to the airport!

The property itself is decent. Room is of average size with a large flat screen tv and very comfortable desk chair. Housekeeping leaves small packets of the most wonderful smelling lotions by the bed- meant to help relax you and soothe your tired limbs. Bathroom is small, water pressure a tad on the weak side. In addition to bar soap, you also get shower gel which smells terrific. Free in-room wifi worked very well.


Fitness center is okay. It smells like rubber when you first walk in because of the flooring material, but you get used to it quickly. I could not find a remote control for either of the ceiling-mounted tv's, nor could I see any manual buttons on them. The front desk staff probably would have been able to help, but I didn't bother to call.

Pool was heated, although it was open to the outside. Early May temps were not that warm so I found it a little cold to lounge poolside. Plus their metal loungers were extremely uncomfortable.

Bottom line: The location of this hotel (so close to an airport from which flights depart during the middle of the night) makes me want to give it a 2-star rating. But I'll bump it up to 3 stars since most things are average/acceptable. But be warned... sleep quality definitely suffers here if you're a light sleeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airport. On Behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the problems encountered with the Airport noise in your room during your recent stay in our hotel. It is the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airports’ goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us, the feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the CP for Kentucky Derby weekend. We encountered the friendliest staff, the service was impeccable, the restaurant food was amazing and the bar was super fun! The shuttle took us to Churchill Downs as well as the Expo Center and they are less than 2 minutes from the airport. Everyone was extremely nice and outgoing. The rooms were clean and well stocked. We even got a dozen roses for the Derby. They had a hat shop set up in one of the conference rooms and had a nice gift shop with plenty of Derby memorabilia. They made our experience to Louisville for the Derby such a great one that we would never stay anywhere else!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and choosing to stay with the Crowne Plaza for your derby experience. We are so happy that you and your sister had an amazing time. We hope to see you for Derby 140.

Thank you again for choosing the Crowne Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Address: 830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#28 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.