We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Airport and Louisville Expo Center.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Close to the Airport and Louisville Expo Center.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Crown Plaza Louisville Airport is conveniently located at the entrance to the Louisville Expo center. This made it really convenient for attending major events directly across the street. The Crown Plaza offered continuous shuttle service from the Expo Center and the Hotel. Discounts may be available for major events. We enjoyed the comfortable rooms and access to hotel restaurants. It is an easy off from major expressways.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are very happy that you found the hotel to be convenient to the Fair and Expo Center and that you enjoyed the beds and restaurant, we hope your travels will bring you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    97
    43
    27
    13
See reviews for
66
38
14
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, KY
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is clearly a convention hotel. The rooms are nice and the atmosphere of the hotel overall is fine. Not the Ritz but not Super 8 either. It is what it is. You will be fine here for business travel or travel baseball tournament. Not where you want to spend a romantic evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, we are happy your found the rooms nice and the atmosphere satisfactory.. we hope you choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at crowned plaza in other places before but this one was a very disappointed stay. I'm glad it wa only one night.

The hotel is literally 5 minutes away from the aiport but it took longer that that to pick is up. Once my colleagues and I got to the hotel we didn't know where the elevators where. We were looking for signage but an agent told us where to go after looking at us (we obviously looked lost).

The hallways of the floors are very spacious and wide. Once I got to my room, the first thing that I see is a big tear on the carpet right by the entrance. I turned the light on and the carpet was filthy. I turned more lights on and the are around the coffee maker on the wall has holes. Unopened the closet and it was patches all over the wall. The bathroom wa cleaned and with good lighting
, thank god.

The chair had a few stains. I am very glad the bed was comfortable and cleaned.

My colleagues and I saw a big annoincement by the elevators stating that the 8th floor had to be repair due to the storm. Which is understandable, but what does that have to do with all the things wrong with my room. A housekeeping supervisor must have not checked the work of the room attendant because my room was not sellable.

I was happy to find out the next morning that the construction people don't make a lot of noise. They stated around 9am and thy were fairly quiet which was good.

Not quite sure if ill consider this hotel again. Perhaps after they are done renovating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airport. On Behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the problems encountered with the condition of your room during your recent stay in our hotel. It is the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airports’ goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us, the feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airport, we appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Its a nice hotel. Lots to say good about it, the bad is the wifi sucks, the cable tv is hard to use, and the bar is expensive. The food is pretty good though! Staff is great, very helpful. Its close to everything you might want as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Lousiville, we are so sorry that the Wi-Fi was not working properly and that you found the cable TV hard to work, we have just switched over our TV's to HD and are in the process of updating our Wi-Fi, we will definantly pass on your concerns to our Engineering and IT departments. we do thank you for the kind works regarding our staff being great and helpful..
On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Lousiville, we thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Wide halls, great decor.
Room 156. It sounded like there was water was trickling down the wall next to me....like someone taking a shower just a few feet away....all night long. We eventually got used to it, but it was hard to get past the rock hard bed we had.
We had high expectations for such a beautiful and well known hotel. We will try a different place next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we are so sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and you did not find the beds comfortable, your comments have been passed on to our engineering and housekeeping departments for review. Thank you for staying with us we hope that you will again return and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Clean, friendly, convenient... these are every travelers basic expectations. I can "wax eloquent" of the state of this particular reception area and more importantly, our room... which was well maintained (no evidence of wear and tear) and immaculately clean. My experience of excellence pivoted on a more personal level. If you have ever been the parent of a child who realizes they have left an orthodontic appliance somewhere, you'll appreciate this story. Our room service tray hadn't been gone more than 15 minutes, but long enough for there to a next to none chance of finding a two part appliance. A frantic call to the front desk, a dash to the kitchen area, explanation to the manager and complete cooperation from the staff, plastic gloves, good humor and resolve resulted in not one, but both pieces recovered. Chef Paul is gracious of heart and spirit. (I hugged him, not sure that was allowed, but .... there you are.) The entire staff was amazingly customer service oriented, from the check in, to the helpful "splinter kit" to the orthodontic "hide and seek". Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, i have passed on your comments to all our team members, we are so happy that Chef Paul was there to help you out in this situation, we hope that you will again return to the Crowne Plaza and have more memorable experiences, perhaps not quite like the last, but good ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I recently took my youth group to Louisville for a conference at Broadbent Arena. We stayed here for the location. It was nothing fancy, but the rooms were clean and service was great too. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we will defiantly pass on your message to our team members, we appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Address: 830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.