We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst in my life!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst in my life!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Ok, I understand its hard since my conference included 1,200 kids but it could've at least been ok not terrible. I was here for 3days 2 nights and the first night was ok we had dinner at the buffet. It was 13$ for chicken corn and broccoli. I didn't eat any of it for it was disgusting. That night we slept for 3 hours due to lack of air! The next morning we were forced to eat a rotten banana for they had nothing else to eat. That night we checked the matresses because that morning we found bites on all of us. We checked the matresses and found stained sheets! We ended up sleeping on the floor. There were 5 people with me in one room. We had a 2 queen bed room with no kitchen or area to chill. We only had one bathroom in which was occupied at every given moment. Everything was terrible can't remember a good moment of my trip. Will not be back and I am not recommending this place!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear hmhpeace,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.
I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you visited the restaurant, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future.
I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    112
    54
    31
    17
See reviews for
75
45
15
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Nice hotel property - stayed for sports conference and facilities, service and food were all good/great.

GREAT hotel gym with weights, eliptical machines, bikes and treadmills- open 24/7

Only complaints: the fire alarm went off two days in a row before 8am; we heard this has happened here before. Ran out of KY bourbon barrel ale-- during Breeder's Cup week?!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrolon88, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Dear WesterlyR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our staff takes great pride in serving our guest, we are glad to see that also you enjoyed our food. We are sorry that you experienced the fire alarm going off two days in a row. We take the safety of our Guest and Staff extremely serious. These were no fire drills. We have a state of the art Multi Plex fire system that really did its job; it alert us of any trouble (smoke) in the building. When it comes to your safety and ours we will not hesitate. Hope to see you in the near future.

Always at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Although the facility is conveniently located and the lobby & rooms are spacious & attractively furnished, I was very disappointed by my 2-night stay at this Crowne Plaza property.

My room was located immediately beside the elevator bank, so there was a constant hum and noise from other guests waiting for an elevator. The room also smelled of cigar smoke. The worst problem was an engineering issue which causes the plumbing for other areas of the hotel to run through the walls of this room. The created the constant sound of running water that sounded like a bathtub loudly draining (trickle, trickle, gurgle, gurgle -- maddening). The front desk was unable to find me another room and suggested earplugs (really?). The maintainence man admitted that there are a few rooms in the property with this problem.

The energy saving lightbulbs in the room that take 3 min to reach full brightness --annoying.

The video checkout system does not work and I did not receive a printed bill under my door, causing me to make an unplanned trek to the front desk when I was already running late for a meeting.

Despite the proximity of the airport, plane noise (although present) was not a problem, parking seems adequate. I would give this hotel a much higher rating if I had a room without plumbing problems. It seems that staff are well aware of this problem, but are unable to accommodate guests with better options.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 274 & ask about plumbing noise issues in other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrolon88, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear Sheknits,


Thank you for your comments. The Crowne Plaza strives to provide each of our guests with a high level of service and attention to detail.

We do apologize that your experience was not up to our usual standard of excellence. As a valued guest, we do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Always at your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

stayed here for a convention. It is conveniently located however I was getting bit at night and when I approached the front desk they said they hadn't had any bed bug complaints THIS WEEK and I said THIS WEEK? And the front desk clerk replies, "Yes we've had bed bugs, this is a hotel, it happens." The rooms decor is fine, the bathrooms are dated. Feels like a cheap Holiday Inn room and I expected more from a Crowne Plaza. Food options limited and the staff seemed a little harried and ill-equipped to deal with all the guests in town for the convention.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrolon88, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear TripAdviser user,

I welcome the opportunity to discuss our pest control management program at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.

The Crowne Plaza has always been and continues to be very proactive with pest management inspections and preventative maintenance. Unfortunately, reports of bed bugs have become very common in the United States. Nationally-recognized OPC Pest Control provides the Crowne Plaza Hotel with inspections, treatments and educational programs to address this difficult issue. They also offer multiple in-service programs to educate for facility staff in identifying bed bug activity. If evidence of bed bugs is found or reported in a guest room, we take swift action. The guest room is immediately removed from service, treated and left vacant for approximately two weeks to allow for additional inspections and/or treatment.

It is important for our guests to know that, as stated by the American Hotel & Lodging Association, bed bugs are not a symptom of hotel cleanliness or sanitation. Bed bugs are brought into hotels by guests and do not transmit any human disease. The trained and knowledgeable Housekeeping and Engineering staff at the Crowne Plaza Hotel is one of the best lines of defense along with our regular inspections. We pride ourselves on keeping our teams equipped with the knowledge, training, and tools needed to identify and address any issues, and we regularly review our Housekeeping standards and procedures to ensure that each guest enjoys a safe, clean and comfortable environment in our hotel.

While no hotel can claim a pest-free environment, the Crowne Plaza Hotel does everything in its power to make our guests as comfortable as possible and will continue to do so. We encourage all of our guests to report any alleged incidents to us promptly so we can quickly address the situation.

We want to apologize if we did not meet your expectations... I can assure you that we will address with our staff the issues you reported. Looking forward to see you in the near future.

Always at your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Attended a conference in Louisville which was held at the Expo.and stayed at this wonderful Crowne Plaza. Convenient to the Expo and the airport but not very close to any restaurants. It does have its own restaurant, The Blue Horse, which was very good. It has a great breakfast and even served a late night breakfast bar. The rooms were very accomodating and the beds were very comfortable. Each staff member I met during my 5 day stay was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrolon88, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Camogolfer,


We want to thank you for your review. We are very glad that to see that you enjoyed your stay and the attentiveness of our staff. I will be sharing your comment with our staff. We hope to see you in the near future, Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your conference.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was attending an expo for the week. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We ate at the bar in Blue Horse restaurant. The food was very good and the staff were great. It had a great atmosphere. It is in walking distance to the expo and Freedom Hall. If you are looking to go out, you will have to drive or take a cab, it is a little ways from nightlife. The only major complaint is getting on the internet. It was extremely slow.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrolon88, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Greetings Adavis77,


We are glad to see your review of our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in delivering outstanding service, from the Housekeeping staff providing our guest with clean public areas and clean rooms to the Food and Beverage with great food and atmosphere. Not to mention our close proximity to Freedom Hall. Regarding your only complaint internet we were experience some hardware issues that were resolved in a timely manner. Once again I will like thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you in the future!


Always at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Met up with friends to attend a concert at Freedom Hall. We picked this hotel because it was walking distance to the concert. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We used the fitness room which was better than most other hotel fitness rooms. The pool was beautiful, too bad we didn't have enough time to enjoy it. I may have to meet up with my friend again and stay at this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. My room overlooked a roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrolon88, Director of Operations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Greeting Harley02,

It is great to hear that you enjoy or hotels and our amenities, our location is extremely accommodating to our guest attending any function at Freedom Hall. We appreciate your kind review; we know that you have plenty of choices when it comes to hotels but once again “Thank you” for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Always at your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Address: 830 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Louisville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#29 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.