We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Art” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Speed Art Museum

The Speed Art Museum
2035 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40208
502 634 2700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 61 Attractions in Louisville
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Features paintings by Rembrandt, Picasso and Rubens, as well as contemporary art exhibits.
Pewee Valley, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

great place to spend an afternoon, especially since it was raining all day. Lovely art exhibits. Wandered at our leisure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Speedy Recovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Museum galleries and Art Sparks are temporarily closed for construction. But when they were open the museum rivals those of NY and Phila. You need not be interested in art because there is a bit interesting things for everyone. The audio guided tours were helpful to my relatives who do not understand art.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A great place for a date with my husband to view beautiful pieces of art. People were friendly and the exhibits were patron friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Childhood Favorite - Even Better Today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's with sadness that I think of the Speed closing for THREE years! The Speed Art Museum was a part of my childhood, my young adult life, adult life too. Both permanent and alternating displays are wonderful. I've seen special Impressionists exhibits here, Art Sparks for the kids, and da Vinci too. I'm already looking forward to the new and improved museum that is being promised!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“Visiting "Monet"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Even though the Speed Art Museum is closed for renovations at the moment, it's a great place to visit to see famous artist as well as local artist works.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Speed Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speed Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.