We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory

Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory
800 West Main St., Louisville, KY 40202
877 775 8443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 78 attractions in Louisville
Type: Specialty Museums, Factory Tours
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Batter up! It takes a special place to craft the #1 Bat in Major League Baseball. At Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, experience history-in-the-making as you stroll through the actual factory where world-famous Louisville Slugger bats are created. The award-winning factory tour is a highlight of the visit here, but there’s plenty more to enjoy along with it.Admire the World’s Biggest Bat – stretching 120 feet into the sky. Hold bats actually used by baseball superstars like Mickey Mantle, Johnny Bench, Cal Ripken Jr. and Derek Jeter. Face down a 90-mph fastball hurled by a major league pitcher. Count the homerun notches Babe Ruth carved into his Louisville Slugger bat for every home run he hit with it. Step into the batting cages and take some swings with a replica model of your hero’s bat. Guests even get a free miniature souvenir bat at the end of the factory tour. You can even create a bat with your own name on it, just like the pros. They make great gifts for all kinds of special occasions, from newborn babies, to groomsmen gifts, to team trophies and more. The museum store is also loaded with lots of sporty merchandise for every budget. Be sure to swing by!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place, awesome museum, I liked that you hold a legends bat. Tour was great. We had only five people on the tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    407
    69
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip to louisville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The factory tour was a fun and interesting experience! It was neat to see all the bats and all the players who they have made bats for. Must see while in Louisville even if your not a big baseball fan.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt prospect
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tour - quick and fun, plus you get a small bat at the end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

30 minute tour kept our attention, without going into too much detail. Even open on Labor Day, which was the only time we had. It was fun to see how bats are made and the different kinds available. The 15 minutes movie was interesting and really highlights the history and legends of baseball.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Vett your tour guides!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My kids were extremely excited about visiting the museum near the end of our trip. The space was well-organized and intuitive... and then came the tour. Our tour guide looked to be right out of college and seemed as interested in the subject matter as he was calculus. He spoke softly and slurred his speech (whether from a hang over or a legitimate speech impediment, I don't know). Guests were actually laughing at his unintelligible banter. We actually gave up trying to hear or understand his explanations midway through the tour. I overheard a more seasoned guide giving the next tour and it was like night and day. I really feel short-changed by our awful guide. It's difficult to give a better rating when one half of our experience was affected.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisvilleSluggerMus, Museum Director at Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JKTraveler11 - Thanks very much for your feedback. I'm so sorry we let you down. We will share your feedback with our tour guide team to help emphasize the important impact they have on the experience of our guests. What you encountered is definitely not up to our standards and will be addressed. Please contact me directly at anne.jewell@slugger.com so I can learn a bit more about when you went on tour and to arrange for a full refund. I'd also like to send you some free passes with the hope that you will give us another try in the future. We will use your comments to improve the experience here, and we appreciate that you took the time to post them. Safe and happy travels to you - Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Louisville Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fun place to visit if you are a fan of the great American pastime! The museum and factory is on Main Street in downtown Louisville and offers tours all week long. Great baseball history and memorabilia, a factory tour that was interesting and even batting cages that let you swing a Louisville slugger designed for your favorite ball player. Left with a personalized bat and fun memories.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory to your Saves list