We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience except the maid stole my linen blouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience except the maid stole my linen blouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I arrive late on a Sunday night to see that I'm the "Priority Club Member" of the day. I have a great time at this modern, classy, upscale place. I depart 6/21 to go to a conference hotel downtown. I leave my new white linen shirt on the white sheets. When I call to retrieve it the next day, I am promised a call back by the front desk guy. I call and call over the next 2 days and finally speak with the manager, who also fails to call me back. He says he's waiting for the maid who cleaned it to come back in to work. Finally, 4 days later, he says she doesn't have it. I realize there's no way to make her give it back. Why would she? And lose her job? But it's frustrating to have no recourse. So, the message is: don't leave anything behind because then it's ours. Really puts a bad taste in my mouth for the brand.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
23
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

great friendly staff, nice bar and nice clean new rooms. Checked in quickly by a friendly smiling face full of information and willing to help. Rooms were spacious and extremely clean. LCD HD TV's in the room. Small but nice fitness center with a small indoor pool next door. Machines and dumbells up to 35 lbs. Over all I would highly recommend this hotel if you are passing through or staying for the weekend or longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Both mornings I was awakened by a defective CO2 detector. The staff was great, but this followed a terrible experience with Holiday Inn company reservations. For the high price of the hotel, skip it. The details (like not being awakened by a CO2 detector) matter! I travel a lot, and never again on this hotel. The staff is wonderful though, without exception.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Check in was very easy and the lady at the front desk was very nice. She gave us keys to a room that was on the 2nd floor. When we got to the room there was someone already in the room. I went back to the receptionist and told her someone was already occupying that room, and she just said oh I gave you the wrong room number. It made me wonder the rest of the weekend who was given keys to my room.

We went to the bar and the bartender was very frazzled and not in a good mood to say the least, made us feel like we were not welcome there at all. She warmed up a little later. I think she was trying to do to much, she was the only staff other than the cook in the restaurant/bar.

This motel is not a convenient walk to the fairgrounds, if you wanted to drive it would be fine, but if you're walking don't stay here.

The simming pool is indoors, and was very tiny, but we never saw anyone in it.

All in all the hotel room was fine, and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We thought the rooms were small for the $160.00 and the bathroom door would not stay open. Bathroom was quite small. I discovered the morning we left, I was missing 2 containers of eyeshadow from my makeup bag. I reported it to the desk, but was never notified if they had pursued this issue.
It is very hard to find when looking for it the first time. We much prefer Holiday Inn Express for the value and all the extras, especially the large rooms.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainLine Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The hotel was nice: clean, comfortable and convenient to the Expo Center and close to the airport. It sits back off the main highway and is a little hard to find. The scenery is dreary but the convenient location made up for that. Help at the front desk (Melissa) went above and beyond with exceptional service. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are attending something in the vicinity of the Expo Center.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

I am really enjoying my stay here. I got a $75 weekend rate in Feb '09. There's a small heated pool and a restaurant right off the lobby area. It was convenient on a day like today with bad weather. Prices are reasonable and the food is tasty. The building is only 1 year old and everything is in good shape. Furnishings are modern. The bed is comfortable. I'll definitely stay here again when I return. It's a great deal and close to the airport and Churchill Downs. It's hard to find the entrance, esp in the dark. Otherwise, not much else to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.