We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were driving cross country and needed a hotel that was right off the highway to stop at for the night. It was almost 1:00am and the front desk person was friendly and kind and got us quickly checked in. They also have a noon check out time which was nice since we got to bed so late. The bed was comfy and they are close to lots of restaurants and fast food places which was convenient. Very nice Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Jlmh49 - Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for our hotel and we sincerely appreciate your positive comments! I am so glad you noticed that we are conveniently located to interstates and restaurants. I will let our Front Desk know of your kudos! Thank you again!

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
28
27
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived on a Sunday night and needed the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport,we were told they don't normally have one on Sunday evenings and that the waitress/bartender normally acts as the driver but she was too busy so we would have to take a taxi but holiday inn would pay for it, but they assured us they had a shuttle that ran in the morning at 5:30 a.m.When arriving back at the hotel we decided to get something to eat around 9:00 p.m, at 10:00 p.m we still had not received our food so we decided it was too late to eat anyway and told the waitress to forget it and went up to our room as we had a early morning flight. We took the elevator and the waitress was on the same elevator delivering room service! Ridiculous ! One person acting as waitress/shuttle driver/bartender /room service. Then in the morning we were told no shuttle driver again! We had to take a taxi again! And to top it off I left with a spider bite that I got from the bed! It was almost laughable! I always stay at Holiday Inns but this was just bizarre, I'll never stay at this particular one again..

Room Tip: Go to a different Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Cherrie - Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the problems you had during your stay with us. Customer service and guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we will definitely address these issues immediately. Thank you again.

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My one week work trip turned into two. The staff in this hotel made me feel appreciated and took care of all my needs in a kind and caring manner. When we checked out the front desk employee Amanda said she was going to miss us. Tanisha was friendly and helpful every morning at breakfast.
The food in the dining room was good and beautifully presented. A small menu but very good quality, including the famous Derby pie.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Laura - Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! I am so happy you enjoyed your two week stay and sincerely appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel seems new. The parking lot is a little funky, probably because of the shape of the lot on which the hotel sits. The property is in great shape. The room was nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is near gas stations and some fast food-type places, as well as close to the interstate and the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted you felt that our hotel was quiet and convenient. We did just get updates, so our hotel is fresh and new! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room accommodations were very good and the mattress on the bed could not be beat for comfort. The pool looked very nice but my husband and I forgot our suits. everyone we met was friendly and very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Becky - Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad to hear you had a good night sleep! We appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff and pool.

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Staff was welcoming upon arrival and helpful throughout the stay with directions, dining recommendations, and printing documents. Great location for getting to Papa John Stadium, and walking distance to Churchill Downs. You can get food in the hotel (didn't try it) and a few fast food places within walking distance. Not particularly adjacent to the airport but very near. Room was clean and everything worked. All in all, great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so glad to hear you thought our staff was friendly. We do have a great location within block of Churchill Downs, Papa Johns Cardinal Stadium, Kentucky Fair/Expo Center and the reopened Kentucky Kingdom! We hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am very loyal to Holiday Inn chain but that's about to change. I just experienced a similar experience at a Holiday Inn Express in South Carolina and its simply unacceptable. This most recent experience prompted me to post an appropriate review to my last stay in Holiday Inn Louisville in february-march of 2014. I know for fact I left my brand new 80-dollar sweater in a room on a chair, I called the hotel less than 5 hours after I checked out and they informed me that it was never found and never reported to the front desk by house keeper. I've traveled to third world countries and never had such bad experience, those people are poor but they never assume a forgotten property is now their own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#56 of 98 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.