We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but poor welcoming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #44 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent location but poor welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The motel was picked for its location, but the welcome by the front desk was less than desirable; the man was not welcoming, abruptly answered by questions and did not thank me for booking a room. Hotel is relatively new; room was clean; but airplane arrivals were a little noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Queen Bee,

I am happy to hear that you liked the convenience and cleanliness of our hotel. I will also take your feedback back to my staff for training. Thank you for your buisness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
21
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I will definitely stay here again. Nice, clean rooms. Good service. Convenient to much of Louisville, especially the airport. You have to look for it from Crittenden Drive because another hotel sits between the hotel and the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
River Runner,

Thank you for the feeback from your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our convenient location. Please stop in and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

the morning and evening dinning room staff was wonderful. Ashley, Eric, Amanda and Carrissa were amazing servers and the food was excellent. I was not to happy about the front desk staff. Jennifer was disrespectful and obviously should not be working out with the public. She is more focused what is going on in the dinning room (i dont think its professional that jennifer is sitting at the bar not taking care of me. which is very diappointing) than taking care of the guest staying here in the hotel. my room was clean and smelled good. other than the front desk i have no other complants.

Room Tip: if you want to feel you imoprtant this wouldnt be a place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Heather G,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that your restaurant experiences were great and you enjoyed our food. I will also pass along your comments to our housekeeping staff as they are always eager to hear how our guests enjoyed their clean rooms. As for your negative experinence with the front desk staff, I sincerely apologize. If you could contact me at your convenience to discuss the issues so that we can correct them I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for your business!

Jeff Parrish
502.637.4500 ext 1103
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

WOW!!!!! This hotel is great,and the indoor pool is a super feature.The grounds are the cleanest I seen in a while good going to the ground crew keep it up..This hotel is truly great, But the prices are a little high.But for what you get here it all is good. And you are close to the airport and shopping and all kinda places to go and see in LOUISVILLE so put on your walking shoes and have fun the KENTUCKY way.....

Room Tip: Call ahead and make a deal on this great hotel,The in place to stay in LOUISVILLE....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Mr. Vosch,

Thank you so much for letting the world know about your great stay with us! Our maintenance staff also says thank you for recognizing their hard work on keeping our hotel looking beautiful and well maintained. Please come back and visit us soon, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our entire family stayed here for 3 to 4 nights for the Kentucky Derby and I honestly can say this was one of the best hotel staffs I have ever met. Every person at this hotel went above and beyond to make our experience a memorable one, in addition to the hotel hosting fabulous pre-Oaks and Derby receptions. We especially loved the Kentucky Derby excitement shared by all the smiling staff and the beautiful decorations! The only downside was the staff not wearing hats for Oaks and Derby, which we would have loved because they were all so enthusiastic about the Kentucky Oaks and Derby. The front desk staff was simply amazing, the restaurant and bar staff were fabulous, and even the room service lady I met in the elevator was warm and friendly even though we weren't ordering room service...just goes to show we met wonderful staff at every turn during our stay. In addition to the compliments to the staff, our rooms were clean and very nice. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this hotel as our weekend was perfect here due to this spotless hotel and perfect staff. I would highly recommend this hotel and extend a heartfelt thank you to all the staff who made our Kentucky Derby experience truly memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jennifer,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments on our staff and cleanliness! Derby is a special time in our city and we are excited that our staff's service made your trip enjoable. As for the Derby hats, consider this problem solved, we will have them on for the 140th Derby next year. I truly hope you will visit us again soon, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern State
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while attending a sporting event at UofL. Staff at front desk at check-in was exceptionally friendly and efficient. Couldn't have asked for better. Great hotel! Nice rooms. Spotless. Great beds. Had a great night's sleep. Frig/microwave in room.

Just off I-65. Great location if visiting UofL, Kentucky, Expo Center or even the Lville Airport. This is more of an industrial area so not much around right around the hotel in terms of restaurants but if you drive a mile or two, there are some choices.

I did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment.

I would not hesitate to stay here again, especially if attending an event, etc. in this part of Louisville.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for feedback on your recent stay with us. I have shared your review with all of my staff and thanked them for providing the service necessary for your great stay. Thank you for your business and we hope to have you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Came in for a volleyball event! Great location! Amanda and Justin at the front desk were wonderful! Amanda took care of our needs in the morning and Justin was so helpful every night! Great Staff and service! I would strongly recommend staying here for a great room with wonderful service! Only recommendation would be for more dinner choices in the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Amanda and Justin were excited to see their names in your review and asked me to thank you as well. We look forward to having you back soon. Thank you for your buisiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.