We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for business for 4 days. The location was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and convenient. There were no professional games going on during the time I stayed there, so the neighborhood was very quiet and did not feel that there were anyone on the property that should not have been there. The convenience to the airport was a plus, along with the easy off and on to the expressway. Did not eat at the hotel, so cannot rate the restaurant, but looked at the buffet and it had a good variety .. but this is not a Holiday Inn Express, so the buffet is not complimentary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. The entire team here takes great pride in exceeding all our guests expectations. Our location is one of our best attributes being so close to the Expo Center, Downtown, Uof L, and Churchill Downs. Being right off the interstate and 1 mile from the airport make our hotel and ideal location when coming into Louisville. Try the buffet the nexttime I assure you the food tastes as good as it looks. We will see you on you next trip to town

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
23
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a very early morning flight and so this location served us well. The hotel is clean, the staff was friendly. The room was large and comfortable. I see the post about the safety concerns. I didn't feel this at all inside the hotel, but I happened to be standing outside when a large bunch of drunken fans were coming out of the football game. They were being fairly belligerent and destroying things outside. Perhaps make sure there is no major event next door. Otherwise, this is a great place, very close to the airport, with a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. I will be glad to share your comments wiht our team. We have the most ideal location for any traveler coming into Louisville. The airport, Downtown, ChurchillDowns, Uof L, and the Expo center are all within 1 mile. I apologize for the disturbance of the local community on that Sunday. We are the closest hotel to UofL stadium and on Saturdays they get pretty excited. We keep all of our guests comfort in mind so we have additional staff on durning home games to ensure thoses guests do not inhibit our hotel guests experience. Thank you for staying with us.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here on our way to a vacation in North Carolina, on July 28-July 29 and our car was broken into. A bunch of stuff was stolen. We found out that the hotel has no security cameras, really? Looks like you need it. Window was broken into 1000 pieces, what a mess, but the hotel supplied us with a vac. We complainned to the hotel manager about a week after our stay and he told us that this a rare occurance, really? I did not see Scott C's reivew until today. I posted today as I want other potential consumers to be aware of the poor security.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is very unfortunate that this situation happened. Unfotunatley we did have 2 cars this weekend that were broken into. The Nat'l Street Rod convention was this weekend and according to the local authorities, there were a rash of break ins throughout the neighborhood establishments. These are the 1st 2 incidents that have happened in our lot this year. We have taken necessary steps to try and ensure this does not happen again, including educating our guests and staff and what to look for and how to ensure that your vehicle does not become a target. Again, our sincerest aplogies for your inconvenience.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matherville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here July 27th through the 29th and each morning cops were in the parking lot filling reports out. Holiday inn was kind enough to have a shop vac on hand. Other than being scared for your safety and your personal belongings the hotel is very nice. Add some parking lot security PLEASE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback as we always do like to hear from our guests. Unfortunaley you did experience a break in to your vehicle and that is very, very uncommon at our hotel. I am dissapointed in your experience. Saftey and security is our #1 priority and we do our best to control what we can control. unfortunatley when guests leave a GPS and other electronic items on their dash board in plain sight they paint a bullseye on their vehicle, no matter what parking lot their vehicle is parked in. Again, these things we cannot control. Please be aware that we have and will always continue to do the right thing to ensure our guests have a safe, comfortable, and enjoyable experience at our hotel.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This property is clean, well-maintained, and has a helpful staff. I don't know when it opened, but it feels relatively new. It doesn't have any of the worn/beat-up feeling that many airport hotels do.

My room was large with two queen beds. It might have been more spacious than most because it was a handicap room.

I was looking for a hotel south of downtown because I was driving down to Nashville early the next morning. This property is conveniently located at the intersection of I-65 and I-264. I had to wind through a few back roads to get to the strip mall with a Starbucks, but that was just a minor inconvenience.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience with our hotel and our service. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. Our location is one of our best attributes. Being less than 1 mile from the Airport, Kentucky Expo Center, Fair Grounds, Churchill Down, & Uof L, make us the ideal location for business travelers and families alike. We look forward to being your hotel of choice for your future visits to Kentucky.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose this location for our new Corporate Training program in Louisville, KY. We've been more than impressed with the quality of service and fantastic welcome from the staff. The shuttle is convenient and reliable, the location can't be beat, and the quality of rooms and meeting spaces for the price is unparalleled. We will definitely continue to use this hotel in the future, as it provides all the amenities we could desire as well as a great location and value. All in all, working with this Holiday Inn has been a pleasant experience, the staff are very professional and client-oriented, and all of our trainees so far have had nothing but rave reviews about their experience here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your experiencwe with our hotel. We have a great facility with a staff that truely cares. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team here and we look forward to continuing to be your hotel of choice when coming into the louisville area.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our 4H group stayed at this hotel during our recent visit down state with our horses. We had record breaking heat everyday we were there. Everytime we returned to our hotel we were always greated with a smile, how are you doing today etc. Even when not getting back to our room until sometimes after 1am. After talking with the whole team (all 25) everyone had a great experience at all times and agreed on how accomidating the staff was. As we left our rooms for the last time we all had one thing in common.....we were sure going to miss our rooms....spotless and so comfortable. Absolutely staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Mary,
Thank you for the feedback fro your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. We go to great lengths to ensure our guests have an experience that they will eb sure to remember. We appreciate you sharing your experience. I apologize for the lack of lunch availability. Please be aware that upion reqwuest it uis available to all of our guests. I am glad though, that you were able to take advantage of the catering option we offer. We look forward to seeing you and your group in the near future.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.