We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great service, and perfect for an extended stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
298 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Clean, great service, and perfect for an extended stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at hotel for five nights and six days while working at University of Louisville. It's a ten minute drive to the university from the hotel. The room was very clean and well maintained for the entire stay. On the first evening I called down to the front desk to request an office chair that adjusted correctly. Within ten minutes the desk manager was at my door with a chair from the conference room. Outstanding! Working in the room for 3-5hrs/night was no problem. The internet was easy to connect to and it was nice to go right downstairs to the bar to close out the evening. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Amanda, the head bartender, was great!! I will stay again on return visits.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the outside signs. They are VERY bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for you comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your experiences with the entire staff. Our location to U of L, and the airport, as well as the local transportation we provide make us an ideal location for the business and leisure traveler. I hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary wi-fi thuroughout the facility, and I am sure the refrigerator and microwave in your room were a great convenience during your stay. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
28
27
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Recenlty stayed here on a Saturday night. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Staff was very helpful with check-in and directions/suggestions, rooms were clean and very quiet. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay with us. We take great pride in being the hotel of choice for the travelers coming in to the louisville area. Wither business or pleasure we offer all the ammenities you come to expect from a full service hotel. Our staff is here to ensure your experience is memorable. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and we look forward to seeing you again.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Clean, modern, great staff,very happy. Room was very nice, comfortable. Hotel seemed new and updated, flat screen tv,s, great bed. Convenient for airport and expo center. Didn't use restaurant or bar or pool. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to make us aware fo your experience here at our hotel. I will be sure to share this feedback with the entire team. We are pleased to be second to none in quality and service in the Louisville area and look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Good hotel for price and and nearness to airport,race track,stadium.It has a bar and restaurant ,shuttle service to airport..We stayed there 6/09/2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on being the "best of the best" when it comes to service and quality. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The property is very nice. It boosts the new Holiday Inn European motif with the large welcoming lobby. The rooms were spacious and meet all standards of a newer Holiday inn. Everything worked and the furniture was clean.

The desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

The bar staff and the shuttle driver were less then what you would hope to see in a full service hotel. We went on opening day of Churchill Downs, and chose the IHG property since it had a restaurant, bar and shuttle. Unfortunately the shuttle stopped running before the end of the races at Churchill Downs. We had to walk about a mile to get back to the hotel. Seems strange since 90% of the people in the hotel were there for the races. Then upon our return we found the bar closed at 11:30 on a Saturday night. There were even people in the bar sitting, but no service. The desk staff had no comment when we asked them about the lack of shuttle and the early bar closure. Lastly, the breakfast is only buffet.

It’s really not a full service hotel, despite the Holiday inn moniker.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your stay. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests each and every stay. I do apologize for your unfortunate experience and will address your concerns to my staff to ensure these issues do not arise in the future. We take great pride in the quality of hotel we have and the quality of servide we provide. I do look forward to having you back again as a guest so that you may experience the outstanding service you have come to expect from a Holiday Inn. please feel free to contact me directly so i can ensure your memorable experience.

Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel was top notch. Comfortable bed & pillows; very clean & nicely appointed. Staff very professional & accomodating. We had to be at the airport at 5am & they made special efforts to get us there even though their shuttle wasn't offically available until 7am. The coffee in the in-house restaurant was GREAT! Would defintely recommend it. And it was just across the street from Churchhill Downs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your feedback with my staff. We go to great lengths to ensure our guests have a memorable stay with us, from the comfort of our guestrooms, to the quality of our restaurant and lounge. Service is always our #1 prioirty to bring it all together. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Louisville.

Regards,
Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel was more than I expected. Seemed brand new. Rooms were spacious, very clean, and had comfortable beds. There was a mini fridge as well. The lobby was very nice and well kept. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was relaxed and the lobby bar was a popular place to be. I would stay here again on my next trip! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us. We take great pride in being the hotel of choice for travelers coming into the Louisville / Airport region. The entire staff here work tirelessly to ensure a great experience for all our guests. Weither coming in for business or pleasure, we look forward to exceeding your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Regards,
Keith Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#56 of 98 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Springhill Suites Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.