We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Venue for a small conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Venue for a small conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Griffin Gate Marriott was a good place for a small conference. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Parking was free, access was very easy. Nice modern lobby and the food was surprisingly good. Free WiFi in the lobby but it peters out in the conference rooms and the higher floors. You can pay $7/dy for slow service vs a ridiculous $22/day for high speed wifi service. Set up a "mobile hot spot" with your smart phone service carrier.

My room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom very small. The bed was a memory foam mattress, almost too soft. Flat panel 40" Television, a desk and a small lounge chair. A mini-fridge was positioned uncharmingly on the floor while the free coffee service was located in the cabinet. All very decent but nothing over the top. My room had a little peeling wall paper near the shower and an air conditioning stuck at 65 degrees, fan on high. Normally I like it very cold but after the first night, I had to call maintenance to fix, which they did immediately.

Access to downtown, or anywhere in Lexington or Georgetown is very easy if you have your own vehicle. There seems to be a golf course nearby and there were a ton of people wearing equine riding apparel. I would probably stay here again.

Green Features: Global warming if a fraud but I'm all about saving energy. They will not wash towels, if you request.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    159
    74
    35
    12
See reviews for
103
100
21
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

In the rush to check out to catch a shuttle bus to get to a corporate event, I quickly placed my laptop in my bag, but forgot the charging cord at the desk in my room.
I noticed this the next day and called the hotel. Housekeeping had the charger and the front office staff Fedex'd it overnight to my home. Way to go Griffin Gate Marriott! Great job, you save me a lot of time and money to not have to go out and find another charger. I look forward to staying at your hotel the next time I'm in town for business. Great food in the hotel restaurant too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've been staying at this property for business travel since 2001 and stay here approximately 50 nights per year. I recently left my bag sitting on my bed and called the hotel and they shipped it to me at no charge. Great staff, recently renovated the lobby, and just an overall great resort property. Must stay location if visiting the Lexington, KY area.

Room Tip: End rooms on 4th floor or above overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A very attractive hotel for a relaxing stay with a staff that is as wonderful as the decor. While we were pleased by the nice new remodeling of the hotel, what stood out the most was how friendly and helpful the staff is. From the front desk to the restaurant to maintenance and housekeeping, every person we encountered offered a friendly hello and offer of assistance, where applicable.

We aren't fans of the new TemperPedic beds, but have to admit that finding a really good hotel bed is often difficult. Our back issues just don't fit well with a TemperPedic bed and we wanted something firmer.

Beds aside, though, this hotel has everything for a great vacation: Lovely pools and hot tubs, great restaurant and bar, accommodating staff, attractive surroundings, a very good spa, wonderful golf course and excellent service, upkeep and value for the money.

Room Tip: This hotel gets very busy on summer weekends, so book early.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscientious practices for environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the Griffin Gate Marriot for two nights. The rooms were clean and they have very comfortable beds. The bar had good food and a real polite staff.The location of the golf course right next to the hotel is perfect and the course is really nice. I travel alot and what seperates this place from the other ones I stay at is the employees. I lost my phone on the course after looking for it for two hours that day a member of the staff drove me out at night to try to locate it. We did not find it but when someone found it four days later they contacted me and overnighted to me. They went way out of there way to help me and that is hard to find these days.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms are far enough away from the lobby to avoid any noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: We had a function at night and they recycled all the bottles and gave away all the extra food .
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I researched the area before booking for my 9 year old daughter and me. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Nothing was ever a problem, hotel bed was like sleeping on a cloud, and the restaraunt was impeccable. Close to Kentucky Horse Park and airport. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the Griffin Gate Marriott with two co-workers while attending a 4-day training in Lexington. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful! The location is in close proximity to major interstates as well as downtown Lexington and New Circle Rd., while still feeling like you are secluded from the world in a beautiful piece of horse country. Check in was fast, but since the hotel is so large, the parking lot gets quite crowded, which wouldn't have been a big deal if not for one of our guests who was 8 months pregnant. The rooms were very clean. They hotel is very large and could use some additional elevators. We were especially impressed with the pool areas. Very, very clean! I usually feel gross using pools in hotels, but not at this one! The whirlpool was equally as nice and very large. Again, the grounds, especially around the pool areas were relaxing and nicely themed. Now for the bad: the rooms are VERY small. The bathroom was one of the smallest hotel bathrooms I have ever encountered. The bottom of the tub had material cracking off of it, and another guest in another room's tub was the same. But really, the bathroom was SO SMALL. Unusually small. Also, this may be unrelated, but the hotel actually catered the lunch at our trainings off-site, and many people got sick from the food. It was almost inedible. But I don't know if the food at the actual hotel is as bad since I did not try it. The bar was pricey - $10 for a not-so-good margarita.

Customer service was good, housekeeping was good, and Todd in concierge lounge was AWESOME.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, englishcat1. We appreciate your many compliments of our resort. Unfortunately, we are not able to go back and inspect (and correct) the issues you mentioned regarding your tub unless you would be kind enough to contact me with your name and/or room number. Also, we take any concerns that guests raise regarding their food very seriously. I have spoken to our culinary team and Event team who was present at your groups lunches and there wasn't any reports of concern. We did receive feedback from guests commenting on how much they enjoyed the meals. If you have any more specific information you can share regarding your experience, I would invite you to please contact me with more details. Thank you again for staying with us and for providing your thoughtful review.

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations - Griffin Gate Resort
dan.sirrine@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
6.3 mi away
Residence Inn Lexington Keeneland / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#9 of 69 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
10.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by rolling Bluegrass Country Hills, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis, located near area highways, yet secluded enough for guests to experience scenic Lexington resort ambiance. Enjoy a Lexington, Kentucky, hotel boasting locally inspired decor, convenient work spaces, Marriott signature bedding and the latest in technology enhancements. Completely renovated hotel rooms blend southern hospitality with unsurpassed comfort. From our Rees Jones-designed golf course and pavilion to the Mansion, a meticulously restored 19th century antebellum manor blending tradition and sophistication, events are a unique experience at this hotel in Lexington. Guests can enjoy a Lexington, KY, hotel that is fresh off a lobby renovation which promotes work productivity and now features food & beverage options from Marriott's Greatroom 5/10/20 menu. Be sure to take advantage of The Spa at Griffin Gate, offering a variety of treatments that are sure to melt stress and provide complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.