We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Resort Credit
Ranked #14 of 65 hotels in Lexington
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I found this hotel to be very nice, and the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The bed wasn't especially comfortable to me (but I liked the pillows) and the bathrooms were a little small for a resort hotel. But a staff person told us that they were due for some upgrades so maybe that will change. We also had a hard time regulating the temperature so that it wasn't too warm or too cool. Maybe that was a result of the time of year. I really liked the golf course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review CEChandler,

Yes, we begin renovating all guest rooms in December (2012)! We will do this floor by floor to isolate the work and minimize any noise or renovation impact to our guests.

We will be installing all new Temper-Pedic beds in ALL guest rooms. Our "Double" beds will all be upgraded to queen-sized, to go along with the King beds in the majority of our rooms.
Rooms will also get new carpeting, wall vinyl, lighting, furniture and artwork. We just installed fantastic new HDTV signal in all of our rooms and WIFI will be added to all guest rooms. We're also expanding WIFI in our lobby and it will reach our Indoor and Outdoor pool areas!

We are excited about the renovation plans. Our hallway corridors will be included along with our Concierge Lounge. Here is a link with a sneak preview to our "NEW" guest rooms:

http://bookmarriott.com/presentations/?pid=1788

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having you back in our new rooms!

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    123
    58
    30
    8
See reviews for
76
81
17
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a wonderful experience at the Griffin gate. Food service was wonderful, and the property well kept. once we arrived to our room the accommodations were clean and comfortable. would not hesitate to stay on our next visit. P.S. Don't miss the complimentary bourbon tasting in the evening, very nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

From check-in to check-out a pleasant experience. We live in Lexington, but before we moved here we were familiar as we used to make an annual trip to this property to play golf here with friends. Now we spend a night every year during the holidays and visit the spa for a romantic day of pampering and a nice dinner at JWs without having to drive home. The staff throughout the property is very pleasant and accommodating and the rooms are comfortable. The golf course is fun and well-kept year round. We house our friends here when necessary, and stayed here for several days ourselves during the 2005 ice storm (when the property graciously allowed everyone to bring their pets and didn't gouge the locals who were without power!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-west
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have booked our travel soccer team (20 rooms) at the Griffin Gate Marriott 3 times in the last 4 years - it was always a great stay & the parents and players on the team raved about the comfortable stay. Travel soccer ended when our boys went away to college, so I'm not booking rooms for large groups anymore. I was afraid I might not get the attention & quality service I have received in the past, now that I am just reserving 1 or 2 rooms at a time. I've now been back in Lexington twice in the last 2 months, and had 2 more fantastic stays at this Marriott. Rooms are clean, beds are the most ultra comfortable hotel bed anywhere! Bathroom is bit small in standard King room, but clean & tidy. Parking lot can be a bit noisy in evening, but halls are always quiet. Nice area, beautiful grounds. Close to dining, close to Transylvania University. Breakfast/brunch buffet on weekend is very, very good. Hint: It is less expensive to pay for breakfast as part of the room when you make the reservation.

Room Tip: On second floor, you can faintly hear fountain pump running - it isn't bothersome, but if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My stay at the Marriott Griffin Gate Resort and Spa was a fabulous experience! It was not without a couple of glitches but the staff was prompt in taking care of my problems and so gracious. I left some clothing behind and they were prompt and courteous about getting them back to me and without charge. I was very surprised by this because it was my fault that I left them behind but I received my clothing in two business days without any problems at all. I am so grateful to everyone at Griffin Gate Resort, my weekend stay was a wonderful time filled with lots of family and your expert staff made it even more special! Thanks to ALL of you, your hard work and professionalism did not go unnoticed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words efuller706!

We have a fantastic team of associates who take great pride in the resort and working for Marriott! On behalf of our entire staff, I want to thank you for taking time to acknowledge your experience here and the service provided by our team. They have read your comments and truly appreciate your review. We are very lucky to have great associates - and great guests like you.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at Marriott Griffin Gate and really enjoyed it. Wonderful service and a great location. Buffet breakfast was fantastic - the fresh fruit was almost as good as Hawaii.
The concierge lounge was well stocked and better than many I have been in - very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The staff at this hotel provided friendly service but check in was delayed well past the 4 PM check in time for many of our guests booked to attend our son's September wedding. At least 6 of our block of 20 guest rooms were not ready even though we had reserved and identified needing them for that purpose well in advance .
The guest rooms heat and A/C grilles also need a thorough cleaning. The rooms were small and not what you would expect at a Marriott Hotel. We have been always been loyal Marriott guests but the word spread quickly throughout the 250 wedding guests of how disappointed yhey all were with this Marriott Hotel. We would not recommend this hotel for an event stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have large balconys with larger bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hello mhdhGreenvilleOhio,

I would first like to apologize for the poor experience you reported in your review with our failure to get all of the members of your wedding party checked in promptly. We appreciate how important it is for guests and groups staying with us to get into their rooms when they arrive - particularly when preparing for an important event like a wedding. We are truly sorry this did not happen for all of your family and friends.

I am also very sorry that your guest room did not meeting your expectations. It is critically important to us that we offer guest rooms that are maintained and cleaned to the highest standards. In addition, we are beginning an unprecedented, multi-millon dollar room renovation in December (2012) that will completely update our guest rooms. We will have new Temper-Pedic beds in all rooms (perhaps the only hotel in the country to offer this), new carpet, wall vinyl, lighting, artwork, furniture, etc.

We appreciate that you have many choices of where to stay when you trave, we appreciate your business and hope that you might consider staying at Griffin Gate Resort again in the future. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance to you.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#12 Family Hotel in Lexington
#17 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by rolling Bluegrass Country Hills, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis, located near area highways, yet secluded enough for guests to experience scenic Lexington resort ambiance. With locally inspired decor, convenient work spaces, Marriott signature bedding and the latest in technology enhancements, completely renovated Lexington hotel rooms blend southern hospitality with unsurpassed modern comfort. From our Rees Jones-designed golf course and pavilion to the Mansion, a meticulously restored 19th century antebellum manor blending tradition and sophistication, events are a unique experience at this hotel in Lexington. Work, meet, and recharge after a productive day in the newly renovated lobby of this Lexington, KY hotel. Plus, guests can enjoy food and beverage options from Marriott's Greatroom 5/10/20 menu. Be sure to take advantage of The Spa at Griffin Gate, offering a variety of treatments that are sure to melt away stress and provide complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.