We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, well-maintained property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$40 Credit for Your Stay
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, well-maintained property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is our 4th trip in as many years to this hotel, in Lexington, KY. Staff is welcoming, helpful and follows up quickly. When you leave something behind, they mail it out to you once you call, and it is without charge (unlike the Westin chain).

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the pool or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    146
    69
    32
    12
See reviews for
91
91
20
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in this Marriott in March. The service was great and the rooms were very clean. We also liked the breakfast buffet. It was very good. Our only complaint would be the restroom in the our room. It was so small that it was difficult to shut the door. Two people could hardly stand in there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip, my customer having recommended this hotel. I didn't realize it was a resort, and was pleasantly surprised. It appears to be older, but was somewhat updated with current decor and a large, flat screen television, plus very comfortable pillows. My only disappointment was the towels, which definitely need replaced. They were old and flat. The bathroom was rather small, but very clean. I highly recommend the Tempur-pedic bed, if available.

Being alone, I ate in the dining room and was pleased with the service and the food. The crabcake was delicious, however, could have used some garnishment. The buffet lunch was extensive and a bargain.

Great location for exploring Lexington on a future combination business/pleasure visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tempur-pedic bed. Great night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Moderately priced, full service hotel. Food and amenties were perfect for us. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel restaurant, the spa, and the pool. The room was clean and the hotel is a quick drive to downtown restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This Marriott property is large, spread out among a golf course and gardens. However it could use a major redo as it just screams 1960! As we were just passing thru Lexington we stopped for the night, as we are Gold members they put us on the conceirge level which is just around the corner from the front desk! What's up with that? The noise from the floor polisher at midnight was just rediculous! Called the front desk and that is the only time they can do this! I thought hotel rooms were for sleeping! My mistake...they did give us a bit of a discount, but when you're traveling you would like a good nights sleep. Also the bathroom is soooo tiny, don't try to get dressed in there. The tub is a joke, just deep enough for a 3 year old. Also there was trash outside on the patio when we checked in..Just thought you should know.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the conceirge level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. I'm very sorry for the noise disturbance from the evening floor cleaning. We will certainly make arrangements to alter our schedule to avoid any future similar problems. And I would also like to apologize that trash was left outside of your room on the patio. That is unexusable and we will follow up with our housekeeping staff. We are planning an very signficant renovation on our guest rooms, hallway corridors and Concierge Lounge beginning this December. We anticipate this will take a few months, and we will be isolating the work to avoid any disturbances for guests staying while this work takes place.

We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott as a Gold Marriott Reward Elite member. If I can assist you with any future trips into Lexington, please let me know, as I would like to ensure that you have a great experience with us.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel in the past, and we're satisfied enough to rebook. We were pleasantly surprised this time. The hotel seemed to have been recently repainted and cleaned. Everything seemed brighter. The fridge in our room was welcomed for kid snacks, and the rooms are roomy enough for space to play. Our only complaint, is that cell phones don't seem to work consistently in the first floor rooms, but phones and Internet work fine everywhere else.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor and above for good Internet and cell phone reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

During our recent stay and the Griffin Gate, the staff went the extra mile even after I had checked out. I had misplaced a very important binder and did not realize until I had arrived home. I called the Resort and it had not been turned in but I was informed by the front desk that they would send staff to look for it in the places that I had been. My documents were found and the hotel sent the binder by federal express. I had spoken to the Tourism Ambassador at the resort to arrange payment for the shipment and was surprised to be informed that it was provided as an extended service of "southern hospitality".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#20 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by rolling Bluegrass Country Hills, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis, located near area highways, yet secluded enough for guests to experience scenic Lexington resort ambiance. Enjoy a Lexington, Kentucky, hotel boasting locally inspired decor, convenient work spaces, Marriott signature bedding and the latest in technology enhancements. Completely renovated hotel rooms blend southern hospitality with unsurpassed comfort. From our Rees Jones-designed golf course and pavilion to the Mansion, a meticulously restored 19th century antebellum manor blending tradition and sophistication, events are a unique experience at this hotel in Lexington. Guests can enjoy a Lexington, KY, hotel that is fresh off a lobby renovation which promotes work productivity and now features food & beverage options from Marriott's Greatroom 5/10/20 menu. Be sure to take advantage of The Spa at Griffin Gate, offering a variety of treatments that are sure to melt stress and provide complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.