We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and quick check in. Free parking a plus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lexington

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lexington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Maryland USA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Nice room and quick check in. Free parking a plus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel located right next to Rupp Arena in a safe, well lit area. Did not see many commercial shopping/dining establishments close by but I have not walked the area completely. You have a choice of valet or self park in a lot right across the street. Traffic on the street not busy so no issue self parking for this writer. Check in process was quick as two people were on hand to manage. Elevator was quick and had room on 9th floor. Room featured new furniture. HVAC powerful and cool, Kuerig type coffeemaker. Plenty of windows and nice desk. Room had fridge. Room was quiet or I had no or very quiet neighbors. Price for room was reasonable for my stay.

Small bathroom, lack of outlets but they did their best to add a few but located under desk inconveniently placed along baseboard. There are outlets located in the lamps which is helpful but not all plugs can fit. Bed on the soft side but this is subjective. TV on the small side maybe 26" I am estimating. Got about 20 channels. Not HD. Free wireless but connection dropped often during the evening as I imagine their system was overwhelmed. They should look into it or upgrade.

I would stay again as hotel is well kept and any issues are not deal breakers for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Your detailed reveiw of our hotel is appreciated. Our rooms do feature complimentary coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee and 32" flat screen televisions with approximately half the channels being HD. Our downtown location is close to the entertainment district and there is shopping in the attached mall. Wifi reliability is a function of the number of users and the amount of streaming activity. This issue will be addressed in the upcoming months.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    125
    43
    23
    14
See reviews for
67
81
27
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean. We stopped in for one night on our road trip. It was in a great location.

Our hotel room was clean and well stocked with towels. The drawback was that it was noisy. We heard people in the hallway in the early morning hours. We got tickled this morning because there is a sign posted at the elevator to be considerate of noise in the hallway, so they know there is an issue. I am not sure those coming in at the wee hours took time to read it or cared.
Our room also got warm in the morning. We kept turning the air down but it did not help.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for making us a stop on your current road trip. Your positive comments regarding the housekeeping of the hotel are appreciated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the late night hallway noise. Our overnight security works to keep the noise down on the guest room floors. It is hard for them to be everywhere at one time, however.

Keep Lexington and our hotel in mind for the next road trip. Spend a couple of days and explore all Lexington has to offer!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

If it wasn't for the VERY helpful and pleasant staff, doormen, front desk, I am not sure I could rate more than average. I was given a nice room on a high floor, which was quiet at first until neighbors next door. The walls are not that soundproof as I could hear toddler and mother talking loudly constantly. I think there were different maids during my stay because room servicing was drastically different on different days. My back did not hurt after sleeping, but make sure to check shower liner. They use a plastic liner, not the washable cloth one and I do not think it is changed after each guest as I had to ask to have it changed because of solid brown dirt ring on bottom. The doors are extremely heavy and there are signs everywhere to avoid letting the door close on its own, otherwise they will slam. Luckily I think most guests followed those guidelines. Free wi-fi fluctuated in strength. I did not eat at restaurant so I can not rate. Parking is free but you may want to check if they are hosting events because its first come first serve and paying guests are NOT guaranteed close parking. There is a large parking lot but many of the people there for a pageant events but not staying on the premises, took closer spots that should have been for paying guests, carrying luggage and items back to their rooms. There is no 24 hour attendant for parking and no one on weekends. Hotel is attached to Lexington center, so there are a few shops that you can see.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Your detailed review of our property is much appreciated. We are proud of our staff and it is obvious they made an impression. It is clear that we have some opportunities and they will be addressed with our staff for the benefit of our future guests.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Downtown Lexington is remarkably quiet in July but the short walk to unique restaurants and an historic home made the location perfect for me. The 16th floor overlooking the Triangle Park was perfect with a lovely view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for posting your positive review for our hotel. Our central location is ideal for walking to many downtown attractions. It won't be long until the students return, the pace quickens, and the quiet days of July will be a memory.

We hope you will allow us to be your hotel of choice when returning to Lexington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited Lexington on July 3-4, 2014 just to get away from the crowd on Lake Cumberland and stayed downtown at the Hyatt. We requested a quiet room on an upper floor when making the reservation. At check in they had the request and we were put on the 15th floor corner room. It was perfect, quiet and with a great view. My wife and I had a great time walking downtown and enjoying all the festivities. We had great meals, enjoyed some great fireworks both provided by the city and from our window on the 15th floor. All the staff were great and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are glad that you chose our hotel for your holiday away. Lexington has many events to offer over the fourth including a parade, and fireworks downtown, and Red, White and Boom at the ballpark. It seems like the weekend was very successful.

See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend and were thrilled with the location of the hotel and how clean our room was. We would definitely stay here again! This hotel is in a perfect location, central to all things Lexington.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of our hotel. As you mention the hotel is located downtown and is close to the University of Kentucky, Transylvania University, Triangle Park, shopping, and the developing restaurant district.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past. The beds are comfy and the hotel rooms have been quiet. On this trip the service was TERRIBLE to say the least. Valet rates went from 10.00 to 20.00. So we pull up the valet attendant asks what we want to go to the room. As my fiancé points if out he just stands there and watched as she had to unload the bags as I keep saying let him of it it's there job. Poor service #1. Check in was extremely slow. No bellman candy the front desk person had to go outside to grab someone. So I call the hotel at 10 am way before we leave and confirm that we have a king non smoking room. We arrive at 1130 ish pm go to the room and find double beds. I call the front desk the lady is EXTREMELY rude. Now it's 530 am can't sleep. The av is on 71 and hot on here. Hope this isn't a norm or I'll start finding another place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey W, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues during your most recent stay. You mention that you have stayed here a number of times and have had positive experiences. We appreciate your loyalty. I will look into this further to ensure that these items are addressed for the benefit of our future guests.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be of service the next time you are in Lexington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Address: 401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lexington
#11 Family Hotel in Lexington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 365 luxurious rooms including 9 suites. A dramatic 7-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Glass Garden restaurant, Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops with over a dozen boutiques and food court, the UK Basketball Musuem and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team, the Lexington Horsemen National Indoor Football team and various concerts and programs throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.