We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean rooms, but needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Lexington to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Lexington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean rooms, but needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Rooms are nice, but walls are paper thin as we could hear the couple next door and the "fun" they had (didn't have to pay for any adult movies when you can hear it all... Check in kiosk as a "gold member" didn't work.

Room Tip: Get a view of Triangle Park in back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate that you are making us aware of the issue with your guest room.

Although we are happy that you enjoyed our location and the cleanliness of our hotel, we regret that you were disturbed by the lack of tranquility from the adjoining room. Please feel free to reach out to me and we will do what we can to make it right for you.

Larry Bell

larry.bell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    138
    47
    24
    14
See reviews for
71
92
29
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stay in the hotel to attend the Alltech symposium for 2012. Stay before in the Hilton green and embassy suite. The hotel room for Hilton downtown is quite comfort and the service is quite well. It is with walking distance to the main event function hall. As such, if you are going to attend the symposium for next year. This is the hotel that you can stay. Save your time.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington.

We hope you will join us for the 2013 Alltech Symposium. This is one of our favorite annual groups!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The good thing about the Hyatt Regency in downtown Lexington, KY is that it right next to Rupp Arena - the primary spot for all major concerts and indoor sporting event in Lexington.

The bad thing about the Hyatt Regency in downtown Lexington, KY is that it right next to Rupp Arena.

I had the misfortune of staying at the Hyatt when the University of KY basketball team had a home game at Rupp. The 10-minute commute from my office took 45 minutes and I had to park at the very back of the very large parking lot (the Hyatt does not reserve space for hotel guests). I left for dinner, and upon return, had to sit in another 45 minutes of traffic only to be turned away - the police would not let me enter the street to get to the hotel/parking lot. I had to drive around for another 20 minutes until the police opened the street to the hotel. Uhggg!

Overall, it's a decent hotel, but I'd check the event schedule for Rupp Arena before booking.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid lobby/bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for posting a review and make us aware of your experience. Our location certainly makes us the center of activity for UK games and concerts at Rupp Arena. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit with us.

We would be happy to work with you in the future to minimize the challenges in getting in and out of our hotel when there is an event taking place at Rupp Arena. Please feel free to contact me if I can assist you with this in any way.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel during a getaway weekend. The hotel is clean, the rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are very comfortable. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants, Triangle Park, and Rupp Arena. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We appreciate the excellent review of our hotel and we agree, our downtown location is second to none. Many of our guest rooms overlook Triangle Park's beautiful new ice rink, which is now open for skaters and watchers alike.

In short, with our convenience to art galleries, upscale restaurants, and Lexington's nightlife, our central location makes us a great place to spend a holiday weekend.

We hope you will return soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For a "luxury" hotel this one falls short. We stayed there because it was convenient to a place we wanted to visit. We chose a room in the 11th floor on the recommendation of the clerk who was very nice. The view from the window was really nice at night. It overlooks the Victorian Square park with a beautiful waterfall fountain that frames the park. There was also an ice skating rink and it was fun to see the people skating, etc.

The interesting and convenient thing about the Victorian Square is the system of pedestrian walkways which connect all the buildings around the square. They are covered walkways above the street level. Very nice during the blustery, cold rainy night!

The room itself was OK. actually pretty nice. The bed was comfortable and it appeared to be pretty clean. However, they actually want to charge you nearly $10/day for internet access! That's a ripoff since the hotel is not cheap. Likewise with the parking. They want $20 for the valet parking. Otherwise you have to park across the street but almost a block away because there are no spaces available anywhere near the hotel. I guess it's not too bad in warm, dry weather, but in a blustery, wet, windy and cold night, it was no fun at all.

We ate at the Blue Fire Bar & Grill in the hotel the food was so-so. My scallops were delicious, but the sides were not so good. My wife's food was equally a mixed bag. The service was nothing short of bizarre. The server was attentive but weird. At the end of the meal we sat for at least 15 minutes waiting for the check. When he finally arrived, he took my credit card and never returned! We waited and waited and finally left our table and went to look for him. We spoke with him and several other servers/managers and asked for my credit card but they basically ignored us. We must have sat and fidgeted and tried to make eye contact with people for half an hour without any success. Finally they found that no one had bothered to run the bill through the cash register! I think our server was on drugs or something, and the rest of them are either incompetent or space cadets.

Later a big guy in a suit saw me looking through my camera lens in the lobby and promptly told me that I was not allowed to take pictures inside the hotel! OK, maybe so, I don't really care but it's a hell of a way to treat a paying customer in an up-scale hotel

Room Tip: Try upper floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. As you can tell from the many other reviews on this web site, your experience was not typical of what our guests receive.

Please contact me at larry.bell@hyatt.com. I would like to discuss your experience with you and see what I can do to make things right for you.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always stay at the Hyatt when we visit Lexington. Its right downtown and has everything we need. Rooms are awesome and can't beat being attached to Rupp for a concert or a game. We walk to great dining or local bars, never feel like we have to worry about safety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. As you point out in your comments, our hotel is within walking distance to the growing nightlife entertainment and white tablecloth restaurants of downtown Lexington.

We hope you will continue to return time and again!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Recently visited the Hyatt for a convention that was held there. I have been there several times previously and this like the many others was a great time. The staff is always friendly and the service was dead on point. The bar is one of the biggest hangouts in the evening and most nights, it doesn't disappoint. Right next to Rupp and all kinds of shops and a decent food court. Good time...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing with the experience you had at our hotel with other potential guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With basketball season here, the BlueFire Grill is the place to warm up before any UK home ballgame. Our beautiful bar and grill are just a few steps from your seat at Rupp Arena. If you are a bourbon lover, try our Woodford Reserve Personal Selection on your next visit. It was selected especially for our hotel with assistance from Woodford Reserve's Master Distiller.

We hope you return for another visit to the Hyatt soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Address: 401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lexington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#11 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 365 luxurious rooms including 9 suites. A dramatic 7-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Glass Garden restaurant, Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops with over a dozen boutiques and food court, the UK Basketball Musuem and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team, the Lexington Horsemen National Indoor Football team and various concerts and programs throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.