We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lexington South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Lexington South to your Saves list
Days Inn Lexington South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5575 Athens-Boonesboro Road, Lexington, KY 40509   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Lexington
Curacao
1 review
“Great staff, wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Our stay at the days inn Lexington south was great! From the moment we arrived until we left the staff was very caring and welcoming to us. Our room was spacious and everything in it worked. The beds were always made up and very clean. When we had problems with our toilet they immediately came and fixed the problem and told us that it was the new toilet paper they ordered that caused the problem because it was so thick. The breakfast was ok but I would've liked seeing some warm options like eggs or bacon. All in all a great place to stay for not that much money!

  • Liked — It was close to allot of the things we wanted to do.
  • Disliked — Said it had a gym, but that's not even finished yet.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
36
29
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in Sept. and when I needed to return, I didn't even bother looking at other hotels. The location is great, right off I75 south of Man O War.

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the rooms have fridges and microwaves, expanded cable, the desks in the king rooms are large enough to actually work at, and the wifi worked flawlessly.

I asked for a ground floor room because I had a lot of stuff to carry in. There are no interior corridors here, but as a single woman traveling alone, I was not at all worried and felt very safe during both my stays. The 'questionable' business nearby mentioned in another post is a gentlemans club, but it didn't degrade this hotel, in my opinion.

The continental breakfast was limited, but they have a small lobby and that was to be expected.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — location of the hotel and room comfort
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

Overview:
I stayed at the Days Inn Lexington South for 1 night earlier this month--April 2007.

First Impression:
It's your basic roadside motel, two stories with stairs. Nothing special, but not bad. There was a police car parked adjacent to the lobby the entire time I was there, I didn't know what that was about.

Location:
The motel was very easy to find off of the Interstate. You're in the outskirts of town with nothing exciting around, but downtown was only about 10 minutes away down the same road the motel was on. The area seemed pretty quiet and safe.

What's Nearby:
There was another hotel on one side, a Waffle House across the street, and some sort of Gentleman's Club on the other side. I love the Waffle House, but if you wanted to eat anywhere else you'd have to hop in the car for a short ride.

Lobby:
The lobby was very small and plain with no atmosphere and smelled of stale smoke when I checked in. There were a few tables for breakfast.

Staff:
The young man who checked me in was not rude, but he made no attempt to be friendly or welcoming. I asked him for suggestions for tourist attractions and he said he had no idea what was around there--that seemed strange. He never smiled or seemed to care that I was there. The older man who was on duty when I checked out also wasn't very friendly, but oh well.

Check-in/Check-out:
Check-in was quick and efficient, no problems, as was check-out. I was given a first floor room facing the front, very close to the lobby, as I requested.

Room:
My non-smoking room was fine--old furnishings and everything was well worn, but it was clean and fresh smelling. It was decent size, but I could tell it hadn't been renovated in years. Nothing to rave about. My room was very quiet and peaceful at night.

Parking:
There's tons of free parking right in front of your room.

Breakfast:
The continental breakfast was minimal but toast and juice was adequate for me and I appreciate having a free breakfast anyways. I could sit and watch the morning news before starting my day.

Price:
I paid about $48 for my room, which was about right. This hotel is clean and safe, which is all I ask for. But there are no special amenities or perks so anything more than $50 would be too high.

Problems:
There's nothing much around the hotel (well there's the Gentlemen's Club), so I felt a bit isolated. The lobby was pretty plain (I love a comfortable, warm, nice lobby!!!). There's no pool or business center for checking Internet. Staff didn't go out of their way to be helpful or friendly. The worst part is at breakfast the older man working handled the doughnuts with his hands, transferring them from their box to the serving dish without using tongs. He had been working behind the desk, then began handling the doughnuts without washing his hands. I'm not a germophobe or anything, but I thought this was gross. There also could have been a more expansive breakfast selection.

Conclusion:
Tis was a stopover for me as I passed through Lexington. The Super 8 was clean, safe, and pretty comfortable for a low price. But there was nothing special in terms of amenities, customer service, location, or convenience. If you need a room for the night, it's fine, but beyond that just keep looking.

Please email me if you have any questions about the Super 8 Lexington South please email me, JenPerna@aol.com.

  • Liked — Low price, easy to find off interstate, clean, safe neighborhood.
  • Disliked — Staff was not friendly or helpful, nothing much around, minimal breakfast.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

Avoid--the room we were given smelled of urine.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The fact that I was given a room with an unacceptable odor.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

I just stayed at this hotel based on two earlier 2005 reviews.
The hotel has been remodeled. It was extermely clean and very-well maintained. Breakfast was modest, but adequate: cereal, donuts, juice and coffee. Good cable with HBO; wireless Internet service.

Host was very freindly and accommodating.
The price: a (weekend) Saturday AAA rate for two double beds: $50.10; with tax about $56. Can't be beat. High Value for the money!
This may be one of the best bargains in Lexington, which is notoriously high with hotel prices...even with the cheaper chains.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floral park NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

at $39 this place is a great value. clean room, good location. would recommend if passing through and looking for a good, cheap spot to stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Lexington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lexington South

Address: 5575 Athens-Boonesboro Road, Lexington, KY 40509
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
#25 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lexington South 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Lexington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lexington
Lexington Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lexington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.