We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cash only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B J Spalding Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
B J Spalding Bakery
760 Winchester Road, Lexington, KY 40507
(859) 252-3737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Bakeries in Lexington
Restaurant details
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cash only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you are craving donuts, Spaldings is the best! You can't eat only one so you'd better get a few extra! They only take cash!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Put It On Your "Must Visit" List.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spalding's is absolutely the best place for a sweet breakfast treat. Yes, there will be a line. Yes, you must use cash. No, it isn't in the best location (but it isn't inconveniently located, either). It doesn't matter. Spalding's is wonderful and it's worth the wait. When there are out of town visitors at my house (and I think ahead), I run out to Spalding's the day before they leave and the morning of their departure I send them on their way with delicious baked goods. Without fail, there's always phone call - sometimes from the road - asking "WHERE in the world is this place, Spalding's?"
If you visit Lexington, put this on your list of places to visit. If you live in Lexington and have never been...go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best donuts in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you happen to be an early riser, do yourself a favor and head to Spalding's one morning. These are the best donuts ever made. My mouth is watering just thinking about them. They only take cash, so don't show up with a credit card. And once they sell out for the day, they close. Be prepared to wait in line, but it's totally worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,Ky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Like stepping back in time a great family owned and run business. The long johns are my favorite caramel topped and so good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SPAULDINGS NOTHING BUT AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

i have loved this place since was born!! i'm a 50's baby. dad used to get up on saturdays and get these uber-delicious donuts, pastries and cakes. people they are to die for! a lexington tradition, you must visit them....but you will have to wait in line they are nostalgic old-school. it is worth the wait, nothing in the world like them!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B J Spalding Bakery also viewed

 

Been to B J Spalding Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B J Spalding Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.