We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Treats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluegrass Baking Co

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bluegrass Baking Co
3101 Clays Mill Rd, Ste 108, Lexington, KY 40503-2761
859-296-0581
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 721 Restaurants in Lexington
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The pastries were delicious and definitely the right price. The service was great and there were samples available. It was out of our way as we were heading down I-75 to Knoxville, but it was worth the effort and time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

One of those places you find looking for something else and are SO glad.

They do have samples of their bread, as many others say (french bread and butter, at least when I was there) and it was delightful.

I ended up getting a pepper parmesan loaf, which I've just been eating like a little piglett, and a cherry linzer (gone on the ride home). Ate about half of the loaf of french bread my sister got, but my mom wouldn't share the salty dog loaf she purchased.

Definitely a re-visit when I'm back in the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a bakery and one of or the best in the area. Their breads and cakes have an old European taste and weight.
They do have samples of bread to taste along with butter. Very homey and the owners are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Their breads are amazing.
This is the closest I have found to true European bread. Bread that is crusty, but not dry. Bread that MAKES a meal complete.
Chocolate croissants here are wonderful.
My favorite treat at Bluegrass Bakery is a scone. They make scones as they are meant to be.
If you are looking for true old fashioned bakery quality, this is THE place!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Lemon Melt-Away is to Die For!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I found this bakery using Trip Advisor's 'Near Me Now' tool on the mobile app. I Asked the staff person working for their recommendation for a sweet treat and tried a Lemon Melt-Away cookie as result. It was tangy, sweet and buttery. Dee-licious! There was also a great assortment of homemade breads and other goodies. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluegrass Baking Co also viewed

 

Been to Bluegrass Baking Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluegrass Baking Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.