We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family loves to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
1832 Alysheba Way, Lexington, KY 40509-2208
+1 859-543-9096
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 768 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family loves to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Steak 'n Shake in Lexington, KY. Very quick service, good hotdogs, burgers, milkshakes and just enough decor for some 50's nostalgia. Only issue our family has is it is always very crowded and the wait area is very small so sometimes we bypass knowing it will be a somewhat uncomfortable wait. But we still like the food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wurtland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Milkshake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stopped here on our way home for milkshakes only. It was "Happy Hour", so our shakes were half price. Nice surprise! Server was very attentive and helpful. Shakes were cold and very good. My only "complaint" is the fact it isnt closer to me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Tennessee
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Real good,worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went there for a late lunch or early dinner--was there for their happy hour. Had a couple of the 1/2 price shakes--great--and some burgers and fries-very good. The service was fast,accurate and very good. Total price for the above was very reasonable and the food (taste/amount) made it even better.
Will return,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Florescent green”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is usually one of my favorite places for fries and a hot dog, don't know what was up this day but Florescent green jelly like pickle relish and soured grease tasting fries was not eatable!
Emailed the cs and barely got an apology! Bad cs steak and shake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddy, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Frisco Patty Melt is sinfully awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great food. Great Service. 98% health department rating displayed while we were there. Good food and friendly staff. Clean environment. Fast service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.