We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow... I love trying new food and this is truly an oasis of delish food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis Restaurant

The Oasis Restaurant
837 Chevy Chase Place, Lexington, KY 40502
8592696440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 723 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow... I love trying new food and this is truly an oasis of delish food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

If in the Lexington area and you are looking for a truly wonderful middle eastern culinary experience, the gentlemen here will take great care of you! The serving sizes are epic. The taste is delicious and the service is some of the best I have had in my travels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good mediterranean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The place is small but nice and the waiter is friendly.
The food is good, the hummus is very good. The prices are a bit more expensive than expected, but the ammount of food was huge!
Not the best in Lexington, but a very good one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've lived in Lexington for many years and want to point out a few restaurants that have become my favorites because of their combination of good food at reasonable prices. One of those at the top of my list is Oasis. If you like Mediterranean food such as shawarma, falafel, fattoush salads, kabob, hummus, etc. it's as good as it gets. The owner is from Lebanon, so the food is authentic, and he's generally there making sure that things are done properly. Generally, I stay away from lunch buffets; this is my one exception. They put out a range of very delicious salads, pita, rice, spreads and warm dishes that maintain their flavor in the warming dishes, and it's very reasonably priced. Their evening meals from the menu are again wonderful and include very large portions. My wife and I usually order a dinner each, but knowing that we'll be bringing half of it home for another full meal of leftovers the next day. If you order the fattoush salad, the chicken shawarma platter and baklava, you can't go wrong. If you're a couple, and don't have any way of taking leftovers with you, order a single platter and split it; you'll get plenty of food.

This is a local hang out, near the University of Kentucky, so you'll find it packed with UK faculty and staff during lunch time, and locals from the surrounding neighborhoods at night. It's not a fancy place, simple tables and booths. I'd call it mid range in regard to price, but tremendous value, given the portions, since the buffet is all you can eat, and the dinner portions are so large. The staff is a mix of family members and college students, who are always very pleasant and helpful. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great Food Well-Prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the Oasis platter and couldn't eat it all in 2 days. The waiter was friendly and very helpful. The kabobs, the falafel, the little footballs of meat, and the garlic sauce is very garlicky. All was delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had an early lunch here before leaving Lexington after a long weekend vacation. The lunch buffet was available, but I chose to order the falafel pita sandwich as I was not that hungry. It was delicious and great value for the price. Just what I needed before I hit the road. The restaurant was filling up by the time I left - it appeared to be a popular place with the locals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oasis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Oasis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.