We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cajun food in Kentucky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo YA YA

Gumbo YA YA
1080 S Broadway Ste 107, Lexington, KY 40504
(859) 252-9292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 733 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Gumbo Ya Ya Fast Casual Cajun Creole is locally owned & operated by Greg and Tressa Todd. Greg started his career in the Cajun restaurant business in 1989 as an assistant manager for New Orleans native Joe Vuskovich (Original founder of Jozo's Bayou Gumbo). Greg worked under Joe V's wing for many years as a prep cook, store manager & co-partner of the original Yats Cajun Creole. After several years in the business, Greg decided to open his own Cajun joint with a “keep it simple” motto & no frills. Thus the chalkboard menu and tax included pricing. The S. Broadway location opened it's doors in January of 2004 and continues to serve up Lexington's finest Cajun cuisine around. Greg takes great pride in knowing every plate of food served in his store is prepared by him using fresh local produce (no preservatives) & that he is dishing up damn good Cajun Creole for a can’t beat it price! So, whether your in the mood for the famous Yatwich, or you need to satisfy your irrepressible urge for Maque Choux, or you just want ya some Red Beans & Rice on Wash day, Ya Ya's has got you covered!
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent cajun food in Kentucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

All reviews are correct, had jambalya, was better than what I have eaten in Nawlin's All is good, Will certainly go back when I am in the area, also offered a sample to try something different before you buy. Who does that besides an ice cream store ? Good place Good people, You have to be looking hard to find it as it is not on the street but in a little strip mall.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    60
    19
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My dish I got wasn't anything to ride home about compared to others I've had before here and else where, pretty simple crawfish creole , lite on the crawfish and a piece of chick(what I get for ordering the small plate)

What really won me over on this place was the gentlemen handling the register. On a slow night a difficult couple walked in behind me and proceeded to hammer the man with questions and allergies this and that, I think I even overheard her say white wine doesn't cook out , come again? Whatever, how the gentleman handled the situation going through ingredients in their sauces and how it's a rotating menu to finally calm them to make a order may have one me over at this joint

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply the best food in Lexington.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Gumbo ya ya is my absolute favorite place to eat in Lex . The atmosphere is great with a constant stream of blues/jazz and a festive décor. The food is always worth the trip and the hot sauce is delicious enough to bring home with you. My personal favorite is the Mushroom and Parmesan Creole.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for weeknight carry-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I usually go by Gumbo YA YA at least once every few weeks to pick up an easy feast for the family. They have a fantastic rotating selection of Cajun staples plus some innovative dishes. We're pleased to always have a few veggie options.It's nice to dine in and enjoy the beer selections, too. Great value and portion size keep us coming back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you love cajun....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great food, great prices and the fastest food around!! Great depth of flavor in all the dishes. One of our favorites

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo YA YA also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo YA YA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo YA YA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.