We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL and I needed it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kentucky Horse Park Campground

Kentucky Horse Park Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kentucky Horse Park Campground
Save
You added Kentucky Horse Park Campground to your Saves list
Mail: 4089 Iron Works Parkway, Gps: 3785 Campground Road, Lexington, KY 40511   |  
Hotel amenities
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL and I needed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Last night I stayed in the dumpiest of dumps, so today I really needed something nice. WoW, Kentucky Horse Park Campground delivered. From check in to set up, it was convenient and easy, big and roomy, beautiful. No sewer hook up, and since I'm going to be here a week, that's a challenge. But there's a really nice guy named Keith who will come and pump your tanks any time you want. Fantastic! Well stocked store, tennis (they'll loan you the equipment), basketball, a HUGE beautiful pool, cafe, loads of space to roam around. Admittedly, I'm biased because I'm horse people, but this place is wonderful! The people in the RV next to me have no connection to horses, but they come here all the time because it is so nice. And, because no sewer, it is super reasonable. They do have dump stations as well. Will happily and comfortably spend a week here! NOTE: My photo didn't do the place justice. It is much greener and lusher than the photo would let on.

Room Tip: Pick the outer ring if you can, it backs up to the woods; but all the sites have a big 20m green bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This park is conveniently located about 1/2 mile off I75. Park is laid out very nice with decent sites. I would suggest a ride thru before booking due to some sites sitting directly next to a ditch line and some may be difficult to back into with large rv's because of the angle of the pad. That being said, the majority are large and fairly level. Outer loop sites have large back areas and the primitive electric sites are VERY large and would recommend one of those if you can. There is a store with your essentials and the bath house is large, but completely open, which I did not like - meaning the entrance doors are never shut. The amenities are just the pool and of course the Horse Park itself. The pool is a jr. size Olympic with a kiddie pool as well as a deep end. The campground entrance is also the start of a WONDERFUL bicycle trail that leads to a lexington park. It is a 10 mile (one way) paved trail that takes you thru some beautiful country. I highly recommend if you enjoy bicycling/rollerblading/or even walking. This place does fill up fast but we did see a few sites open even though online said it was full. Good place close to lexington.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had the best time at the KHP even though it rained almost the entire weekend! We stayed in site 160 and had a huge "back yard". The site was so big and far away from the next site. Everything was super clean and the kids loved the campground. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that there is a golf cart shuttle that will take you over to the Horse Park and pick you up when you call them. So nice and convenient. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The outer loop (A160's) offers lots of extra room and a view of the HP
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been going to the horse park campground for many years now but just got around to rating it. This park is easy to reserve through Reserveamerica.com. Due to its popularity it is difficult to get into on holidays and weekends in the summer.
The campsites are very nice. Mostly level and shady pretty sites. Very nice large pool with lifeguards. Tennis courts are very nice as well.
The Kentucky Horsepark is located within walking distance. Absolutely beautiful and worth the visit. It has a fee however.
The city of Lexington and Georgetown are nearby so if u need a restaurant or supplies they are right there. It is also worth your time for a drive thru the countryside. Horse farms are everywhere.
The campground is only a mile off I 75 so it very convenient to the on-the-road traveler.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you are visiting Lexington or the Kentucky Horse Park consider camping at Horse Park Campground. It is a large beautifully maintained well equipped state park. There are lots of facilities and it is on the grounds of the Kentucky Horse Park. It gets very busy so be sure to book online in the busy season. Check to see if there are horse events planned because then it is hard to get a site. In March it was not at all busy but the bath houses were all open as was the store.

Room Tip: Check the map online and choose an inner loop to be near the bathhouse or the outer ring for no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kentucky Horse Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentucky Horse Park Campground

Address: Mail: 4089 Iron Works Parkway, Gps: 3785 Campground Road, Lexington, KY 40511
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lexington
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the rolling hills of the Bluegrass lies the Kentucky Horse Park Campground, one of America's finest resort campgrounds. Each site is complete with electrical and water hookups, paved pads, fire rings and picnic tables. Unlimited primitive camping available, with an electrical service area for some of the primitive camping. There is also a campground store, two bathhouses, laundromats, two dump stations, swimming pool, tennis courts, game room and playground. Campers receive reduced admission to the world-renown Kentucky Horse Park. THE place to get close to horses, the park features live horse shows and special events, museums, movie, gift shop and more. Campers have access to Lexington's Legacy Trail, 9-mile long multi-use (non-equine) trail that connects the Kentucky Horse Park with downtown Lexington. In future years, the trail is expected to be expanded in both downtown Lexington (south) and Georgetown (north) and beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kentucky Horse Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.