We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UK orientation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights recently as our son was attending orientation at UK. Great location by campus. My wife and i were able to explore campus without driving and searching for parking. Less than 10 minutes to memorial hall. Nothing fancy, but clean room, standard breakfast, and a friendly, helpful staff.
Close to two very good restaurants. Gumbo Ya Ya will be getting a lot of business from my son over the next couple of years. Jalopenos had the tastiest fajitas I've had in a long time. We live in Los Angeles so we know our Mexican food.
Will definitely head back to this hotel when we come to visit our son.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TarzanaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and all of the local attractions. We hope to see you in the future!

Thank you,

Stephanie Toy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed at several hotels this year and hands down Teresa working breakfast was the best ever. Everything was stocked, hot, and ready. She was super friendly and helpful. A true asset to the hotel. I will remember this hotel because of her, and her dedicated service.

The rest of the hotel stay was fine. I was surprised to find no fridge in the room. I thought it was standard now. Rooms were clean, mostly quiet. Someone decided to have a conversation outside of our room at 3 in the morning.. nothing hotel related just inconsiderate people. I would try to get on the top floor next time due to the noise of the people thumping in the room above us at all hours.

Room Tip: Request the top floor, to avoid heavy footed upstairs guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybusy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! So glad Teresa was able to provide you with excellent service! I will make sure she is recognized for her outstanding work. We hope to see you again in the future.

Stephanie Toy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for a week. Teresa was always bright and cheerful every morning in the breakfast room. Becca was always helpful at the front desk. The room was nice and spacious. Good location. With pets in the room it was a little difficult to arrange for housekeeping but overall an excellent stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boonescabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will make sure that the individuals you mentioned are recognized. Hope to see you in the future!

Stephanie Toy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlan, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My father and I recently spent a week at Holiday Inn Express while my mother was in the hospital. From the clerks at the desk, Rebecca, Ken, Kyle and Penny to the friendly and most compassionate lady serving breakfast, Teresa, I must say they made this experience just a little easier. Rooms were great but the staff is what impressed me the most. My mother will have an extended stay at the hospital and we will definitely be at the Holiday Inn Express.....home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback! I love hearing how my staff can turn your stay into one that is positive and one you will remember. I will make sure each individual is recognized for their outstanding customer service. We wish you and your family member all the best.

Stephanie Toy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have always had good success with the Holiday Inn Express properties & this one was no different.
Traveling with my son for a baseball tournament we were happy with the King Suite which also included a fridge, microwave & sink.
Room was clean & comfortable with a nice flat screen tv with all the major cable channels.

You also get the free breakfast which is what you expect.....Although always enjoy the pancake assembly machine.

I don't write a ton of reviews but like to give props when deserved & the front desk staff was some of the nicest I have ever met.
They were always friendly & helpful...even helping me do laundry (which is another story).

The location was central to UK & walking distance to the Red Mile...
If ever back in Lexington would not hesitate to stay....

A few negatives would be...parking lot becomes filled quickly especially on weekends, the hallways were extremely HOT & one day we returned to our room around 4pm & the room had yet to be cleaned. This only happened on 1 day out of the 3 we stayed.

I give it 4 out of 5 but truly a 4+

Room Tip: Think the King Suite is the way to go........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for all your comments. We are working towards excellent service and ensuring we meet all your needs and those things you mentioned were negatives does help us know where to focus our efforts. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Wow, this is what i'm talking about. Great location for UK school activities. Our stay was only one night but we will be back. This place is clean, the staff is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. I have never slept better. I love the mattresses!!! I am an IHG Platinum member and received a free upgrade. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you

Room Tip: We was upgraded to a suite. Three separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harddrive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
THANK YOU for being an IHG Reward Platinum member. You definitely travel a lot and we appreciate the time you took to acknowledge our team and our hotel. Look forward to having you stay again.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was large for a hotel. We were checked in my Ken (I think), and he was very nice. There is an indoor pool and hot tub as well. The breakfast was very good- lots of choices, very clean, and well-stocked.
Although we did not tour U of KY, it was very close to Rupp Arena. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank caylismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for acknowledging Ken and glad you enjoyed your room and our location. We do hope you do return and get a chance to tour the University of Kentucky. There is lots to see.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington near the University of Kentucky
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#23 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#37 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#12 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#47 of 71 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing